Martindale-Nolo Reviews | Glassdoor

Martindale-Nolo Reviews

Updated October 5, 2018
63 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Chris Braun
37 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great office environment and work life balance (low stress as well)" (in 5 reviews)

  • "Surrounded by great people that make you look forward to going to the office every day"" (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Little to no room for growth, and upper management doesn't really care for the rest of us" (in 3 reviews)

  • "Pay is horrendous, especially for the Bay Area" (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Ad Services Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ad Services Coordinator in Pleasanton, CA
    Current Employee - Ad Services Coordinator in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Martindale-Nolo full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great work environment everyone is very friendly and helpful, dress code is laid back, awesome management team, and there is plenty of room for furthering your career here.

    Cons

    If only there was better pay!

    Martindale-Nolo Response

    Aug 9, 2018 – HR Generalist

    Thank you for your positive thoughts about working for Martindale-Nolo! It's great to hear you are happy here.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Don't recommend.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Martindale-Nolo full-time

    Pros

    -flexible schedule
    -friendly coworkers
    -end of month lunches
    -casual dress code
    -good work life balance

    Cons

    -increased micro management
    -management turns blind eye to feedback from customers instead of trying to keep good rapport with them
    -lots of internal issues that dont get resolved after months, affecting your relationship with clients
    -no transparency between management and departments
    -attorneys are a difficult client base to work with in general

    Advice to Management

    listen to your employees when they give you feedback to try to improve the product

    Martindale-Nolo Response

    Oct 8, 2018 – Director of Sales

    Great to hear you enjoyed many aspects of working with us. While we cannot accommodate all requests, we are interested in and encourage customer and employee feedback. Any unresolved issues that... More

  3. "Account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Martindale-Nolo full-time

    Pros

    Laid back environment, PTO and Benefits, flexible Schedule, No weekends, free coffee, casual dress code.

    Cons

    No room for growth in the company. Low base pay. Dealing with attorneys that are rude and won’t follow up with you .

    Martindale-Nolo Response

    Oct 8, 2018 – Director of Sales

    Thank you for taking the time to provide this review. Glad you enjoy many aspects of working with us. Growth can happen and we love to promote from within. Your feedback is welcome, so please... More


  4. Helpful (3)

    "Inside Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Marketing Representative in Pleasanton, CA
    Former Employee - Legal Marketing Representative in Pleasanton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Martindale-Nolo (Less than a year)

    Pros

    You can make okay money if you know how to manipulate management and the system.

    Cons

    Simply put, this is a pit of misery. The work is drudgery, co-workers are loud and disrespectful, and management is a joke. Managers feed leads to a few of their favorite reps, the rest starve. Managers hide in the corner and will surreptitiously listen in on your phone calls. A couple of reps get paid $1000 per deal, everyone else gets a maximum of $475. There are no territories, tenured reps know how to work the system and will steal your deals. "Rules of Engagement" is a farce. They are constantly running out of coffee. The proposal system keeps failing. Nothing is good here. Those positive job reviews must be fake because everyone hates it here.

    Advice to Management

    I honestly don't know what you do. Its clear that you only like a few of your salespeople, the rest just fill seats. You screw up every initiative that you dream up. Who is Chris Braun?

    Martindale-Nolo Response

    Oct 8, 2018 – Director of Sales

    We do our best to be supportive of our team and provide transparency on all policies including commission and engagement rules. All reps have an assigned territory. We are upfront about how leads... More


  5. "Ad Service Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ad Service Coordinator in Pleasanton, CA
    Current Employee - Ad Service Coordinator in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Martindale-Nolo full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great Management, friendly coworkers. The work is interesting and there are great opportunities for growth within the company. Chill company culture, no harsh dress code, people are comfortable and happy here!

    Cons

    none, maybe better pay

    Advice to Management

    Great ideas at the Q&A lunches more of those would be fun!

    Martindale-Nolo Response

    Aug 9, 2018 – HR Generalist

    Thank you for your comments! I'm glad you're enjoying your experience here.


  6. "I have been working at Martindale-Nolo for under a year ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Marketing Specialist in Pleasanton, CA
    Current Employee - Legal Marketing Specialist in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Martindale-Nolo full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Fun environment , Helpful Team , Skilled Management , Great Commission Plan , Flexible Work Schedule .

    "Surrounded by great people that make you look forward to going to the office every day"

    Cons

    Nothing I love working for Martindale-Nolo

    Advice to Management

    Keep being Amazing !

    Martindale-Nolo Response

    Aug 9, 2018 – HR Generalist

    Thank you for the review. You're absolutely right, the people is what makes this company great to work for. Glad to hear you're enjoying your time here!


  7. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Martindale-Nolo full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Management & HR are always happy to help

    - They give you the tool to be successful

    - Great Hr & Pay

    Cons

    Its not a easy sale but there is no easy sale in sales!

    Advice to Management

    Keep Up The Good Wok!!

    Martindale-Nolo Response

    May 18, 2018 – Director of Sales

    Thank you for this fantastic review! If you do have feedback for us, my door is always open.

  8. "Ad Services Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ad Services Coordinator in Pleasanton, CA
    Current Employee - Ad Services Coordinator in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Martindale-Nolo full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very laid back
    Fun group of people to work with
    Very team oriented
    Everyone is always willing to help each other achieve

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work


  9. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Martindale-Nolo full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    -Nice company to grow and develop with
    -Great work-life balance
    - Amazing co-workers
    - Flexibility

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons!

    Martindale-Nolo Response

    May 16, 2018 – HR Generalist

    Hi,

    Thank you for your great review. It's great to see that you are having a positive experience here! We value work-life balance and happy to hear that we can provide that for you.


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Been there, done that"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Martindale-Nolo full-time

    Pros

    None anymore now that you are part of IB....bunch of clowns

    Cons

    Avvo folks, get used to seeing your co-workers leave or be released. Parent company doesn't care about you as much as they care about their bottom line. Being part of IB means cut expenses as fast as you can and look at what happened to other BUs.....lost 50% of their staff and historical knowledge walked out the door. Bye bye to what you thought was a good career.

    Martindale-Nolo Response

    Aug 29, 2018 – HR Generalist

    Hi,
    Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time at Avvo. I am concerned with your perception that IB is only concerned about the bottom line and not their people... More