Marsh & McLennan Agency Reviews

Updated May 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Marsh & McLennan Agency Chairman and CEO  David Eslick
David Eslick
17 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Simply the Best"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Account Manager in Greensboro, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Agency full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Impeccable Culture; Cutting Edge Technology; Avid Supporter of Education and Development; First-Class Benefits/Salary Package

    Cons

    Zero Cons come to Mind for Marsh & McLennan Agency

    Continue reading
    Marsh & McLennan Agency2020-04-20
  2. "Work from home balance"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Agency full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    2 days work from home. More than enough vacation days. Plenty of resources to do your job well.

    Cons

    Tumultuous leadership changes don't seem to be well thought out.

    Continue reading
    Marsh & McLennan Agency2020-04-28
  3. "Best place to learn and grow in the insurance brokerage industry"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Producer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Agency full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic culture, great growth opportunities and leadership involvement & support

    Cons

    It is not a true con, but fast paced work environment

    Marsh & McLennan Agency2020-03-10
  4. "Great culture and benefits"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Agency full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, bonuses, office location, management, PTO

    Cons

    Workload, wages, and required programming.. nothing too bad at all

    Marsh & McLennan Agency2020-02-26
  5. "Dependent on culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Administrator in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Agency full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They work really hard to cultivate a great culture. They support designations which is great if you have the time. They encourage growth. They are very flexible with scheduling which is great.

    Cons

    They encourage promotion but not with regards to pay. Going from one position to the next comes with a greater responsibility but a joke of a pay raise.

    Marsh & McLennan Agency2020-02-21
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Slow to change"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Manager in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Agency full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - work from home one day a week (if manager approves) - lots of free food YUM - new office - completely renovated - most of the people are really pleasant and great friends - wants to improve culture and is trying

    Cons

    - everything depends on your manager, if you have a manager that has high turnover, which is most open positions, you will probably have a bad time - slow to change, there is a lack of adaption to a newer generation, they are trying but it takes forever to get anything approved - slow to promote, takes about 2-3 years to get promotes with minimal pay increases - low pay for the amount of work you have - lack of training - lack of consistency between departments - very old school, work your way up and get treated poorly until you can work your way up 10 years later - culture lacks transparency - It doesn't matter how many times you go to HR, they aren't there for you. They are there to protect the company and those that are mistreating employees - pays low and unequally ( This did not affect me, however, it did affect my colleagues) - harassment can happen, document everything. This happened to not only me, but also multiple employees in similar roles. Seems like the "bottom line" is not appreciated

    Continue reading
    Marsh & McLennan Agency2019-12-18
  7. "great place, not sure of direction"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Somerset, NJ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Agency full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    opportunity to maneuver around the organization, plenty of resources

    Cons

    salaries tend to be lower than competitors, leadership is not approachable

    Continue reading
    Marsh & McLennan Agency2019-10-25
  8. "Not a bad agency to work for. One work from home day. Good people. Pay could be better."

    4.0
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Agency

    Pros

    PTO Work from home day Good head of office

    Cons

    Not that much room for growth due to nature of the business

    Continue reading
    Marsh & McLennan Agency2019-10-09
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Raleigh NC Leadership Poor"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Agency full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Clients - the Beach Trip

    Cons

    The lack of authenticity is unparalleled in the Raleigh, NC office. No or untruthful communication. Outright untruths from leadership, HR does NOT support the employees, driven by dollars not good work for clients. Leadership plays favorites unashamedly. Good workers are not recognized while favorites are promoted without earning it. Oppressive and unhealthy at best.

    Continue reading
    Marsh & McLennan Agency2019-10-21

    Marsh & McLennan Agency Response

    October 29, 2019SVP, HR

    Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We take pride in our efforts to develop a culture where great work is recognized, where colleagues feel appreciated, and where teams do their best work for clients every day. We work hard to create opportunities for learning, feedback and career growth. I hope that while you were part of the Marsh & McLennan Agency family you had an opportunity to discuss your concerns with the local leadership team as well as with Human Resources.

  10. "Associate Broker - long ramp up long term rewards"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Broker in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Agency full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great flexibility in work life balance. Unlimited PTO. Unlimited growth potential ($$) if you commit to sales. Work as a local insurance agency but with global resources.

    Cons

    Long time to get started. Everyone agrees that it’s at least 2 or 3 years before it really starts taking off. Technology not great

    Continue reading
    Marsh & McLennan Agency2019-09-04

    Marsh & McLennan Agency Response

    September 11, 2019SVP, HR

    Thank you for your feedback. I am thrilled that you're enjoying good work-life balance and recognize the growth opportunities ahead of you. As for technology - I hope you've heard about some of the exciting initiatives we're rolling out. If not, please be sure to ask your local leaders!

    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next
Viewing 1 - 10 of 80 Reviews