KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

MarkMonitor

Part of Clarivate
Is this your company?

MarkMonitor

Add a Review

MarkMonitor Employee Reviews about "markmonitor"

Updated Oct 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 of over 103 reviews

3.4
54%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
MarkMonitor President Chris Veator
Chris Veator
23 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "markmonitor"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Intern

    Sep 19, 2016 - Intern in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Incredible support and development program led by Mark Frost. Left with an updated resume and knowledge of how to look for jobs in the future. Learned how to operate in Salesforce and work excel much better. I highly recommend interning for MarkMonitor

    Cons

    There can be some monotonous tasks

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company to work for - with exciting growth challenges and adequate resources to make it happen

    Aug 14, 2015 - Data Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great product - makes you feel good about yourself when explaining others what exactly MarkMonitor is about Great environment for people with family and kids - the office is generally clear by 5 pm, management is very kid friendly Company got acquired by TR in 2012, most of old management is gone by now - great time to join the company and make a difference A lot of visibility into people's achievements TR is focused on growing the company, so start-up culture is now backed up by big resources Great friendly atmosphere Good pay, excellent benefits Very gay friendly too! :)

    Cons

    Was expecting more fun team building activities - TR European offices are way ahead in this regard

    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Small company values with big company benefits

    Apr 28, 2014 -  in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Since being acquired by Thomson Reuters this small (400+ person) company is now part of a global organization. There's lots of upside still to be explored as a result of this, both in terms of product synergies and career paths for individuals.

    Cons

    Navigating the resources and systems that Thomson Reuters has in place can be a time-sink. While MarkMonitor is doing a good job of preserving a distinctive culture there's a risk of big-company systems becoming a burden.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    3 Years Since My last Review...

    Jan 24, 2016 - Middle Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    So fair disclosure: I wrote the review "Great Company Entering a New Phase in its History” in April 2013 after Thomson Reuters acquired MarkMonitor. I wanted to add this to the original review, but I think GlassDoor only lets you add new reviews. I left in the last year along with some of my peers. Now that I've left, and with the acquisition, new management, and company up for sale, I thought it was a good time to add a review. This company is going to be around for a while and will continue to make good money. They manage domains for the Top Fortune 500 companies and have a steady business there. They've had trouble grabbing onto new growth trends, but their core business in Corporate Domain Management is solid. I think the new CEO has a lot of great ideas and enthusiasm. He came in with a vision to upgrade the org and make it more corporate like a CA, Symantec or McAfee and to turn the company into a Big Data Company. His achievements and clout with upper management at Thomson Reuters brought TR's legacy IP businesses under his org.

    Cons

    I personally left because of the turnover in my area both above and below me. I would have stayed on, but so much turnover in the org made it hard to get things done, and turnover at the top made it hard to set strategy or be recognized for my achievements. The person who replaced me has already left too. I'm still getting a lot of reach outs from people leaving the org. The main reasons I hear are 1) Thomson Reuters has announced it is selling the division (this is public info you can Google). Traditionally new managers have come in, wiped things out, and brought in a new crew. 2) That person is in one of the business lines that peaked out already and there's no growth. 3) That person is in one of the areas where the boss or the team has a mean streak. This is an edge case. I saw some of the cranky reviews in Glassdoor. They definitely don't define MarkMonitor, but unfortunately, some good people did have that experience. There ARE some areas with a mean streak that go unchecked. My advice to job candidates is as always, reach out on LinkedIn to people who have recently left the group you're interviewing with, and just don't go into a group where turnover seems to be an issue. Let Management figure out what's going on there first. My ratings below are just for my experience, and my area and not the whole org. Again, which area you join makes a difference.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee

    A once great company, now in shambles

    Jun 14, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work/life balance. As in, management is so clueless, the majority of employees work significantly less than 40 hours a week without any repercussions.

    Cons

    Former long time employee of MarkMonitor. I would like to preface this by saying things weren't always this way... However, since MarkMonitor was acquired by private equity and rebranded as part of Clarivate, things have gone downhill. Benefits were cut. Annual comp adjustments were lowered every year since the acquisition. Annual reviews make no difference in what your compensation will be the following year. Not even sure why they pretend to care about them. If you happen to exceed your annual goals and make a case for higher pay, don't expect management to action it for 9-12 months. In addition to the multiple rounds of layoffs from Clarivate, veteran employees have all but left as upper management could not be bothered to try and convince them to stay. The office has turned into a ghost town. They can't seem to fill any open positions because their compensation packages are so far below market value. They are aware of this but refuse to do anything about it. Employees should be willing to fit MarkMonitor's needs, not the other way around (more on this below). Significant product launches have been delayed for years, resulting in unhappy clients and added stress to the services teams. Officious people leading initiatives everywhere creating more roadblocks than you can overcome. ELT is clueless and refuses to act on anything...unless it reduces the bottom line further. Employee morale is at an all-time low. Meanwhile, competitors in the market are agile, developing new products constantly; slowly but surely taking more and more market share. Honestly though, the worst part about MarkMonitor was the ELT's attitude of entitlement towards employees. If you ever get a raise, promotion, title change, ANYTHING...be prepared to have the company hold it over you for the rest of your career there. You can work hard, but at the end of the day, they will remind you that YOU owe THEM for the promotion they were gracious enough to give you.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Run for the hills don't waste your time with this place! (Boise, Idaho location)

    Nov 20, 2014 - CcTLD Specialist in Boise, ID
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wonderful people to work with. company benefits as in vacation & insurance are very good for Idaho. The Boise HR person is wonderful as well. MarkMonitor being bought out by Thomson Reuters might be their saving grace.

    Cons

    Management treats employees very poorly, the supervisors try to do their best but sadly their hands are tied when it comes to anything that really matters for the employee. There is apparent favoritism from management (those that have been there for 10+ years) this has created an environment where slackers and brown nosers are rewarded. The pay is horrific for the amount of work that you are forced to do...slave labor...you are expected to work 45+ hours a week. Even though you get a lot of vacation time, there is a double standard when you use it, you have to put up with a lot of snarky remarks from management. Management states that they have an open door policy but if you dare to ask for assistance or imply that you have no bandwidth (and you are not a favorite) all of a sudden you get put on the black list and are told that you don't know how to manage your time and it goes all down hill from there. If you are unfortunate to work there keep your head down and do what you are told (be a yes man) and brown nose like your life depends on it...and you will be fine. The worst management experience that I have ever had the misfortune to live through. I have been in the Idaho workforce for 20+ years. I quit because my health started to suffer. Life is too short!

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    SDR, London

    Oct 11, 2020 - Sales Development Representative in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Big company with a very international staff, lots of perks, opportunities to travel internationally and laid-back management who let you do your own thing most of the time. So long as you hit your targets it's not too stressful. Hardest months to hit targets in in summer when everyone is on holiday, so you end up inevitably working harder in the winter.

    Cons

    When I was there, there was a big disconnect between Clarivate and MarkMonitor. They were in charge of all of our marketing materials and for the size of the company, what we would actually mail out to prospective clients was comically bland and extremely generic-looking. At one point Clarivate contracted for some unknown amount of money with a "lead generation" service who supplied us with a tepid list of companies we couldn't even do business with. MarkMonitor wanted our team to contact international investment banks and global software companies and Clarivate provided us with the names of suburban England car dealerships and a halal seafood company. The best way to do the job was to work with the sales team directly, track down leads, and hit the phones/email.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Boys Club management with only one style; looking good to their manager

    Oct 4, 2018 - Brand in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good solutions for a complex market and investing in technology to only get better. Culture: MarkMonitor certainly used to pride itself on it’s culture. Apparently one of family. Everyone is definitely friendly. It’s a very autonomous place which is a huge plus but the flip side of this is only too apparent.

    Cons

    Zero Management Zero Development A lot of false promises and no delivery. If management was to be defined as “hire, train, retain to make the team the best they could be” then MarkMonitor has zero management. There are managers who are incredibly ‘busy’ but completely ineffective. It might actually not be their fault as they haven’t been coached or trained. However leadership comes from the top and if those people are abusive, disinterested, sexist and self serving, then the younger management are going to have a tough time developing their people in such a culture.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great place to work

    May 14, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great products & a fantastic array of world class customers. Strong teams & camaraderie Management is close to the ground & well intentioned

    Cons

    Becoming part of a larger organisation has led to fragmented communication & lack of understanding of the business model with an ignorant intent to amalgamate MarkMonitor support services with the wider business which isn't working well.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    The British ship is sinking… No captain on board!!

    Mar 8, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    MarkMonitor is still the market leader in the Online Brand Protection space and provides a large spectrum of services which makes it an attractive company to work for. Fast-paced industry where there is something new to learn every day. Lots of smart individuals from multiple countries and backgrounds, particularly in Client Services, who do not hesitate to go above and beyond to make clients happy. Nice perks like gym benefit, decent health insurance, cinema tickets and fruits/snacks all week. Working from home, flexible hours’ scheme and office in central location.

    Cons

    The atmosphere used to be really good in the London office (more like a family) but since the last major organisation change, the situation went out of control with a total lack of strategic leadership and very poor management. In the departments where managers have not been replaced (eg. Brand Protection), supervisors have taken over as acting-managers without having the required people skills nor sufficient technical knowledge leading to low morale and spreading anger and frustration. Many people left and many more will do so if nothing is done as a matter of urgency. Heavy bureaucracy produces unnecessary delays on projects, lack of company flexibility and inability to keep up with new trends. No clear career path and mentoring/training, coupled with rampant politics, mean that only very few employees are promoted based on their skills and not “who they are friends with”. Big egos and complacency in the Sales team are not what the company needs to remain the undisputed leader in a highly competitive market.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

Popular Careers with MarkMonitor Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at MarkMonitor? Share Your Experiences

MarkMonitor logo
or

MarkMonitor Photos

+ Add Photo
MarkMonitor photo of: Great Day
MarkMonitor photo of: Our time at INTA 2018 was a success, and to celebrate, President, Chris Veator bathed in a tub of ping pong balls
MarkMonitor photo of: Customer Appreciation Event
MarkMonitor photo of: Customer Event @ Oktoberfest
MarkMonitor photo of: Our Customer Party @ Mini Park Lane
MarkMonitor photo of: Part of the European Marketing Team
MarkMonitor photo of: Joining forces with our friends at CompuMark
See All Photos