Marsh Reviews

Updated May 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
74%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Marsh CEO John Doyle
John Doyle
127 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Good company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Specialist in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marsh full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team and very good job specific training . Everyone is extremely helpful in the company

    Cons

    Would be good to have a team to do automation

    Continue reading
    Marsh2019-12-01
  2. "Good PLace to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President Senior Business Leader in Youngstown, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marsh full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work for this company

    Cons

    Work Life balance should be improved

    Continue reading
    Marsh2020-04-28
  3. "Great firm and solid management"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marsh full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Talent rich, client focused, high performing culture

    Cons

    Not much to complain about

    Continue reading
    Marsh2020-05-30
  4. "Good Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lot of opportunities to grow

    Cons

    Pay is not as high as it should be

    Continue reading
    Marsh2020-05-28
  5. "Boring"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Marsh part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy but boring as ever unfortunately

    Cons

    No room for advancement I can think of

    Continue reading
    Marsh2020-05-14
  6. "Great Place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant in Urbandale, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and great benefits

    Cons

    Can be hard work and time consuming

    Marsh2020-05-05
  7. "Private Client PCS Review"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Advisor 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marsh full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits but typical for a company of this size. Nice location if you commute from suburbs of Chicago

    Cons

    The absolute worst job I’ve ever had. Expect 1 percent raises regardless of performance. Many people outside of my department also confirmed a 1% raise as the norm so you MUST negotiate your salary when presented an offer. It’s a stop watch culture where both your manager and older employees watch how long you are literally away from your desk. If you exceed your allotted 30 minute lunch someone reprimands you for it. There is extreme turnover (only two left out of 7 from when I started & 4 in one year alone), and no one outside of the sales team is ever promoted. There is absolutely no room for advancement and management couldn’t care less about their servicing staff. The clients are always angry because their advisor leaves every 3 years and you’re left managing several books of business from departed colleagues fleeing this disaster. Even with the unrealistic workload from being short staffed management is constantly harassing you to meet your goals and drive more revenue. It’s the most exhausting, negative, stale, dusty culture imaginable. If you must work here then put in a couple of years for your resume and get out ASAP before this place drags you down.

    Continue reading
    Marsh2020-05-28
  8. "Top Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President Senior Business Leader in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marsh full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great client base, very deep bench in terms of expertise, excellent benefits

    Cons

    Little turnover so advancement is limited

    Continue reading
    Marsh2020-04-16
  9. "Wrong Directon"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Executive in Chicago, IL
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marsh full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues, unfortunately some are leaving.

    Cons

    The move to hire inexperienced loss control reps that only carry a degree-void of any practical experience is noticeable to our clients.

    Continue reading
    Marsh2020-05-22
  10. "A great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Since the day I’ve started, everyone had offended their assistance in one way or the other. Management is fantastic - I’ve never had manager like I do now that is truly genuine, caring, and you’re not scared to talk to him when something comes “up”. The company is growing and there is so much to learn and do, and Marsh WANTS you to grow! They help pay for education tuition and also ask you to make a plan to help get you to where YOU want to be in 5 years. It’s awesome. They’re awesome!

    Cons

    Nothing is perfect and of course sometimes you’ll find some people just don’t get along. But you have to ignore those types of things if you yourself want to grow.

    Continue reading
    Marsh2020-04-11
Found 696 reviews