Mariner Wealth Advisors Reviews | Glassdoor

Mariner Wealth Advisors Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
44%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Mariner Wealth Advisors Chief Executive Officer Marty Bicknell (no image)
Marty Bicknell
14 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Attorney in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mariner Wealth Advisors full-time

    Pros

    Great people, driven to succeed. Young company with opportunity for advancement.

    Cons

    So so benefits, but HR is consistently working on improvements.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    Mariner Wealth Advisors2018-03-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mariner Wealth Advisors full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. Paid health insurance

    Cons

    Politics, lies, in-grained hierarchy. Have to pay well as everything else sucks. No advancement possibilities. Poor review process Terrible IT department.

    Advice to Management

    Stop lying and making promises you cannot keep.

    Mariner Wealth Advisors2020-01-16
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Disposable employees, overworked for low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mariner Wealth Advisors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not much. Young office? Good view?

    Cons

    People were fired frequently, sometimes right after killing themselves all throughout tax season working 6 days a week. Typical boys club management. Low pay by industry standards, subpar benefits.

    Mariner Wealth Advisors2019-02-23
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Arrogant and disingenuous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mariner Wealth Advisors full-time

    Pros

    Nice office space in Overland Park

    Cons

    Arrogant culture, top leadership loves to preach good deeds while acting in their best interest.

    Advice to Management

    Be authentic.

    Mariner Wealth Advisors2018-11-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Mariner Wealth Advisors full-time

    Pros

    friendly work environment and coworkers

    Cons

    typical hierarchy, no sick days, low pay

    Mariner Wealth Advisors2018-09-18
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mariner Wealth Advisors full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The company will continue to grow. Not because of their practices, rather, in spite of them. Working here will have you questioning your personal morals and the cost of selling your soul for an extra buck.

    Cons

    Toxic work environment, poor leadership, unethical practices. Dramatic, cut-throat, constantly wondering if you are the next to be fired. No diversity, it is Johnson County fake, through and through.

    Advice to Management

    Send "Mrs. Bicknell" back to where she came from and get back to the root of doing what is right in an ethical, efficient, and logical manner.

    Mariner Wealth Advisors2018-10-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good for non-tech employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology Associate in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mariner Wealth Advisors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Open culture People genuinely care about others Benefits

    Cons

    Technology employees are second class Risk averse No growth opportunity

    Advice to Management

    Don't manage from fear. Allow employees to succeed and take on challenges regardless of expected outcome.

    Mariner Wealth Advisors2018-01-09
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Administrative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Administrative in Leawood, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mariner Wealth Advisors full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mariner has good benefits and the pay is competitive with other companies in the same industry. I have had the opportunity to work with many bright co-workers who have a strong work ethic. I have learned a lot about the financial industry and investing while working at Mariner.

    Cons

    Management at times can be arrogant and they look down on staff employees that are at a lower level than they are. The management group that I worked with were sometimes very catty and sallow and did not seem to care if employees succeeded or failed. I felt like I could not trust management and never really knew whether they were telling the truth or playing games. Mariner also seems really concerned about hiring younger employees and I feel like if you are late 30s or older they are trying to get rid of you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't tell employees that you want them to have professional curiosity and ask questions and then get annoyed when they ask questions. Don't walk away from employees or ignore them when they are trying to talk to you. Typing in all caps in an email to get a point across is rude and is poor email etiquette. There are better ways of pointing something out to an employee. Also, making fun of an employee for crying during a firing (yes my management group did this) is also a very poor type of behavior in my opinion. I left Mariner because of my management team. If you want to keep great employees, maybe weed the narcissists and sociopaths out of your management teams and that might be a start to reduce your turnover, just a thought.

    Show More
    Mariner Wealth Advisors2018-02-06
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Horrible work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Mariner Wealth Advisors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is nothing good about this firm.

    Cons

    Between the sexist comments and racial slurs constantly being thrown around by partners throughout the firm, I'd say this has got to be the most unprofessional work environment you could ask for. Not only do the partners make you feel like absolute dirt, they also make you feel as if they are doing you a favor by paying you below industry standard. They bring in young employees to grow their tax practice and unless you're a CPA, you are entirely dispensable to the next kid out of college. They don't grow you, they just throw you more and more tax returns until you quit. Most people who work there are noticeably unhappy. Extremely overworked with little pay. No respect for clients, staff, or themselves. Management is noticeably inexperienced. Consists of mid-level employees who do not care about associates and are only in the position they are because they possess a good relationship with partners. Most trainings are 10-20 minutes of complete b.s.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I wouldn't have any... Only word of advice is for whoever reads this to stay far, far away from Mariner's NYC branch.

    Mariner Wealth Advisors2017-10-03
  10. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leawood, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mariner Wealth Advisors full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast-paced, entrepreneurial, vibrant culture, amazing benefits

    Cons

    Constant change, hard to disconnect when not at work

    Mariner Wealth Advisors2017-07-31
Found 28 reviews