KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Marks & Spencer

Engaged Employer

Marks & Spencer

Add a Review

Marks & Spencer Reviews

Updated May 24, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 6,084 of over 6,943 reviews

3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Marks & Spencer Chief Executive Steve Rowe
Steve Rowe
1,990 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Good pay compared to other retail stores and the pay often goes up after a while.(in 670 reviews)
  • "Friendly staff and was very flexible(in 402 reviews)
  • "People there are nice and helpful(in 326 reviews)
  • "Most colleagues are friendly and personable; more of a 'we're all in this mess together' kind of friendship.(in 275 reviews)
  • "Very supportive when my mother died and good benefits(in 158 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Gender

This rating reflects the overall rating of Marks & Spencer and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Employment

    Mar 30, 2022 - Insurance Agent in Orlando, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing workspace, and team to work with.

    Cons

    Too far from home, wanted to earn more.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Marks & Spencer Response

    Hi there, thank you for leaving us a review. It is lovely to hear that you find us an amazing place to work and have an amazing team as well. We are always trying to find ways to improve, we appreciate your feedback. Marks and Spencer

  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good

    May 7, 2022 - Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hours Benefits Salary flexibility Team

    Cons

    Busy days Managers Expectations Full work load

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Marks & Spencer Response

    Hi there, thank you for leaving us a review. We are glad to hear that you are happy with your hours, staff benefits, pay, flexibility and that you have a good team of colleagues. We are always trying to find ways to improve, we appreciate your feedback. Marks and Spencer

  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Not a bad place

    May 9, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Gibraltar, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    No overdues on payments, nivel people to work with

    Cons

    Low salary, no chance of internal grownth

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Marks & Spencer Response

    Hi there, thank you for leaving us a review. We are glad to hear that you had nice colleagues. We are always trying to find ways to improve, we appreciate your feedback. Marks and Spencer

  4. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Fun working experience

    Mar 25, 2022 - Part Time Retail Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    pretty chill since they understand that it is my first retail job made many friends as the shop is mostly part-timers

    Cons

    might need to work overtime some day management is ok for food department, but there were some drama on the ladies department

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Marks & Spencer Response

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your review! We're glad to hear that you made many friends and enjoyed your time with us. We advise our Colleagues to link in with their Line Manager if they they have any concerns about their hours, to find a solution together. We appreciate your feedback. Marks and Spencer

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good energy

    Mar 23, 2022 - Otr Drivet in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great workers. Flexible when trying to

    Cons

    Horrible hour’s bad management bad

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Marks & Spencer Response

    Hi there, thank you for leaving us a review. We are glad to hear that you had great colleagues and flexible shifts however it is disappointing to hear the concerns you have raised. In these instances, we would always recommend that colleagues link in with another Manager or their local Big Rep so that they can get the support they need in resolving any issues/hardships they face. Marks and Spencer

  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Very good

    Feb 24, 2022 - Sales Assistant in Norfolk, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people were lovely and it was well organised

    Cons

    Long hours and can be very tiring

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Marks & Spencer Response

    Hi there, thanks for leaving us a review! We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We advise our Colleagues to link in with their Line Manager if they have any concerns about their hours, to find a solution together. Marks and Spencer

  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good part time job

    Feb 23, 2022 - Customer Assistant in London, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good training and a healthy work environment

    Cons

    Some management were not great man-managers

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Marks & Spencer Response

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed the working environment and training. We're sorry to hear that you weren't fully supported by some managers. In these instances, we would always recommend that colleagues link in with another Manager or their local Big Rep so that they can get the support they need in resolving any issues/hardships they face. Marks and Spencer

  8. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great company

    Feb 16, 2022 - Systems Administrator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company and lot of great things

    Cons

    Not so bad, its a great company

    Be the first to find this review helpful