MarketSource "part time" Reviews | Glassdoor

MarketSource Employee Reviews about "part time"

Updated Sep 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
44%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
MarketSource President Rick Haviland (no image)
Rick Haviland
672 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "More part time opportunities than full time opportunities(in 90 reviews)

  • "No way to grow in company or move to full time(in 68 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "part time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "It’s a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mobile Sales Consultant in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MarketSource part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It’s an awesome place to work! Commission and hourly checks every week

    Cons

    It’s only a part time opportunity at the moment

    MarketSource2018-06-10
  2. "Great place to work part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Evanston, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MarketSource part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours and decent pay for a part time position

    Cons

    Not really any cons I can think of.

    MarketSource2019-09-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Marketsource isn't a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MarketSource full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule nothing else.

    Cons

    I work full-time hours, No weekends or holidays off. My DM has me listed as part-time even though HR said they have me listed as full-time so I'm not getting my PTO or holiday pay. For the amout of work I do they pay is crappy when they pay people that been at the company a year lease than I have 4-5 dollars more. I never have the right stock. Target management treats us like crap and expects us to do their... employees jobs or cover their electronic department.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pleae list your employees properly so they can receive their benefits. Your employees work like dogs for crap pay and if they get sick they have to come to work anyway because if they don't they don't get paid at all.... the moral at the company sucks...all you do is push sales and more sales...

    MarketSource2019-09-25
  4. "Decent Part-Time Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - In-sore Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MarketSource part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent Part Time work. Fairly, simple if you are comfortable with holding a conversation with people. Alright pay for part-time.

    Cons

    Basic Cons for a customer service position, sometimes you get some unruly or angry customers, but other than that not too many other issues. No benefits, because part-time.

    MarketSource2019-07-08
  5. "Former Wireless member, that conducted sales on the floor."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wireless Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MarketSource part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pays decently, gain experience as a salesman. District manager is a great teacher, helps you learn how to become the best salesman you can be, and how to approach customers to help them find the product they need.

    Cons

    I signed up to work as a part time employee (20 hours or less) my lead kept calling off, so I had to keep filling in. Eventually, for two months, I had to work full time 40 hours which was WAY above the amount of hours I signed up for because I was taking summer college classes. Despite constantly trying to tell my lead that I cannot do 40 hours, I kept on getting assigned it every week for two months. Another... downside to working 40 hours as a “part time employee” is the fact that I still got paid as a part time employee rate per hour, rather than the full time rate. I liked working for the company until, but the supervisors not hearing me out on my school situation was unprofessional and was a huge turn off for me. End state, it was apparent management at mid and upper levels did not care about your personal life, all they cared about was someone being on the floor to get the job done and get sales going.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. Other than that, upper management levels are great.

    MarketSource2019-05-08
  6. "3PL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - District Sales Manager 

    I have been working at MarketSource full-time

    Pros

    Good sales people will find success easily here.

    Cons

    More part time opportunities than full time opportunities

    MarketSource2019-04-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "2nd Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MarketSource part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Liked the Job. Liked my Managers and Co-Workers. Liked Managers of Stores.

    Cons

    Hires New People with no Education on Computers, no Experience in Sales for more pay than Experienced Workers, doing very well, for more money. No Pay Raises Ever Given. No Advancement Opportunity. Not Good Benefits. Cuts off Sick Days if you don't use them. Never gives more than Part Time Hours. Shortened Review. Worked there over 3 1/2 years. I would not think of the HP program as a Career Path. If you... are in a State, like California, just work at a minimum wage job, you mathematically make more money.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You get what you pay for!

    MarketSource2019-03-11
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Don't work for them."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wireless Team Member in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MarketSource part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Had great manager. I love cell phones, so seeing new ones was fun. Discount on a phone plan.

    Cons

    Low hours,low pay, district managers suck,the amount of expectations is too high for the unlivable wage. No opportunity to grow. Low communication, high turnover rate for part time people, some customers are ridiculous, Target relationships sometimes aren't the best, they won't terminate horrible employees very often, low commission pay. Good luck paying for the benefits they offer, because your hours... arent guaranteed! Seriously, avoid the middleman and go to a carrier store,you'd be better off.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire LESS people if you dont need them. Increase wages for those who are there and productive. Don't have small locations in semi rural areas, communication is important so improve that,give FAIR hours. 25-30/week is part time. Anything less is NOT A JOB. Make it LESS competitive, we are humans just like you,not dogs who need to beg for hours. Perhaps offer events so employees can mingle and meet each other... and increase relationships & communication within the company. Fire district officials who dont communicate with their employees, and also, maybe set a limit on how many stores they manage. That would increase communication between district management and team leads& team members.

    Show More
    MarketSource2019-03-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for while in college, but I have some peeves."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mobile Concierge in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MarketSource part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great scheduling, very flexible. I have the ability to switch days. -Part-time is a plus for me. -Commission with base pay. -Working with cell phones and technology! -Reimbursed cell phone service.

    Cons

    -little room for raises or advancement (can get terminated if wages are mentioned). -I've been promised a performance review, but I have never seen one. I'm sort of badgering management to get higher pay, which I should get because I am extremely knowledgeable about the program and the products I sell on a daily basis. They hire new reps off the street with higher pay than me. sort of ridiculous. Keep in mind that... I regularly hit quota as well. - If you succeed in the role, they will only expect more from you to the point you're expected to be pushing 20+ boxes out the door on a single day. - Working within Walmart means dealing with regular Walmart clientele. Yuck.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Should be more transparent in wages and payroll. Stop dragging your feet to raise pay based on experience.

    MarketSource2019-02-14
  10. "Great part time job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mobile Concierge 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MarketSource part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management Flexible schedule Major holidays off(unpaid) Commission bonus

    Cons

    No room for growth Strictly part time Working in walmart

    Advice to Management

    Maybe try doing full time hours

    MarketSource2019-02-12
Found 119 reviews