Marine Credit Union Reviews | Glassdoor

Marine Credit Union Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
24%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Marine Credit Union CEO Shawn Hanson (no image)
Shawn Hanson
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "I worked at MCU for nearly four years and overall I had a great experience there(in 8 reviews)

  • "Good Benefits and great stepping stone into a financial career(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Pretends the scorecard is valid(in 21 reviews)

  • "Upper management preaches we work with self employed borrowers and that we do lending differently(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Loan Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marine Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Good pay and the company is continuing to change for the better.

    Cons

    Depending on how you deal with pressure the monthly goals can be difficult to reach and cause additional stress.

    Marine Credit Union2019-08-18

    Marine Credit Union Response

    August 19, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you've found friends here at Marine!

  2. Helpful (4)

    "Talk a good game and dont back it up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Officer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Marine Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay for any position

    Cons

    Upper management preaches we work with self employed borrowers and that we do lending differently. We dont.... they now want us to funnel all deals to a central place and taking the branch managers out of the equation which defeats the purpose of our lending philosophy. You can have great credit, money in the bank and we still wont lend to you because Marine doesnt believe in treating people with great credit any... different from terrible credit.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop lying about the ability to help the underserved when we deny loans left and right for exactly that. Listen to your employees and have a better system of promoting employees other than the gpa especially when one position has way less people succeeding than another. Your current DM's dont do anything to help employees trying to succeed and bend over backwards for a select few they like

    Marine Credit Union2019-08-12

    Marine Credit Union Response

    August 14, 2019

    Thank you for the feedback. It’s unfortunate you see a disconnect in our lending philosophy. As for our executive team, we appreciate your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve!

  3. "Excellence + Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in La Crosse, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marine Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cultural evolution underway for the better Executive level commitment to the mission & helping people Great benefits package Open to new ideas Change-makers with open minds recently taken on new roles at exec level Foundation that employees can direct funds to causes & nonprofits in their communities

    Cons

    Change can be slow to actualize Some system limitations There is some legacy over-focus on performance

    Marine Credit Union2019-08-01
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Payday loan place with a deposit side"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Service Representative in Chippewa Falls, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marine Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers! Closed on Saturdays.

    Cons

    The insurance is AWFUL AF! I took the job, because I needed health insurance. The insurance barely covers anything! It doesn't cover my medication, or medical supplies that I need to stay alive. It's so cheap because it doesn't cover anything, and the deductible is outrageous! The hourly pay is awful too! I can't afford to pay my bills, be a single mom, or buy the medicine, and medical supplies to stay alive. It's... literally costing me money to work here! It's great that the foundation helps people in our communities, but how about help your current employees?!?!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My managers are great! But to those at the top: seriously evaluate your insurance plan, and pay your deposit side staff better! We are the face of your company, handle a lot of cash, deal with members, and not one of us can afford to work here with these wages!

    Marine Credit Union2019-08-22

    Marine Credit Union Response

    August 26, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback. It’s unfortunate you are not satisfied with Marine's insurance options. We are always trying to improve and are open to suggestions on how we can be better. Please contact Shawn Hanson if you have additional concerns you wish to discuss.

  5. Helpful (2)

    "No comment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Consumer Loan Officer 

    I have been working at Marine Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    It’s a job that pays money

    Cons

    Management doesn’t follow their ACEIT practice they teach

    Marine Credit Union2019-07-12
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Not recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer 

    I have been working at Marine Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Local company that listens to employees at times.

    Cons

    Too many to write about.

    Marine Credit Union2019-07-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marine Credit Union in La Crosse, WI

    I worked at Marine Credit Union part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They are a company that is willing to give people a chance. Working with college students around their schedules. A good place to learn.

    Cons

    There was not a ton of room for advancement, several people were unable to move up in the company as they did outside hires to fill roles. Also, the management tries to fix things, but does not listen to people's input.

    Advice to Management

    Listen

    Marine Credit Union2019-05-22
  8. Helpful (3)

    "read this before applying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marine Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    if you like to be forced to move, then this is an excellent place.

    Cons

    Before considering a job here, look at the job openings. 89 jobs? Really? 7 branch manager openings? What does this tell you? 13 Consumer lending positions? 16 (at least) Mortgage lending positions? come on, why would you apply here? The turnover rate is high for a reason, totally unreasonable expectations with little to no training. Read the posts here before you engage. No one should be subject to... the type of leadership this company provides. Senior people are not affective, they publicly humiliate. Please be careful.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There isn't any because they won't listen. Just look at the "response from management" its the same. If it were true, things would change. Shame on you MCU!!!

    Marine Credit Union2019-05-08
  9. Helpful (2)

    "My Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consumer Loan Officer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marine Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - they let you have overtime at my branch - get a good feel for full spectrum lending, don't have any cut offs for credit scores - helping the underserved market

    Cons

    - the training was not ideal, they only went through everything once on a cookie cutter example basis when this company is far from that - they expect you to learn some major topics that will come up in conversation on the members end almost everyday - the contact center doesn't answer basic questions and then they call the branch to have us answer their service issues

    Marine Credit Union2019-03-11
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Demand vs Reward Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consumer Loan Officer in La Crosse, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marine Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast Growing Company with opportunities for advancement.

    Cons

    The training and resources provided to you are insufficient to be successful in the manner they expect. You are barely trained on how to solicit loans and then are thrown to the wolves after a week with an expectation of closing a ridiculous amount of loans each month in addition to cross selling other products in the process. If you attain and exceed those benchmarks, the rewards are minuscule in terms of... compensations. There are many things that seem rushed or leave its employees unprepared for day to day operations with this company that I believe is due to growing too fast.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Put together a longer training period to actually prepare people for soliciting and closing loans. Then have a grace period of a couple months in terms of loan goals that wont affect annual reviews or have any bearing on consideration for an annual raise.

    Marine Credit Union2018-12-28

    Marine Credit Union Response

    January 3, 2019

    Thank you for the feedback. We are always looking to improve, and this site is one of many ways we take in feedback from current and former employees about how we can do better.

Found 91 reviews