Market of Choice Reviews | Glassdoor

Market of Choice Reviews

Updated Jan 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.3
26%
Recommend to a Friend
25%
Approve of CEO
Market of Choice CEO Rick Wright
Rick Wright
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "Health Care: You get health benefits after working full time for 2 months(in 14 reviews)

  • "Great coworkers and learned a lot(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Outdated upper management policies for today’s workplace(in 11 reviews)

  • "Pays less than competitors and offers no employee discounts(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator in Eugene, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Market of Choice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No corporate America here, this company is family owned and well cared for. You are not a number when you work for Market of Choice, you are part of the family.

    Cons

    Growing pains due to moving from a small company to a large one

    Market of Choice2019-09-17
  2. "Adequate pay and benefits, formal food service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Clerk in Eugene, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Market of Choice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Base rate of 12/hr Health, dental, life Free food (sometimes)

    Cons

    Some staff really don't care May have to do dishes for 8 hours

    Market of Choice2020-01-11
  3. "Pretty Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Market of Choice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome co workers, cross trained

    Cons

    poor management, weird unfair policies, outdated dress code

    Market of Choice2019-12-27
  4. "MoC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Baker 

    I worked at Market of Choice full-time

    Pros

    Great coworkers and learned a lot.

    Cons

    Outdated upper management policies for today’s workplace.

    Market of Choice2019-12-27
  5. "Standard grocery kitchen work: 7/10"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff 

    I worked at Market of Choice part-time

    Pros

    Decent products, location is ok, work culture is good

    Cons

    quick turnover of employees during summer season

    Market of Choice2019-11-03
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Don't work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Market of Choice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There aren't any positive remarks

    Cons

    The customer base alone would be the reason not to work here. They're mostly rude jerks and the staff constantly have to apologize for THEM being ridiculous. Management sides with the customer regardless of how awful the worker was treated (it's so incredibly demeaning to get yelled at in the face all the time) I've genuinely never felt less important at a job than I have working here. It was incredibly difficult to keep anyone in my department, let alone get help when I needed it. The turnover is ridiculous (look internally, management) which just says something about the company itself. I constantly worked alone even when I'm supposed to have help, and they would hire my help and then schedule them somewhere else. My job required much more legwork and an extra person constantly but I would be chastised for needing help or trying to get help. They make themselves look great by saying they're a good corporation but really, they're horrible.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give your employees a discount, you pigs. And allow them to have a free meal. Cuz guess what, you can afford it with how high those prices are. Quit being so greedy and help the little guys.

    Market of Choice2019-11-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "They do not care about their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk in Eugene, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Market of Choice full-time

    Pros

    Reasonable insurance , great unappreciated employees

    Cons

    Men are treated better, management does not care, corporate does not care, high stress and turnover, inadequate equipment for their expectations

    Advice to Management

    Care about employees and address their comcerns. Don't make yourself unapproachable with valid concerns

    Market of Choice2019-09-22
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Low compensation and problematic management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Eugene, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Market of Choice part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice environment, polite customers, and quality products.

    Cons

    No employee discounts whatsoever (which seems counter to the industry standard), ridiculously stringent rules regarding clocking in and out, long hours and overburdened employees. Minimum wage, few opportunities for pay raises.

    Advice to Management

    Think hard about what makes market of choice a good place to shop, and then treat the workers in such a way that they feel that their commitment to the creating a great environment is reflected in their compensation.

    Market of Choice2019-07-30
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Kinda terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Courtesy Clerk/Bagger in Eugene, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Market of Choice part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible with student hours

    Cons

    Management is a pice of work

    Advice to Management

    Get better

    Market of Choice2019-08-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Better than most chains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Apprentice Clerk in Beaverton, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Market of Choice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities to gain new skills and knowledge of other departments, which is great if you would like to stay in the industry for a long time. They genuinely care for their customers moreso than any other grocery chain I've worked for. They are dedicated to having quality products. Decent pay and benefits for a grocery chain.

    Cons

    Like all grocery employers, they tend to give off the impression that your workd needs to revolve around them. Whether that's guilting you into taking your job more seriously or jerking you around with your work schedule. While there are other opportunities within the company, most are a lateral move, and the only ways to move up are very slowly inching around different departments for years, or being picked to go through management training, and giving your life over

    Show More
    Market of Choice2019-06-22
Found 106 reviews