Marriott Vacations Worldwide Reviews

Updated May 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
68%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Marriott Vacations Worldwide President Steve Weisz
Steve Weisz
366 Ratings
Pros
  • "Competitive pay and great benefits(in 63 reviews)

  • "Great company that takes care of associates and makes you feel like family(in 50 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours, under appreciated, boo(in 14 reviews)

  • "Upper management is more involved in middle management than they need to be and a lot of roles are taken advantage of here(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Marriott Vacations Worldwide and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great company

      Apr 23, 2021 - Front Office Manager in Miami, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very happy here to be working here

      Cons

      Pay is not that great

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      solid Job

      May 12, 2021 - Front Desk Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast paced work environment, never really slow

      Cons

      Always busy, never any down time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Poorly organized

      May 12, 2021 - Operations Supervisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is a beautiful facility

      Cons

      Their “fresh” food is frozen and processed, they provide little to no training. Every bartender makes drinks differently and every cook makes the food differently. They do no set clear expectations or proper support when you first start. My manager was very vocal about getting rid of 2 of our disabled employees and insisted they were lazy, and gave me verbal warnings when I performed parts of their jobs that they were not comfortable with so I could reasonably accommodate their disabilities. She demanded that I stop so that she could write them up for not completing tasks and lay the paperwork to fire them.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Depressing as it gets

      Feb 17, 2021 - Marketing in Newport Beach, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The discount is nice if you use it and IF you travel off season. The location is gorgeous IF you take a minute to look. A lot of the non management are very down to earth , fun people. Pay can be decent at times (still always less than what we deserve for slinging timeshare this day and age )

      Cons

      Specifically the Newport Coast Villas call center environment. The managers there are some of the most toxic people you will ever meet. Covid did not help an already sinking ship (laid off 75% of the team) If you choose to work here plan to be micro managed, harassed, bullied, threatened, lied to all in a days work. They say whatever they say to you but will just change it a few weeks later. The comp plan , your schedule , the gift options , which territory you call for , what your job even is ALL changes at the drop of a hat based on your relationship with the managers that week . It’s depressing how very little they care about their team and it begins to wear. The entire team is absolutely miserable , chain smokers who rely on bong rips in the car and coke bumps to make it through the day . This place could be so much more than it is and that’s why it’s so sad what it became. Half the team has pursued HR action because of the unfair lead distribution week after week. Good luck!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marriott Vacations Worldwide Response

      Global Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for your feedback. It's good to see you enjoyed the travel discounts and beautiful locations as well as our amazing associates and competitive compensation. We are sorry the rest of your experience did not align with our caring, supportive culture. We take these issues seriously and would like to hear more about your experience so we can try to address these issues. If you're comfortable sharing more about your experience, please email us at AssociateServiceCenter@mvwc.com.

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Overall Great!

      May 10, 2021 - Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent travel benefits, flexible schedule, great people

      Cons

      Low pay and outdated technology

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great job for when you need money and benefits

      Mar 4, 2021 - Vacation Ownership Specialist in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Got paid $14 an hour and got to work from home. Lower management appeared understanding of the employees plight and general verbal abuse we received from customers when the system screwed the customers over Lower management tends to recognize you for good deeds Free snacks Lower management in general is pretty understanding and full of decent people.

      Cons

      Systems break constantly, not just for employees, the entire website for the customers. Have to deal with the fallout of owners getting swindled by salesmen Have to deal with the fallout of owners getting double charged, the system preventing them from making a payment, and the general employee vs owner culture. Inept IT and website teams using inept systems that make employee and customers lives way more difficult than need be. Downsizing of critical teams without an attempt to retain new hires other than providing office activities to distract csr and chat employees from the fact they are the punching bag for customers upset at the scammy nature of timeshares. Upper management is completely dethatched from the reality of their call center employees

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marriott Vacations Worldwide Response

      Global Talent Acquisition

      Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are glad to see you enjoyed the pay and ability to work from home. It's great to see your direct management was supportive, understanding, and helpful to you. Your feedback about our systems and customer issues is helpful. We will share this feedback with the team. If you'd like to share more, please email us at AssociateServiceCenter@mvwc.com. Thank you again!

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Marriott Vacation Club Property Postions

      May 9, 2021 - Front Desk Agent 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Paid vacation, health insurance options, stable company

      Cons

      No raises based on performance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Abusive, discriminating mgmt and coworkers

      Apr 17, 2021 - Activities in Doral, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      there is nothing positive about them

      Cons

      Awful work conditions, mgmt has their favorites, coworker jealousy, abusive practices, dishonesty, discriminating mgmt (which I wrote about in my resignation letter and no one ever cared about this, no one even reached out to investigate this). They do not support or appreciate solid work ethics, academic education or dedication. Their front desk and office staff (except for one kind lady there) does not like anyone who has more education, professionalism or poise than they do. Very hostile environment. The two male top managers have favorites, who get anything they want. It is horrible.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marriott Vacations Worldwide Response

      Global Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your experience did not align with our company culture. We take our associate wellbeing seriously and encourage you to contact us at AssociateServiceCenter@mvwc.com to discuss further. Thank you again for your feedback.

    9. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Great benefits and earning potential

      May 11, 2021 - Sales Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great hours and mostly a great atmosphere and easy hours

      Cons

      Hard to get started and lots of favoritism

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      No Life Balance Culture

      Apr 25, 2021 - Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits medical dental hotel stays

      Cons

      No Life Balance Culture starting from the top. Upper management flaunts their ability to have weekends off and vacation any time. Sales and management team must stay til all hours of the night if there is even the slightest chance of a sale. Regardless of team commuting time some of which are almost 2 hours, top management will make you stay til 10pm and then return the next day at 7:30am! Even though they leave at 5pm!?

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 740 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Marriott Vacations Worldwide Job Seekers

    Sales Executive
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Sr Director, Human Resources
    Learn About the Job
    In House Marketing Executive
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Marriott Vacations Worldwide? Share Your Experiences

    or