Marks & Spencer "m s" Reviews | Glassdoor

Marks & Spencer Employee Reviews about "m s"

Updated Nov 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Marks & Spencer Chief Executive Steve Rowe
Steve Rowe
915 Ratings
Pros
  • "employee benefits including staff discount(in 358 reviews)

  • "Good pay compared to competitors(in 259 reviews)

Cons
  • "I couldn't fault my experience with M&S(in 108 reviews)

  • "There are no cons except long hours(in 100 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "m s"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Constant Direction changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    20% Discount is great, graduates get great experience at a young age, every other weekend off and wide variety of different roles available.

    Cons

    The company has been in panic for years now. They seem to change strategy constantly and expect managers to stay engaged. The expectations over the last year or so have gone through the roof. Not a nice environment, some area managers are great but most are horrible. Expect to be moved store at the drop of a hat If you want Aldi style working conditions without the pay packet then jump into M&S management.

    Continue reading
    Marks & Spencer2019-11-20
  2. "Good pay but repetitive work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy work Good pay and benefits Majority of staff are friendly Chance for overtime

    Cons

    Too many managers, who are unfriendly and often unhelpful who tend to just stand about and talk to other managers Pushing the M&S bank cards on to customers when your serving them is less positive side to the job

    Marks & Spencer2019-11-01
  3. "Great company but with too much legacy! Not agile enough."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to progress, good pay packages, big focus on learning and development.

    Cons

    Too much legacy. Too many people who have been working for M&S their whole lives undertaking roles they not qualified to do and are only in the roles because they have been there so long and played the game.

    Continue reading
    Marks & Spencer2019-08-08
  4. "Sprucefield store - bad culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Lisburn, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The hours suited me at the time and the general workers are friendly.

    Cons

    Management was poor at this store especially middle managers. Back stabbing and causing tension between staff. A lot of managers felt they were too important to speak to sales assistants (and customers) M&S has a good reputation as a great place to work, that must have been 20 years ago because I would not recommend at all - I can only speak for the Sprucefield store in Lisburn.

    Continue reading
    Marks & Spencer2019-08-15
  5. "M&S as a Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor 

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer part-time

    Pros

    As a student M&S provided a very flexible working environment, allowing me to plan my working hours around my studies and regularly change my shift patterns in each academic year.

    Cons

    Working the in the foodhall at M&S can be rather cold due to the open fridges.

    Continue reading
    Marks & Spencer2019-06-27
  6. "Friendly place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Associate 

    I worked at Marks & Spencer part-time

    Pros

    Colleagues are easy going and company is well managed

    Cons

    Did not experience any downsides working at m&s

    Marks & Spencer2019-05-20
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Never any staff!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant in Ipswich, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with some amazing people, the opportunity to ‘buy’ extra holiday.

    Cons

    Staffing has been an absolute joke for well over a year now. You can never get anything done because you’re constantly being moved around due to there never being staff. M&S, It’s not saving you money, it’s loosing you money, staff are leaving and customers have had enough. They’re constantly coming up with new things to improve the way things operate, which makes your job ten times harder. THROWING FOOD IN THE BIN EVERY. SINGLE. NIGHT. Full bakery loads of stuff going straight into wheelie bins. I can’t put into words mine and others utter disgust at this issue. No union, the one set up by M&S is a farce and is heavily under the thumb of management. Unpaid breaks.

    Marks & Spencer2019-05-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Everyone is treated the same, no favouritism in terms of allowances for time off or sickness. The same rules apply to everyone. -Extra hours are available when you would like them, but if I have a busy week with uni deadlines, they usually are accommodating of this and give me my contract hours. -I enjoy my job usually, mostly due to the lovely long term customers and some managers. -20% discount is great, I eat like a queen.

    Cons

    -As many companies have this issue, the retail market is a competitive business and M&S are trying to keep up with the times, however it would be better if they stayed with there original target audience of the older generation, as this is a social group that is being forgotten about in the fashion and customer service industry. -Desperate for great customer service, at the disadvantage of the staff. Customers are constantly given refunds regardless of policies. This is contradictory for staff, as the policies they are told to enforce, are then ignored (often in front of the customer who has just been denied a refund) by a manager. This is discouraging for staff, and many employees have complained about this.

    Marks & Spencer2019-05-08
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Stay AWAY so out of touch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant - Salesfloor in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great additional Perks and staff discount

    Cons

    If you value your sanity and a positive environment STAY AWAY. Managers are aggressive and misogynist filled with ego and a worship me mentality. Your hard work goes unnoticed and when you're ill and is given time off by your Doctor you are questioned like a criminal. The management team lacks empathy everyone from the top all the way down to the bottom. I’ve seen where racist, sexist, lazy misogynist managers get promoted to the top while the victim/s are cast out. I remember looking in from the outside gushing for a job at M&S and once you're through the door you realise why they have declined drastically over the years. M&S is out of touch, lacks integrity, no innovation or inspiration and if the staff were honest with the company as they are when talking to each other then maybe, just maybe things might change. Unless you are a student looking for part time work please stay away! They literally suck the life out of you. Also they constantly break the law by having no managers present at closing and leaving only a section coordinator to close up and do cash while they all do early mornings and leave between 2-4.

    Continue reading
    Marks & Spencer2019-06-05
  10. "Relaxed and friendly working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours and option to work from home Friendly/Approachable teams Good work life balance Great access to training internal and external Progression is encouraged and all staff have the opportunity to apply for jobs internally

    Cons

    Systems are old and tedious Long standing Employees apposed to make efficient changes to processes because 'Thats the way its always been' or 'its like that because we are M&S' regardless of whether it is logical/time efficient Too many meetings

    Continue reading
    Marks & Spencer2019-04-28
Found 107 reviews