Marsh & McLennan Companies Vice President Reviews | Glassdoor

Marsh & McLennan Companies Vice President Reviews

Updated Sep 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Marsh & McLennan Companies CEO Daniel S. Glaser
Daniel S. Glaser
11 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    People, Flexibility, Benefits, Work & Life Balance

    Cons

    Limited Opportunities to move up

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2018-05-02
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Love my Job, Terrible Compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people (for the most part), lots of divisions to work in, good benefits.

    Cons

    I've consistently received good reviews the last 5 years and each year they've refused to give me a raise "because the company didn't meet its budget". I haven't even received a standard of living increase .I'm basically making less than when I started, and I'm currently looking for a job after 7 years there. I'd hate to leave, but I know I"m underpaid. There's been a lot of turnover.

    Advice to Management

    Marsh needs to compensate it's employees fairly, period.

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2019-01-02
  3. Helpful (5)

    "A Company Without a Soul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Vice President in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good company to have on your resume. Also good to lend perspective to future employment. There are few places to work that are worse than Marsh.

    Cons

    Marsh is an expense focused company. They are unable to grow the top line at a reasonable rate so instead focus on controlling cost. Employee travel and expenses are so severely discouraged that it is difficult to gain a well rounded employee experience. As a broker you will not have the time or money to form a good client bond. As a marketer you will likewise be discouraged from creating a relationship with... carrier personnel. Raises are nonexistent among the rank and file, further evidence that the company is run solely for slow-growth margin. There is little pride in being associated with Marsh. Unfortunately, that part of J&H did not survive the transition.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Wake up.

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2018-03-09
  4. Helpful (10)

    "Vice President"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company has a good reputation

    Cons

    Employee growth and career development not a priority here.

    Advice to Management

    Company has become centralized to the point where local management has no authority. Allow management to manage their functional areas and monitor developments. Micromanaging of local offices by Home office undermines authority.

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2017-04-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful, collaborative work environment with great work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Competitive compensation - Team oriented vibe - Good benefits (health, retirement, etc.)

    Cons

    - Regional results valued less than national results

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2017-02-24
  6. Helpful (3)

    "On the Fence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good salary and good people.

    Cons

    MMC MGTI is very interested in doing more with less. Teams are are typically very lean and salaried workers are expected to be be on call 24/7.

    Advice to Management

    Your people are your best asset. Start treating them as such.

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2017-02-28
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Worked for Mercer Administration for 41 years before retiring in 2014. Worked under 5 company names during my tenure."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Vice-President in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good broker, good people. Employee benefits were among the best in the industry. Good business training provided a good environment for learning

    Cons

    Became to "corporate" and has been cutting benefits for employees lately. Does not care about their employees, too bad they are losing a lot of talented people.

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2016-11-17
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Incredible advancement opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Vice President Marketing in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great culture for identifying and advancing talented individuals. Bonus and incentive packages, included continuing education and the possibility for some tele-commuting.

    Cons

    Travel exceeded 50% and no recognition of hours needed to get to appointments. Chicago seemed very much a satellite office and everything was driven by New York.

    Advice to Management

    I was there during a time of extreme workforce reductions which was upsetting to staff but hardly acknowledge by management b

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2016-03-05

    Marsh & McLennan Companies Response

    March 9, 2016CHRO

    Thanks for your feedback. Workforce reductions take a terrible toll on those who leave, those who stay, the families of our colleagues and on clients. Sounds like we need to do a better job communicating and supporting our colleagues who remain. You have my commitment to do better ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (11)

    "IT leadership is corrupt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Vice President - Global Project Management in Hoboken, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies for more than a year

    Pros

    a regular paycheck is about all you can look forward to

    Cons

    Croneyism, no accountability at senior levels, mid/juniors are continuously scapegoated for management poor or lack of decisions. Seniors regularly steal credit for subordinates' work "Collateral Duties" is a catch-all phrase which, when decoded, means that you have to work long hours with no hope of recognition or compensation to mitigate senior managements' mistakes

    Advice to Management

    Replace the current leadership team with new blood and break up the old boys' network

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2015-12-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Vice President"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Vice President in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies

    Pros

    resources available to employees that help expand our product and industry knowledge

    Cons

    Sales organization with little emphasis on service

    Advice to Management

    retaining accounts versus obtaining new ones is usually more profitable; equalize sales and service to retain accounts rather than emphasis sales

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2015-06-30
Found 64 reviews