Mario Tricoci Hair Salons & Day Spas Reviews | Glassdoor

Mario Tricoci Hair Salons & Day Spas Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 122 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Larry Silvestri
56 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "high turnover rate, hard to request time off(in 6 reviews)

  • "You are expected to spend alot on your hair, makeup, nails and clothes with close to minimum wage pay(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great training program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Oak Brook, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mario Tricoci Hair Salons & Day Spas full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Training program really prepares new colorists/stylists to succeed. Many different educators to show you new and different techniques.

    Cons

    Class being only 1 day a week

    Mario Tricoci Hair Salons & Day Spas2018-11-27

    Mario Tricoci Hair Salons & Day Spas Response

    December 7, 2018Human Resources Director

    Thank you for your feedback. Your success is our goal and happy to hear you feel the training is giving you the tools to succeed. As you progress, more classes become available. Especially in Phase 3 when you may attend multiple classes to accelerate the final phase.

  2. "Working at Mario Tricoci"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Massage Therapist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mario Tricoci Hair Salons & Day Spas full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Training in multiple modalities was great. They also offer business building and retail product knowledge to strengthen my communication to the guest.

    Cons

    Wish there was more retail opportunites.

    Mario Tricoci Hair Salons & Day Spas2019-05-20
  3. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oakbrook Terrace, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mario Tricoci Hair Salons & Day Spas part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    This is a great company to work for, especially when you are just starting out in the beauty industry. They provide amazing training for new employees and are extremely professional.

    Cons

    Like any job in the industry it's difficult to take time off and juggle other commitments outside of work.

    Mario Tricoci Hair Salons & Day Spas2019-05-11
  4. "Guest service representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Mario Tricoci Hair Salons & Day Spas

      Pros

      Everyone is so nice and professional

      Cons

      Pay is bad with no reviews

      Advice to Management

      Do reviews and raises

      Mario Tricoci Hair Salons & Day Spas2019-03-12

      Mario Tricoci Hair Salons & Day Spas Response

      April 19, 2019HR

      Thank you for your response. We value your opinion and appreciate your time with Mario Tricoci. We will take your comments under advisement. We wish you all the best in the future!

    • "Don’t do it"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Mario Tricoci Hair Salons & Day Spas full-time

      Pros

      Discounts on services. Good training on technical classes

      Cons

      Awful pay. They add to job description. Treat you like a moron. Management picks favorites. Lousy benefits.

      Mario Tricoci Hair Salons & Day Spas2019-03-27

      Mario Tricoci Hair Salons & Day Spas Response

      April 19, 2019HR

      Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We are sorry to hear that you did not appreciate your time with Mario Tricoci. Our pay structure is designed around creating successful careers for technicians and we have numerous technicians that are successful. We are glad ...

      Show More
    • "Colorist in training / Test out"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Color Specialist in Schaumburg, IL

      I have been working at Mario Tricoci Hair Salons & Day Spas full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great staff ! Drea & Nelida were amazing at helping me excel in my career ! They provided one on one training & remained dedicated to me & my journey with the company ! They were extremely understanding and flexible with my schedule & they ultimately molded me into an amazing colorist ! I’m so greatful for the opportunity they provided me ! & I look forward to my future with the company !

      Cons

      Class once a week

      Mario Tricoci Hair Salons & Day Spas2019-02-12

      Mario Tricoci Hair Salons & Day Spas Response

      February 15, 2019

      Thank you for the compliments and taking the time to leave this review. We are happy you’re a part of our team! We take pride in continuing education and mentorship for our employees to be successful. As you progress, more classes will become available. Especially in Phase 3 when ...

      Show More
    • "Working for Mario Tricoci has been the most rewarding and educational career with a true sense of teamwork and family."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Color Specialist in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mario Tricoci Hair Salons & Day Spas full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      The education and personalized coaching will allow you to be the best at what you do in whichever department is best for you! The limit does not exist at Mario Tricoci

      Cons

      It’s a fast pace job, that can be hard for some

      Advice to Management

      Management is precise and coaches uniquely to each employees personal needs.

      Mario Tricoci Hair Salons & Day Spas2019-02-10

      Mario Tricoci Hair Salons & Day Spas Response

      February 13, 2019Marketing Assistant

      We’re lucky to have you on our team! Thanks for the review. We take pride in continuing education and mentorship for all of our employees to be successful. We are happy to hear you enjoy working at Mario Tricoci.

    • "Good Company Poor Employee Compensation"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Mario Tricoci Hair Salons & Day Spas full-time

        Pros

        offer training and further education

        Cons

        poor pay hourly vs commission

        Mario Tricoci Hair Salons & Day Spas2018-12-14
      • "Assistant General Manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Assistant General Manager in Chicago, IL
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Mario Tricoci Hair Salons & Day Spas full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        Leadership training, Continuing education provided by the company, ahead of the trends, loyal to their employees, tremendous support from upper level management, room to grow, FUN environment.

        Cons

        There are no cons.

        Mario Tricoci Hair Salons & Day Spas2018-10-11

        Mario Tricoci Hair Salons & Day Spas Response

        December 7, 2018Human Resources Director

        It's our team that makes it fun, thanks for the compliment.

      • "Very flexible!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Salon Administrator 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Mario Tricoci Hair Salons & Day Spas full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Great job growth opportunities, flexible schedule, company benefits, management classes/trainings are offered, working with extremely talented technicians, management team is very outgoing, supportive, and knowledgeable

        Cons

        None that I have come across!

        Mario Tricoci Hair Salons & Day Spas2018-10-07

        Mario Tricoci Hair Salons & Day Spas Response

        December 7, 2018Human Resources Director

        We are so glad you're on our team. Thank you for your rave review, it's team members like you who continue to make our Brand strong. We are so glad you are part of our team!

      Found 122 reviews