Marinello Schools of Beauty Reviews

Updated Feb 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
29%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Marinello Schools of Beauty Chairman and CEO Rashed Elya (no image)
Rashed Elya
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free services discount on products(in 4 reviews)

  • "It's a fun environment, while maintaining professionalism(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "the educators are evaluated on the media center hits they achieve (slides they show)(in 6 reviews)

  • "No matter what you do positive it never gets recognized by upper management(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great workplace

      Dec 25, 2019 - Admissions Advisor in Manhattan, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Upper management appreciated my hard work, gave me a raise and awards. I always worked ethically and within compliance rules. I never witnessed anyone at my school perform in any other manor than with integrity.

      Cons

      I can’t think of any cons. It was a great place

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      OK

      Feb 19, 2021 - Registrar 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great co-workers and room for growth

      Cons

      Management, numbers driven instead of driven by students needs for success

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      It was tough, they were miss managed, and third of schools closed

      Jul 5, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed teaching my craft/skill and knowledge with others a educator

      Cons

      No defined classroom areas, just , commence distractions, between , people with bad attitudes, (students) and lack of enough products

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      So much passion and great students!

      Feb 13, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very fun industry, very passionate co-workers

      Cons

      Long hours, competing priorities, management slow to respond

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      You guys have nothing better to talk about??

      Jan 7, 2014 - Instructor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I wouldn't say something unless I really felt it seemed fit! Pretty sad that we are trying to create an environment that is all about how great our industry really is.. but you ever stopped and took a second to think about it.. Our industry is all about caddy people trying to knock other people down to get their guest that walk in the door! This is a perfect example of what the salon is really like, all of you that need the need to talk about how horrible the company is and and terrible the pay is, need to think about the bigger picture! You are helping people! No just any people but you are Bring a light to someones world, these students probably 85% of the time have come from places you could never even fathom! Some students see Marinello as a safe place, or as I've been told the Best part of their day! You should be ashamed of yourselves! I understand that we have lives outside of the" MARINELLO " name tag, but one thing they have taught be is to see the good inside everything and not to always pick out the negative. Im very sorry if you campus hasn't provided enough for you, But you should probably look within you to find your true dissatisfaction!

      Cons

      It is really hard to get your ideas to the higher up!

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Needs help @ Provo campus

      Aug 9, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have a great program, offer continuing education, benefits etc.

      Cons

      Provo campus is falling apart. Employees aren't trained in teaching students, not following the curriculum. Students have no respect for the educators/staff. Director can't support the staff because he's not informed enough to do so. It needs a lot of work.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A corporation is a corporation

      Jan 6, 2015 - Instructor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Each Marinello campus is different, I love everyone I work with. The are so many rewards when working with people and being a part of their educational journey. The free services are a plus

      Cons

      It seems like the education end and the business end have 2 totally different agendas. The focuse needs to be on educating and less on clinc floor sales. Teachers need more time for demos. New teachers need to be given proper training in the Marinello Methods. Someone on the corporate education level needs to review the teaching material and time the presentation.... Unrealistic time boundries to adequately deliver educational slides( that teachers are REQUIRED to show).

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work!

      Sep 12, 2014 - Regional Admissions Manager in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great school and programs. Owners and corporate management are awesome. Admissions teams are the best in the business led by the skipper Mike Selter.

      Cons

      Leaving for more money and not realizing what i was giving up. Not only was i very successful here i also made great business partners and was part of a great team.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      50/50

      Dec 14, 2015 - Instructor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Paid training, travel, and help with continuing education credits. Multiple locations. Good pay with opportunities for overtime. Great quarterly specials for clients. Cool logo merchandise. Great advanced workshops, such as eyelash extensions, spray tanning, and special effects makeup.

      Cons

      High pressure to meet enrollment quotas and severe repercussions for missing them. Lots of typos on educational material and presentations. Management condescending and dismissive of instructors; more concerned with bottom line than quality of education. Urgency to meet quotas results in low-quality students being enrolled. This means instructors have to deal with students who are a poor fit or don't really want to be in school. Prospects interested in the esthetics program are pressured into enrolling for cosmetology instead, since it is more expensive, thus more profitable for the school. Recent lay-offs and hiring freezes means employees who stay are spread very thin.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      It's fun

      Aug 2, 2013 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      there have been a lot of positive changes as i've worked here. It's a fun environment, while maintaining professionalism.

      Cons

      any school has it's ups and downs. Takes a while for movement to happen, or it is very subtle movement.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 101 English Reviews

    Work at Marinello Schools of Beauty? Share Your Experiences

    Marinello Schools of Beauty logo
    or