Marsh & McLennan Companies Client Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

Marsh & McLennan Companies Client Representative Reviews

Updated Sep 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Marsh & McLennan Companies CEO Daniel S. Glaser
Daniel S. Glaser
2 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They really take care of their employees and its a very organized relaxed work environment.

    Cons

    As a young person it may not be the corporate culture that you are looking for.

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2019-08-07
  2. "No issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Representative in New York, NY

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Solid company, relatively laid back environment. No issues, but each experience will vary based on the relationship with your manager.

    Cons

    Typical issues, de-centralized information coming from all over the place. Requires a lot of self study to understand the mechanics of the job.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on a core direction and a few things that you will be great at, instead of trying to be good at all things.

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2016-09-12
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Pad your resume and fill your pockets after college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Services Representative in Norwood, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A very basic job, simple interview process. A bunch of college buddies and myself applied here and were hired. It was an excellent stepping stone. A weekly paycheck, a large recognizable company. Great cafeteria.

    Cons

    Traffic is brutal, hours are long. Highschool culture: employees and management. its very easy to get trapped here but , I wouldn't suggest working here longer than six months

    Advice to Management

    treat employees like adults

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2015-11-12
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Former Employee of 17 yrs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Client Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Access to high profile Fortune 100 clients. Great co-workers with wide range of experience. Good benefits and paid time off is generous.

    Cons

    Outsourcing duties such as Accounts Payable to INDIA. Constant changes to software. Trying to produce an invoice and get it turned around within a day is almost impossible. Too much red tape! Below average raises for mid-tier employees. Communication from top to bottom is poor.

    Advice to Management

    Stop re-inventing systems Mdoc's etc...every 3-4 yrs. A new platfort/system will roll out but still has kinks that need to be fixed and little support to fix it in a timely fashion. Bring back jobs to the US so that when you do need to speak to someone in accounts payable that you can understand their English. Reward those employees that go above and beyond (more then a 3% raise!).

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2014-05-22
  5. "Client Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy going, exposer to different industries, good for people person

    Cons

    Can be boring at times. Unchallenging.

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2013-09-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to start out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Representative in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great experience and exposure to different things

    Cons

    long hours and not the best management structure in place

    Advice to Management

    career development and training paths needed

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2013-07-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Got out at the right time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Representative in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits were good. Lots of networking opportunities - I think it is still true that at the top levels we have some of the best minds in the business.

    Cons

    Constant restructuring. Communication between levels not always transparent. Very little thought given to providing any sort of work/life balance to employees. 24/7 expected. Even in 2013, with smartphones and a paperless environment, they require you to live in a major city in order to have any advancement opportunities. Smart people live in places other than Manhattan.

    Advice to Management

    Stop applying the one size fits all approach across industries and geographies.

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2013-07-18
  8. "A pretty nice place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    flexible, good management, Minneapolis folks are nice, senior management made a lot of change lately and company is doing better.

    Cons

    too many Client Execs doing nothing and not enough worker bees.

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2012-10-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Overall it is satisfactory carreer advancement is limited if you in a certain position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Client Representative in Chicago, IL
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies

    Pros

    Great benefit package, great resources available, hours are from 8:30am to 5:30pm, largest risk management broker in the world.

    Cons

    Performance Reviews are biased, compensation needs to be raised for certain position, career limitations, more training needs to be provided in general to avoid large E&O's.

    Advice to Management

    Compensate employees fairly and accordingly compared to competition.

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2012-01-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Overall good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Client Representative I in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies

    Pros

    You have access to lots of thought around best practices and technical information. As a data junkie I enjoy this most in working for Marsh. We have experts in lots of subject areas and have the best resources to offer clients. People work hard and I haven't encountered the ethical problems or political b.s. I've seen in other workplaces (the NY situation was in no way indicative of the overall culture).

    Cons

    Cumbersome time-consuming procedures that predate transparency, remote management (NY can't help but be out of touch with local needs), no agency management system and lots of wholesale changes of systems with no conversion of data or thought of how much time the new procedure/system will take. The training is catch as catch can unless you're a new college grad but a mentoring program is being put into place. When... people leave they are never replaced in a timely manner.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Why are we always reinventing the wheel? We're almost over informed the constant changes in personnel and meeting announcing yet more changes are disheartening after while. If more thought about the impact of changes on the ground was made (see downsides regarding data conversion and staffing) they might be more heartily embraced instead of us stalling implementation until the next inevitable sea change - this is... unique to Marsh in my experience.

    Show More
    Marsh & McLennan Companies2008-09-07
Found 16 reviews