Marriott International "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Marriott International Reviews

Updated Jan 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Marriott International President & CEO Arne Sorenson
Arne Sorenson
3,211 Ratings
  1. "Sales Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Administrative Assistant 

    I have been working at Marriott International full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits including hotel deals, 401k, PTO, etc.

    Cons

    Company does not pay well.

    Marriott International2019-06-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Difficult recruitment process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Trainer in Bethesda, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marriott International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and hotel perks

    Cons

    It is all about who you know!

    Continue reading
    Marriott International2019-05-30
  3. "not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marriott International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is GREAT, unlimited overtime and opportunity to work from home. Pretty great benefits; 401k, hotel discounts, PTO etc.

    Cons

    It is repetitive and tedious, most of the people you speak with are old, entitled, rude and ungrateful people. Which doesn’t bother most people but I like to think the effort I put in means something. You hardly get recognition for going above and beyond. If you don’t keep your calls under 4 minutes (which is not possible) you get in trouble. It is nearly impossible to get a shift that is accommodating to YOUR needs. ZERO FLEXIBILITY!!!! I am a full time student and have get days two weeks in advance to have off to take exams and was denied! LOL! But for vacations go buck wild and ask for a week no problem. I’ve worked very hard and have watched people who disrespect callers move above me to better paying positions.. There is ZERO downtime during your shift. It is call after call and no room to breathe after a difficult call.. The programs that you make reservations with will constantly shut down and YOU will have to deal with backlash, and MORE. At the end of the day you will be replaced as though you meant nothing, think if this is truly worth that kind of headache.

    Marriott International2019-05-31
  4. "Growing Pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative 

    I have been working at Marriott International full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Marriott offers a lot of great benefits. Growth of the company offers plenty of opportunity for advancement quickly.

    Cons

    With growth, we have lost a lot of our values of taking care of our associates. Business 1st, cutting corners, leadership decision making is all over the place. Mentorship is non existent. You are easily replaceable no matter how long you've been with the company.

    Continue reading
    Marriott International2019-05-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Vast opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shuttle Driver in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marriott International part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    So many locations, competitive pay great benefits. Almost family like mentality towards workers.

    Cons

    Should actively promote from within rather than looking outside the family.

    Continue reading
    Marriott International2019-04-27
  6. "Large company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marriott International full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits if you take advantage of them.

    Cons

    Heavy turnover rate... Large Company

    Marriott International2019-05-14
  7. "Decent Placeto Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Agent 

    I worked at Marriott International full-time

    Pros

    great benefits, people tend to want to work there

    Cons

    You have to stay in certain positions a certain time befor eyou ocan grow

    Marriott International2019-04-18
  8. "It was a really amazing and comforting job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Agent in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marriott International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing coworker nice management very great benefits

    Cons

    Pay was low hours were minimum

    Marriott International2019-04-11
  9. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Marriott International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and discounts. Promote within company.

    Cons

    Some shady managers, HR not always quick to follow up.

    Marriott International2019-03-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Cook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cook in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marriott International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They offer great benefits and discounts.

    Cons

    Unprofessional and favoritism at its best

    Continue reading
    Marriott International2019-04-02
Found 454 reviews