Marten Transport Reviews

Updated Feb 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
51%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Marten Transport Chairman, President, and CEO Randy Marten
Randy Marten
93 Ratings
Pros
  • "Paperwork is easy, good equipment well maintained(in 13 reviews)

  • "Very good pay, home a few nights with Sunday’s off(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Weekend dispatch, speed of trucks(in 20 reviews)

  • "That’s why I’m leaving the money and home time is not balance(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "Learning Opportunity"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate 

    I worked at Marten Transport part-time

    Pros

    Gain great experience at a national level

    Cons

    Can be thrown in without proper training

    Marten Transport Response

    February 1, 2021Recruiting

    Thanks for the review, we appreciate it!

  2. "Good place to work for the time being."

    4.0
    Current Employee - Truck Driver 

    I have been working at Marten Transport full-time

    Pros

    One pro you get a minimum guarantee

    Cons

    One con you gotta have 40 hours of driving time to get minimum guarantee.

    Marten Transport Response

    February 11, 2021Recruiting

    We appreciate the review!


  3. "Great Workplace"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fleet Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marten Transport full-time

    Pros

    fun work enviorment, job keeps you busy

    Cons

    none that i can think

    Marten Transport Response

    February 1, 2021Recruiting

    We are glad you enjoy working for Marten Transport!

  4. "Good company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Tucker, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marten Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    3 days off weekly. Payed time off.

    Cons

    There Is A Lack of training

    Marten Transport Response

    February 1, 2021Recruiting

    Thank you for the review, we greatly appreciate it!

  5. "New Employee"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Logistics Coordinator in Edwardsville, KS

    I have been working at Marten Transport full-time

    Pros

    good hours and good pay to start

    Cons

    requires that you work weekends

    Marten Transport Response

    January 25, 2021Recruiting

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We welcome you to the Marten team and hope you have a great experience with our company!

  6. "Lack of communication and they blame the driver for everything"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marten Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can’t think of anything STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY

    Cons

    DIRTY TRUCK NOT ALLOWED TO WASH UNLESS YOU PAY IT OUT OF UR POCKET

    Continue reading

    Marten Transport Response

    March 4, 2021Recruiting

    The communication between our staff and our drivers is key to being successful. We work very hard to make sure we do that efficiently and effectively with everyone. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry things did not work out in your situation.

  7. "Ok company but strick"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Class A Truck Driver in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marten Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Alots loads company takes care of you

    Cons

    Very strick if dont jump when say jump you don't get your min pay

    Continue reading

    Marten Transport Response

    January 25, 2021Recruiting

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. Our drivers are a huge priority to us here at Marten Transport.

  8. "New Equipment - dedicated Walmart"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class A Truck Driver in Wintersville, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marten Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Steady loads, maintenance facility onsite

    Cons

    Very difficult to make more than minimum guarantee, Regional OTR - away from home unless you live near Wintersville/ Steubenville. They do keep their equipment in good mechanical condition along with Walmart trailers

    Marten Transport Response

    January 8, 2021Recruiting

    Thank you for the review. We pride ourselves in keeping our equipment in good condition. As for pay, it all depends on the account you are on and the experience that you have. Feel free to reach out to our recruiting department for any questions you may have at marten.recruiting@marten.com or 800-395-3331.

  9. "Great once..."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck Driver in Tucker, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marten Transport full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Office staff, new equipment, and???

    Cons

    Office staff and low quality drivers.

    Continue reading

    Marten Transport Response

    January 8, 2021Recruiting

    Thank you for the review. We would love to hear more about your experience with our company. Please reach out to marten.recruiting@marten.com or give us a call at 800-395-3331 to provide us with further details.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Don't be fooled"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dedicated Driver in DeSoto, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Marten Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some accounts allow you weekly home time.

    Cons

    Not all accounts have a pay garuntee, low miles ran ( which equal a low paycheck received) also apparent if your employment is seperated either by your choice or theirs with in a 60 day time frame, you'll be responsible for all orientation cost occurred.

    Continue reading
Viewing 1 - 10 of 174 English Reviews

Work at Marten Transport? Share Your Experiences

Marten Transport logo
or