Marriott International "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Marriott International Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Marriott International President & CEO Arne Sorenson
Arne Sorenson
3,170 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Genuinely care about the well being of their employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marriott International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Most sustainable work culture I’ve found in the hospitality career so far. Good work-life balance. Promote from within. Employee appreciation is a priority.

    Cons

    Irregular work schedules depending on your position. Most positions have to work weekends at least sometimes.

    Advice to Management

    Please continue to mandate that individual hotels take employee satisfaction seriously. Please think carefully before replacing entry-level positions with technology (eliminating desk agents or lower level accounting/sales people).

    Marriott International2019-11-23
  2. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Office Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marriott International full-time

    Pros

    Development, Advancement, Teamwork, Family Values & Fun

    Cons

    Work/life Balance and Schedule, Demanding Metrics

    Marriott International2019-11-19
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Too Big to Fail and Too Slow to Excite"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Delivery Manager in Bethesda, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marriott International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    By far the largest Hospitality company in the world. The company is slow and steady. Yet I don't feel like it is winning the race. After five years it was time to stop the boring, comfortable, safe, slow and very dull life and move on. Best way I can compare it is to the US Government. It took months for any progress! Antiquated Systems and so much red tape and approval process in order to get anything done.... Yet with every passing quarter or month the company continues to get bigger. You have no voice, yet you have your job that pays well and can support your family. All the employees use the analogy "I too drank the cool aide" After the aquisition of Starwood the company now hows 30 brands of hotels consisting of more than 5 thousand hotels all across the globe! I think they are more than 50% larger than the next closest competitor such as IHG, Hilton, Hyatt etc. Every week there were mass company emails welcoming i another VP over this department which you may have never heard of. A lot of speakers would come in and talk and yet you were not quite sure why they were there or what the point of the meeting was. So to the point: Pros: Comfortable and Safe and you can hide in the shadows. Great work Life Balance

    Show More

    Cons

    You can read my description in the pros. Cons: Brutally slow for change, difficult to make an impact, not very colorful or exciting. Cannot talk to anyone if have an issue. Pointed to an outsourced support company to open another ticket. Very difficult to make an impact or feel valued.

    Advice to Management

    Recognize the global size of the organization and break it up to smaller segments where change can occur. Give employees the opportunity to enact change and not feel like we are on a huge ship just flowing in the Ocean, with no direction, but plenty of supplies to last a lifetime.

    Marriott International2019-11-06
  4. "Great Culture, Good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shared Services Market IT Manager in Bethesda, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marriott International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Large company where you can aim to do anything anywhere and lots of potential and opportunity for growth in different cities. Decent Health care options. 8 weeks paternity leave. Room discounts. PTO and Holidays in comparison to the rest of the hotel. Work life balance is okay if you manage your properties correctly. Lots of good people you work with that become like family. Lots of new roles and good career... path and structure to move up. Associates are often celebrated in the company with small parties and perks.

    Show More

    Cons

    Underpaid based on market value. 50 hour work weeks expected. People are scared to record their actual time when it comes to overtime because projects take more time than allotted weekly at most properties. 401k match is vague based on company performance.

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent about large scale changes.

    Marriott International2019-10-24
  5. "Great company, poorly paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Administrative Assistant in Medford, MA

    I have been working at Marriott International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance, good company culture, good coworkers

    Cons

    Poorly paid, underappreciated, state minimum PTO

    Marriott International2019-11-04
  6. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Bridgeport, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marriott International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexibility of hours work life balance

    Cons

    low pay for sales executives

    Marriott International2019-09-28
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Office Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marriott International full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Company benefits Opportunities for Development if desired

    Cons

    Work-life balance can be difficult, but this is true of all Hospitality jobs

    Marriott International2019-09-09
  8. "no work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marriott International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good company discounts, lots of opportunities for growth and to make connections within the company. The company has implemented a work from home program for events which is nice, but you can only use if you achieve your customer satisfaction goals.

    Cons

    No work life balance valued within the company. In all 3 hotels I've worked in you almost feel shame for taking your vacation days or not working 12 hour days. People are recognized for emplyee of the month, etc. for picking up extra shifts, working long hours, etc. but not generally for the quality of the work they do, positive attitude, etc. As the business mix changes and more 3rd party planners come into the... mix, volume is increasing, etc. the staff models need to change to accommodate the business mix, all of the system updates and changes that need to be managed.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take a serious look at staffing models, give general managers more flexibility with those to manipulate based on business mix changes and business volume vs just hotel size. Value employees that are efficient and have good outlooks. Value employees that can execute and manage well above "selling" the dream or themselves. If there is a way to change the hiring process and make it more operationally driven and focused... on hiring managers who can execute I think that would be good. Also, a lot of managers want people who are experienced within their specific discipline, so I think putting more of a focus on crosstraining managers that want to move from one discipline to another (ex: event mgmt to sales) is important and crucial to creating a stronger management team. I've been operations, and events, and I know how valuable that experience would be in being a good sales manager, but I've found it hard to make that transition. I've found the company would rather hire someone that has a sales background from an outside company rather than training someone who is familiar with their company and operations in the sales processes.

    Show More
    Marriott International2019-09-20
  9. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Restaurant Manager in Orlando, FL

    I worked at Marriott International full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Room to grow with the company.

    Cons

    work life balance/open 365 days a year.

    Marriott International2019-08-22
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Accountant in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marriott International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company to get promoted quickly Promotes from within Great hotel discount Good 401k

    Cons

    Depending on the department there is no work life balance Poor communication no matter what department

    Marriott International2019-08-22
Found 386 reviews