Markforged Reviews | Glassdoor

Markforged Reviews

Updated Aug 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Markforged CEO Greg Mark (no image)
Greg Mark
12 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work for if you peaked in highschool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Sales Representative in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Markforged full-time

    Pros

    Inspiring motivating management, my boss always reminds me "if you can't hit your quota, you're just not as good at your job as you think you are", that really keeps on my feet. So awesome to be a part company's skyrocketing hypergrowth, fast-food level supervision and prison-grade level of personal privacy are true keys to success in this economy. Company culture is truly ran on the best principles of business... giants of today, like Google and Amazon. One of the coolest things is that when people are fired, they're escorted out of the building immediately on the spot, so you don't have to deal with any drama

    Show More

    Cons

    You sometimes don't get commission on your larger deals, but no company is perfect. You get to bring in a new customer, and that's what matters

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Markforged2019-08-27

    Markforged Response

    August 28, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We take our employee concerns very seriously and share feedback with our leadership team regularly in order to make improvements for our overall employee experience. -Emma, Head of People Ops

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great product and incredibly smart people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Markforged full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Believing in the really cool products - Incredible people to learn from and work with - Lots of opportunities to improve and diversify skills according to your interests - Casual, laid-back culture - Getting to use the 3D printers - Unlimited vacation time - Parties and free food - Watching the company grow and evolve strong

    Cons

    Can feel like a challenge to keep up with everyone and everything

    Advice to Management

    You're doing wonderfully

    Markforged2019-05-21
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Thought It Was Job Of a Lifetime"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supply Chain Analyst in East Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Markforged full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great products, people, culture, CEO Open, engaging, challenging environment Food perks Hyper growth - potential for growth opportunities

    Cons

    Hyper growth - bordering on / out of control in areas with gaps Resource gaps - Manufacturing, Supply Chain (planning and execution) Knowledge gaps - Manufacturing, Supply Chain (planning and execution) I was caught up in an over-scoped role that ate me up, hence the low work life balance rating and no recommendation..... Advice to job seekers - make sure you know what you are getting into in the interiew... process. Don't let them rush you in, make sure you ask enough good questions about the role and you get good answers..

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be realistic about Operations goals / deadlines and staff accordingly

    Markforged2019-05-30
  4. "best company ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Markforged full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great product. Fun people. View of the Charles river from my desk.

    Cons

    Work hard, play hard still means work hard. But it's worth it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep promoting from within. Its great to be at a place where you have the opportunity to grow with the company.

    Markforged2019-04-04
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Solid company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing Manager in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Markforged full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome people. Leadership is solid. The product is really cool and there is a massive amount of potential for the company to do awesome things.

    Cons

    Growing insanely fast and they are struggling to get all the people in the right positions. They finally have all the leadership in place but are working to get that next level of mid management.

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent with all the changes you’re going through. Safeguard the culture as you bring in so many new people.

    Markforged2019-01-09
  6. "Great startup to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Markforged for less than a year

    Pros

    I had a great mentor and projects. Company is expecting to grow.

    Cons

    This is a startup, and the culture may not fit everybody.

    Markforged2018-10-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Fast-Paced and Fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Marketing Intern in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Markforged

    Pros

    Happy Hour Free lunch on Mondays Transparency Management is receptive to feedback Ability to make an impact Motivated team members Supportive team members

    Cons

    Lack of structure Shifting priorities Gender diversity

    Markforged2018-08-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Current Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Markforged full-time

    Pros

    Markforged is incredibly fast paced, so when you get hired you are expected to own your piece and execute flawlessly. The team at Markforged is made up of extremely smart people, who are constantly innovating and working to get the company to the next level. Markforged has grown 300% year over year in both revenue and size. Being a part of that growth has been amazing. It is one of the few companies where people... directly impact the business and you are part of something big. As an employee you are building a great business and seeing it grow. People are very friendly and collaborative and the team operates very well together. I haven't been part of such a smart and talented team before.

    Show More

    Cons

    The pace and the growth can be both good and bad, because the company is growing too fast sometimes it's hard to keep up with all the change.

    Advice to Management

    Slow down just a little and take a deep breath

    Markforged2018-08-16
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Not Your Average Start-Up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Markforged full-time

    Pros

    - A great community of people who are passionate about what they do, supportive and highly intelligent - Never a boring day - Free Food & Fun activities Not for those that want extensive training and hand holding. You need to be able to solve challenges by yourself and learn fast.

    Cons

    - Because the company is growing so fast there are communication issues. People can forget who and who hasn't received certain information. - Fast-paced environment with changing priorities (could be a good or bad thing)

    Advice to Management

    - Investing time in more training; while there is so little time to get things done, it saves time, in the long run, to avoid having to deal with a lot of mistakes and confusion

    Markforged2018-08-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Hypergrowth + Innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Team Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Markforged full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I work in the marketing team. Markforged has grown 300% year over year, which is a ridiculous number even for a startup. If you want a well-adjusted and unexciting work life, work for a public company. This isn't one of those ersatz "work hard / play hard" indentured servitude bro-fests. This is a company built by some of the most brilliant engineers around. Each day comes with new challenges, for better or for... worse. Everyone wants to talk about how technology is "changing the world", but this is a company that represents the first true disruption to manufacturing since Henry Ford rolled out the assembly line. Priorities have changed often because that's what happens when you create an entirely new category. You need to be able to iterate and react to what happens with your customers and your product. This is still 100% a startup environment, even at 200 people. The marketing team has certainly had its ups and downs over the last 6 months, but having just hired our first CMO we now have a mandate to organize and execute like never before. We also recently expanded into a huge new office. Things are going very well.

    Show More

    Cons

    See above - I don't see chaos as a con but rather a necessary transition phase in a small company.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on infrastructure and internal communications.

    Markforged2018-08-13
Found 14 reviews