Marsh & McLennan Companies Reviews | Glassdoor

Marsh & McLennan Companies Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 820 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Marsh & McLennan Companies CEO Daniel S. Glaser
Daniel S. Glaser
208 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Senior Client Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Client Advisor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The Marsh brand is a big name in insurance and carries a lot of weight with clients, carriers, and others in the industry. There are lots of resources available to you if you know where to find them. You will have access to many talented and experienced colleagues.

    Cons

    Change comes slowly in a large organization like this. There is little thought given to the size or makeup of the book assigned to you. Work/life balance issues. Management ranges from excellent to incompetent (and everything in between).

    Advice to Management

    Your greatest assets are the Marsh name and your employees.

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2019-05-09
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pune

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working hours, management, carrer appotunity

    Cons

    No such cons For thid company

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2019-10-13
  3. "Senior test analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time

    Pros

    People centric like free transport, lot of parties and better hike

    Cons

    No learnings and no professional growth . Waterfall methodology followed

    Advice to Management

    None

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2019-10-11
  4. "Business and People Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Relationship Manager in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strong global branding and resources

    Cons

    Changes to business leaders every 2-3 years with no succession planning. No transparency in business decisions and poor employee communication on key changes to people, structure and business.

    Advice to Management

    Need to show commitment and obtain feedback from employees. The organisation has weak and inexperienced business leaders who will not take the business to the next level. Experienced managers are beginning or thinking of leaving the organisation in next 12 months. Too many expat leaders with short-term goals, leaving locals with inconsistencies in direction and structure

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2019-10-10
  5. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Reasonable salary Career progression Flexible working

    Cons

    Very bureaucratic and difficult to get issues sorted.

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2019-10-07
  6. "No promotions, no raises. Ever."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Resiliency Analyst in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very inclusive. Very gay friendly.

    Cons

    Raises don't keep pace with inflation, and they don't believe in promoting their own. Your career will die of neglect here.

    Advice to Management

    Every quarter you keep telling us how amazing the company is doing, and how we're making record profits, and every year you give us a measly raise that doesn't keep pace with inflation, especially in New York City. The longer workers stay at this company the poorer they become.

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2019-10-05

    Marsh & McLennan Companies Response

    October 13, 2019Employee Engagement Manager

    Thank you for your feedback; we’re sorry to hear that you’ve had a bad experience at Marsh & McLennan. We’re a people business and retaining the best colleagues is essential to what we do. Your compensation comes in many forms, including ways to take care of your health, grow in your career and build financial security. We encourage you to reach out to your HR business partner with any questions or concerns.

    Show Less
  7. "good culture, not stessful, best job to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Actuarial Analyst in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    time to study for actuarial exams

    Cons

    monotonous work, commute, work management

    Advice to Management

    to be more professional

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2019-10-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Every Day Could Be Your Last"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Participant Services Representative in Norwood, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Average medical benefits, work would not follow you home at the end of the day.

    Cons

    I worked here for three years, started as a temp to perm, with promises of career opportunity. This has been one of the worst companies across the board I have ever worked for. The culture /environment was at such a level of extreme micromanagement and beaurocracy , that it was drilled into your head every day that one mistake or bad call could be your last. I never felt any sense of job security despite getting... "promotions" with no extra pay. You were given 45 minutes (and not a second over) off the phones for lunch and bathroom breaks. If you ever went over, you would get a write up. Management would scare you with vague and undefined "write ups and errors" with changing criteria every day to the point where you would no longer know up from down or how to do your job correctly. You never knew how to do your job any given day. A coworker that had used all of their sick days and "break time" for the day was forced to come in while sick. While asking management what they should do to not get written up if they were feeling sick, they found them a bucket "just in case". The people that work there are friendly, but they all know how bad it is to work there, and are finding their way out. I was told other than unattainable incentives, I would never see a raise there after three years. I left on my own terms.

    Show More
    Marsh & McLennan Companies2019-10-03
  9. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time

    Pros

    Good culture, many opportunities, open leadership

    Cons

    Senior management can get disassociated due to feasible and non-feasible targets

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2019-10-02
  10. "IT Solutions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time

    Pros

    Good Infrastructure, Friendly environment, Lot of opportunities

    Cons

    Lack of transparency some times

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2019-10-02
Found 820 reviews