Marsh & McLennan Companies Reviews

Updated May 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
67%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Marsh & McLennan Companies CEO Daniel S. Glaser
Daniel S. Glaser
244 Ratings
  1. "Slow to change"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Manager in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - work from home one day a week (if manager approves) - lots of free food YUM - new office - completely renovated - most of the people are really pleasant and great friends - wants to improve culture and is trying

    Cons

    - everything depends on your manager, if you have a manager that has high turnover, which are most open positions, you will probably have a bad time - slow to change, there is a lack of adaption to a newer generation, they are trying but it takes forever to get anything approved - slow to promote, takes about 2-3 years to get promotes with minimal pay increases - low pay for the amount of work you have - lack of training - lack of consistency between departments - very old school, work your way up and get treated poorly until you can work your way up 10 years later - culture lacks transparency

    Continue reading
    Marsh & McLennan Companies2019-12-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Some really talented people, just not management."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President Operations in North Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Name recognition, good colleagues and mentors if you know who to align yourself with.

    Cons

    Poor management and high turnover. Lack of raises and managers who talk the talk, but not much else.

    Continue reading
    Marsh & McLennan Companies2019-12-17
  3. "MMC Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    MMC is a great place to work. Leadership team is very innovative and inspirational. They have a very clear vision of where they would like to see the company in next 3 years. Due to its very diverse culture, fresh ideas are always welcome.

    Cons

    Health Benefits could be better

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2019-11-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Nice People"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director In Corporate Center in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Senior management are accessible and approachable - Co-workers easy to work with - Friendly and nice culture, relaxed, with work/life balance

    Cons

    - Scores of good people I worked with were regularly let go in the MMC Corporate Center, mostly due to tight budgets, falsely cloaked as a "reduction in force" or the "position was eliminated" (when it was not) - Work environment gets stale because there is no investment in new programs, even inexpensive ones - There is no COO (the position doesn't exist) to drive excellence or set expectations for people to deliver; lots of people supporting you are nice but unmotivated

    Continue reading
    Marsh & McLennan Companies2019-11-17
  5. "Great Job!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clerical Assistant in San Antonio, TX

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Communication during the interviewing process constant, training is adequate for a job position

    Cons

    Technology is lagging but is advancing

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2019-11-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "good by name but horrible culture"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Senior Analyst in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    stability and a solid structure. solid middle management

    Cons

    poor salary increases, poor senior management, bad culture still ran with the 80s good ol boys mentality. hard to impossible to grow and they don't promote within. by far the worst health benefits i have ever had in my career, no perks at all.

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2019-11-29

    Marsh & McLennan Companies Response

    December 9, 2019Employee Engagement Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your candid feedback; we’re sorry to hear about your experience at Marsh & McLennan as we strive to create a culture where all employees feel valued at work. We’re a people business, so we know that retaining and developing our colleagues is essential to what we do. Your compensation comes in many forms, including ways to take care of your health, take the next step in your career and build financial security. We encourage you to reach out to your HR business partner with any questions or concerns.

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies

    Pros

    Nice office staff. Amazing manager. Very little stress. Always events or things to do for fun. Peaceful and quiet environment.

    Cons

    - I wanted to get rehired but was told I am not eligible. I gave my proper notice but had to leave a week earlier because my new job wanted me immediately. I thought Texas was an “at-will” state. I resigned properly and had a good record. Wish I could come back. - Some of the people on the floor could be unfriendly and cold. Not a job for extroverts.

    Continue reading
    Marsh & McLennan Companies2019-10-27
  8. "Prestigious firm with global reach."

    4.0
     

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies

    Pros

    Remote work options. Opportunity to learn.

    Cons

    Employees are sometimes overstretched due to resources.

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2019-10-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place to Work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Associate in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of room for advancement Stable

    Cons

    Slow paced, Boring, Repetitive tasks

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2019-10-16
  10. "Too Big"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are really really good

    Cons

    Too big unproductive meetings about nothing

    Continue reading
    Marsh & McLennan Companies2019-11-16
Found 841 reviews