Marsh & McLennan Companies Senior Vice President Reviews | Glassdoor

Marsh & McLennan Companies Senior Vice President Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
6%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Marsh & McLennan Companies CEO Daniel S. Glaser
Daniel S. Glaser
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Incredible advancement opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Vice President Marketing in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great culture for identifying and advancing talented individuals. Bonus and incentive packages, included continuing education and the possibility for some tele-commuting.

    Cons

    Travel exceeded 50% and no recognition of hours needed to get to appointments. Chicago seemed very much a satellite office and everything was driven by New York.

    Advice to Management

    I was there during a time of extreme workforce reductions which was upsetting to staff but hardly acknowledge by management b

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2016-03-05

    Marsh & McLennan Companies Response

    March 9, 2016CHRO

    Thanks for your feedback. Workforce reductions take a terrible toll on those who leave, those who stay, the families of our colleagues and on clients. Sounds like we need to do a better job communicating and supporting our colleagues who remain. You have my commitment to do better ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (5)

    "A Company Without a Soul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Vice President in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good company to have on your resume. Also good to lend perspective to future employment. There are few places to work that are worse than Marsh.

    Cons

    Marsh is an expense focused company. They are unable to grow the top line at a reasonable rate so instead focus on controlling cost. Employee travel and expenses are so severely discouraged that it is difficult to gain a well rounded employee experience. As a broker you will not have the time or money to form a good client bond. As a marketer you will likewise be discouraged from creating a relationship with... carrier personnel. Raises are nonexistent among the rank and file, further evidence that the company is run solely for slow-growth margin. There is little pride in being associated with Marsh. Unfortunately, that part of J&H did not survive the transition.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Wake up.

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2018-03-09
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Worked for Mercer Administration for 41 years before retiring in 2014. Worked under 5 company names during my tenure."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Vice-President in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good broker, good people. Employee benefits were among the best in the industry. Good business training provided a good environment for learning

    Cons

    Became to "corporate" and has been cutting benefits for employees lately. Does not care about their employees, too bad they are losing a lot of talented people.

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2016-11-17
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Morale taking a nose dive, no one seems to care."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time

    Pros

    Sharp Colleagues Great Clients Resource specialists Unique and engaging projects

    Cons

    Work life balance is a joke - consultants often on road 75% of time Lots of quality staff leaving Dated technology Arrogant senior leadership Poor or zero raises past 6 years Last year have seen a palpable shift from management whereby share price outweighs employee morale/satisfaction/burnout

    Advice to Management

    You are overlooking the contributions of your client facing staff for the sake of analytics.

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2014-12-30
  5. "Good company with good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Work culture in the office

    Cons

    bonus is less than I would expect

    Advice to Management

    no current advice to managment

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2014-01-03
  6. Helpful (6)

    "fear based culture of incompetence managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Vice President in Hoboken, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    zero expectations or account ability for mistakes, I never saw anyone penalized for making a mistake there, but people were continually criticized for doing their jobs

    Cons

    culture of fear and belittling, the angriest management team I've ever seen, much more interested in scoring points off of each other, than in contributing to the business

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2013-07-23
  7. "Marsh is a great place to take a long term view"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Vice President in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies

    Pros

    Resources and a solid group of colleagues who have held this firm together through some very tough times. The secrets of success here are honesty, hard work and keeping clients happy

    Cons

    Continuous reorganization and stress created by reorg actions and moves.

    Advice to Management

    Remember the people who have built and retained this company during the hard times. Too much "reward" has been bestowed upon the gladly departed and too little on those that have accepted no raises and other issues for the past four years. Recognize the ones who have made Marsh viable.

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2008-10-16
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Marsh & McLennan overloooking its Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Vice President in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies

    Pros

    Diversity of work and great colleagues. Marsh & McLennan truly has some of the brightest employees with brilliant capabilities and skill sets. In the day to day activities of work, these is rarely a time when I need some advise or a questions answered that somone doesn't have the answer for. It truly is THE BEST broker and truly offers its clients the broadest array of services and solutions. I am allowed much... flexibility in doing my job and, when needed, time off to attend to the needs of my family. Work is varied and challenging and fun! I do like working for the company.

    Show More

    Cons

    Poor communications relative to HR issues. Call this "constructive discontent! In the freedom mentioned above, many of us are left feeling like entrepreneurs - communications regarding performance reviews and salary increases are token - with a "big show" when done - and then little, if any discussion afterwards. Wouldn't you think a company as large as Marsh & McLennan would be able to do a better job at... communication with it's employees about an area VERY important to each and every one? I believe we "miss the ball" here in this area and could generate much better performance amonst our employees if the company would do a better job at maintaining effective and sustainable lines of communication.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I believe all people want to follow a leader that clearly articulates a vision and rallys the employees behind that vision. Many of my colleagues I've taked with feel a void in the meager ways that management communicates with it's employees. Marsh & McClennan doesn't focus enough on it's employees and focuses heavily on it's shareholders. Don't forget whe will get you that performance!!!

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2008-07-28
  9. "Career development lacking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Vice President 

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Reasonable line management and good clients

    Cons

    Lack of career development, no 'cost of living' pay rises

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2019-06-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of opportunities if you are a broker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - VP-Senior Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Large company, involved in a wide range of markets. For brokers, opportunities to work aboard. Trying to become more diverse, some areas more flexible than others on homeworking, compressed hours.

    Cons

    Some areas still managed with people with 'old school' broker' attitude. IT infrastructure antiquated for a company of this size. If you are not a broker, don't expect a big bonus/pay rise/salary. Long hours in some areas.

    Advice to Management

    Sort out the IT and get rid of the managers who do not follow the values and culture.

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2016-04-23
Found 14 reviews