Marriott International Reviews | Glassdoor

Marriott International Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 6528 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Marriott International CEO Arne Sorenson
Arne Sorenson
2716 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (13)

    "Opportunities are limitless"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marriott International full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities Team becomes family Great trainings Lots of resources Parental Leave - 8 weeks of paid leave

    Cons

    Turnover because there are so many opportunities Long hours Guests yell at you from time to time

    Marriott International2019-04-02
  2. Helpful (407)

    "All depends on your position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Service Representative in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marriott International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discounts (cheap hotels as low as $19 on certain nights all over the world), medical and retirement benefits, PTO, company values, and opportunity to move up or change job titles

    Cons

    Company cares more about income than their employees, it is a front line employee's "job" to get yelled out, according to corporate.

    Advice to Management

    Your front line employees are just as important as management and sales, believe it or not. You can run a hotel without sales and events specialists but you can't run a hotel without the front desk and housekeeping. Remember where you started.

    Marriott International2017-06-17
  3. "Steward at Marriott"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Steward 

      I have been working at Marriott International full-time

      Pros

      Pay and benefits are good

      Cons

      Long hours on your feet

      Advice to Management

      Listen and do more for employees

      Marriott International2019-06-15
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - aisle attendant in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Marriott International part-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      It's a great company to work for

      Cons

      I don't have any cons

      Marriott International2019-06-14
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Housekeeper 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Marriott International full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great team members fun environment

      Cons

      A lot of work for a little pay

      Advice to Management

      We are not robots we are human that's hard work for the pay we work for

      Marriott International2019-06-13
    • "Fun place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Guest Service Representative in Romulus, MI
      Recommends

      I worked at Marriott International part-time

      Pros

      Staff are like family. The hotel discounts are nice.

      Cons

      Pay rates. Lower end staff could be compensated more.

      Marriott International2019-06-13
    • "Server asistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Server Assistant in Laguna Niguel, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Marriott International full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Best place to work ever

      Cons

      This job change my entire life

      Advice to Management

      I am enough of explain go and apply

      Marriott International2019-06-12
    • "Excellent place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Director in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Marriott International full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Professional development, Great team of people to work with.

      Cons

      I did not experience any cons.

      Marriott International2019-06-12
    • "Good people, great culture, needs to be more streamlined"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Vice President in Bethesda, MD
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Marriott International full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Great culture, smart people, innovative.

      Cons

      Too many layers of management at Marriott Corporate Headquarters. Bureaucracy is significantly stifling speed-to-market.

      Advice to Management

      Streamline layers of management in order to improve operating efficiencies, reduce overhead, and gain more management agreements.

      Marriott International2019-06-10
    • "Good so far"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Cook in College Park, MD

        I have been working at Marriott International full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Benefits, 5 day work week

        Cons

        None so far that I've worked

        Marriott International2019-06-10
      Found 6528 reviews