Marsh McLennan Certificate Specialist Reviews

Updated Mar 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
95%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Marsh McLennan CEO Daniel S. Glaser
Daniel S. Glaser
1 Rating

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Marsh McLennan and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Monotonous Job

    Dec 17, 2020 - Certificate Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Managers were kind and all seemed to try their hardest to help their employees.

    Cons

    Pay was very low, and I wish we were given more responsibilities.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    A good gig for a while

    Oct 20, 2020 - Certificate Specialist II in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It was a professional setting with a clean office. Management was pretty good for the most part, and there was plenty of training available to be successful in your field.

    Cons

    They could have paid better and provided better benefits.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Not bad

    Sep 29, 2020 - Certificate Specialist in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    benefits, vaca time, sick time, flexible work life balance, and looks good on a resume

    Cons

    You won't become rich with this job

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    BORING

    Feb 26, 2017 - Certificate Specialist in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great hours. ok pay. Ok location. Great cafe. People seemed nice there. Bathrooms were nice. You get to dress casual.

    Cons

    Too quiet. Too boring. I didn't last long. I needed speed and momentum. The training class was a joke. I fell asleep countless times. Power point training ALL day on a projector screen. Need more hands on. They expect you to take a test after two weeks in a classroom of nothing but ridiculous PowerPoints and expect to know everything and how to do everything by then and if you don't pass you apparently get let go. Have someone more motivating for training classrooms at least to keep everyone awake. The quietness of the place is what got me. I like noise. I like movement. Fast pace. I was depressed seeing everyone boxed in cubicles all day looking miserable. Per the other reviews I'm glad I did not stay long as apparently it is difficult to move up the ladder work wise. If you like quiet and sitting at a desk all day this job is perfect for you.

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Ok job if you don't mind doing the same exact thing everyday

    Aug 9, 2013 - Certificate Specialist in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits, 401k, easy job, quarterly bonus if you meet your numbers. If you like a routine schedule and don't mind doing the same thing every day with little change, then this is the job for you.

    Cons

    Monotonous, not very exciting. There is opportunity to advance to team lead and supervisor positions and to other departments within the Austin area but if you want to move into broker positions or other avenues of insurance you'll have to be willing to move.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Temporary

    Feb 13, 2012 - Certificate Specialist in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Good benefits/paid time off/good management in our office - Work closely with a fun team - Easy way to gain office experience - Gain specific software experience

    Cons

    - Virtually no way to move up unless a supervisor leaves - Expected to understand insurance without every being trained about insurance itself - People with higher positions than us don't know how to do our job - proof they don't promote from within - Extremely high turnover. There are new employees all the time and current employees leave just as often - Paid next to nothing

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    This place will suck your soul out.

    Nov 9, 2013 - Certificate Specialist in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some of the brokers were very helpful and I did learn a fair bit. Benefits were decent, vacation time was plentiful.

    Cons

    It was impossible to get a day off. My supervisor was unwilling to let me get one morning off to buy a house, but took two weeks off to go to Europe after half of our team quit. Often, he would swing by my desk before he left on for the weekend and pressure me to work weekends (just like the manager in "Office Space"). Training is terrible, and because the workload is so heavy new employees are given trial by fire. No one is happy at Marsh in Austin, and the work environment is miserable.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Certificate Specialist at Marsh McLennan in Austin, TX

    May 27, 2013 - Certificate Specialist in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Marsh McLennan was very welcoming when I started. I was excited to get benefits after 30 days. The people were nice and the Austin office is cool.

    Cons

    After 2 weeks of in class training, they give a test. I scored very close to the passing grade but they let me go. No wonder they are always looking for people. High turnover is what I gathered when I was working there. The pay is not good at all for the amount of stress.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good "in-between jobs" job, but not much else.

    Oct 1, 2014 - Certificate Specialist I in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. If you come from a background with little to no experience in a professional setting, this job is a great way to adapt yourself to a high profile business environment and it's an easy way to pad your resume with proven experience. 2. Benefits and perks are (slightly) better than other entry-level positions 3. Once you learn everything, this job is mostly exaggerated data entry. If you want something relatively stress-free and mindless to do while you catch up on podcasts, this isn't a bad way to kill a work week. 4. Most of the people I work with are great and everyone here is nice 5. All promotions are done internally and there are opportunities for advancement pretty often

    Cons

    1. The benefits are good, but the pay sucks. The pay structure might have been good 10 years ago when they set it up, but it's not good enough now especially when other entry level jobs in the same industry are paying more. There are bonuses in place for people who meet certain metrics each quarter, but they're not great, they're dependent on a broken system, and they take advantage of employees (putting in the work of 2-3 people should net you more than $200, guys). 2. The training process is a four week intensive program that a lot of people fail and most drop out of. That's not to say that it's difficult, but this job appeals to very few people who are intelligent and patient enough to stick with it. If you're actually self-aware and professionally focused enough to read this review before you apply to this company then you're smart enough to get this job and get through the training. Regardless, it's discouraging to work for a company that brings in relatively few people who want to stick around, and even more discouraging that the people who do stick around are sometimes (kind of) a mess. 3. On the corporate structure, our company is at the bottom. This means that any changes (like a department-wide pay increase or an upgrade to a glitchy, broken program **ten years out of date**) have to be approved by a corporate office that doesn't fully understand what we do or cares. The turnover rate for other departments outside of ours is pretty high so proving yourself to a higher-up and building a relationship can be pointless when they're gone a month later and they're replaced with a new person who just sees you as another faceless schmuck. Constantly having to define your role in this company over and over again even after you've proven your worth ten times over is incredibly demoralizing and defeating.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Decent Job

    Mar 26, 2018 - Certificate Specialist in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent job to get your foot in the door - decent benefits - friendly coworkers - casual dress code - work hours - connections built within the company & clients serviced

    Cons

    Boring and always quiet - no room for advancement must leave the city and/or state - computer equipment below standards and old - technology lacking - management - no incentives - no bonuses - living paycheck to paycheck - pay structure does not work for modern day maybe years back

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Marsh McLennan Response

    CHRO

    Many of our colleagues actually find it a plus that the company offers the chance to move within the firm and across our businesses. We generally replace computers every 2 - 3 years and pay bonuses at many levels.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

Popular Careers with Marsh McLennan Job Seekers

TRAC Associate
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Marsh McLennan? Share Your Experiences

or