Mark's "minimum wage" Reviews | Glassdoor

Mark's Employee Reviews about "minimum wage"

Updated Dec 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
50%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Mark's CEO Stephen Wetmore (no image)
Stephen Wetmore
37 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "minimum wage"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Soulless job working for a soulless company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Associate in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mark's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Clothing discounts and flexibility of work schedule.

    Cons

    Poor management, treatment of workers and minimum wage. Also, no benefits for any employee who isn't in a management role.

    Continue reading
    Mark's2019-12-21
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Saint Catharines, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mark's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly work environment Supportive colleagues Opportunities for advancement Some profit sharing

    Cons

    Minimum wage pay (to begin)

    Mark's2019-09-21
  3. "Good Part-Time Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mark's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - flexible with employees attending school (high school, college and university) - simple tasks, assisting customers, cashier duties, cleaning, etc. - stress-free work

    Cons

    - minimum wage (as are most places) - a lot of weekend work (may be good for some students)

    Mark's2019-04-03
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Underpaid, overworked, and exploited"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Keyholder/Floor Leader in Victoria, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mark's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers were mostly affable, entertaining individuals Store hours mostly align with the bus schedule Occasionally I had the opportunity to make someone very happy by having that one hard to find item

    Cons

    REPEATED LABOR LAW VIOLATIONS, as well as: Too few workers for the amount of work Schedules posted 1-2 days before the start of the week, making scheduling anything outside of work very difficult Management went out of their way to make requesting vacation or accommodation for illness or injury incredibly difficult Minimum wage even for keyholders/supervisors Failure to provide raises commensurate to increases in minimum wage Management is actively hostile to their employees' best interest, going so far as to try to ensure supervisors and above understand their job is to keep employees in their place Company is actively seeking to transition away from its core clientele, leaving employees to justify the cancellation/lack of availability of formerly basic items

    Continue reading
    Mark's2018-10-05

    Mark's Response

    October 19, 2018Co-op

    Thank you for your review. We have forwarded your comments and concerns to the appropriate team to review. Mark’s is committed to providing employees a safe and positive work environment across all of our stores in Canada. To ensure that we address any issues promptly, we provide a number of communication channels, including an anonymous ethics line, where employees can report any situation they believe falls short of our Business Code of Conduct without fear of reprisal. https://secure.ethicspoint.com/domain/media/en/gui/39655/index.html

    Continue reading
  5. "Good retail environment; pretty easy, "safe" job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shipper/Receiver in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mark's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Pretty easy job, esp if you're competent with some basic computer software - Atmosphere strongly depends on your team; I happened to love my co-workers, so it was great - Pretty good benefits plans (3-tiers you can choose from) - Typically 9-5 style shifts, the odd weekend shift here and there - Room to grow, over a long enough timeline (MGMT track) - Keeps you fairly active - Good balance of things to do, even when there is no shipments

    Cons

    - Low pay; barely above minimum wage - takes a long time to increase - A little tedious; S.S.D.D kind of routine, which is a little mind-numbing at times - Unsurprisingly a little hard on the back - Basically just another retail job (not really that much of a con)

    Mark's2018-08-08
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Don't ever work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mark's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are none at all.

    Cons

    They will never pay above minimum wage, discount is limited (once that's used up you have no discount for the year), management is very clique, and the company is so cheap. Associated have to buy supplies for the yearly BBQ, while they take credit for it and donate the money to their charity.

    Continue reading
    Mark's2018-03-26
  7. "Just like any other corporate retail chain..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Victoria, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mark's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent discount on clothing for yourself, friends, and family (40% with a maximum spending limit) Depending on the store and management, very flexible hours.

    Cons

    pay is absolutely abysmal (even lower management make barely a few dollars over minimum wage) no employee incentives (no bonuses, 25 cent raises once a year) corporate doesn't care about you or your well being no health insurance for part timers (unless you want to pay an arm and a leg for very basic coverage) no room for growth

    Continue reading
    Mark's2017-08-24
  8. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Mark's part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I had an excellent manager. It was my first job so I learnt a lot and gained valuable customer service skills.

    Cons

    It was minimum wage at the time. Not a lot of room to grow at the company.

    Mark's2016-05-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work and build true relationships with colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Mark's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - great management - ability to be as flexible or honest about your availability - easy to learn product knowledge and apply it as an associate while working with customers - casual and comfortable vibe, friendly - a place to work longterm, or short term and gain valuable work experience - ability to increase hourly payment (slightly) each year based on performance

    Cons

    - clothing is geared toward "career" people, and may be difficult for people younger than 25 to sell their image (I struggled, but i supported the image so tried to emulate it. - starts minimum wage (which isn't so bad for most of us) - tedious, tiring, on your feet - Sales associates are also cashiers, product trackers, and take on various roles such as cleaning, vacuuming

    Mark's2015-05-27

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews