KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Martinsburg College

Is this your company?

Martinsburg College

Add a Review

Martinsburg College Reviews

Updated Nov 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 56 of over 56 reviews

3.6
61%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "Very flexible and work from home which is very convenient with me being a college student myself(in 15 reviews)

  • "I loved working with other military spouses(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Requires employee to be self motivated as the position is remote and requires you to seek out military spouses to further their education(in 10 reviews)

  • "No Benefits in Health, paid time off, etc(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Teachers

    Join the conversation on

    Teachers

    1y

    a 

    West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

    Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

    2,871

    959 Comments

    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Good Job!

      Aug 14, 2021 - Admissions Outreach Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very flexible and work from home which is very convenient with me being a college student myself.

      Cons

      Meetings tend to be a little excessive but overall there are no cons to this role.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Its a no for me

      Nov 23, 2021 - Admissions Outreach Coordinator in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can work from home

      Cons

      its basically a MLM except you get a biweekly paycheck

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Stay far far away!

      May 7, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Martinsburg, WV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None, this place is horrible.

      Cons

      When I first started working for them I wondered why everyone was female. Literally EVERYONE. All of their employees are women, all of their managers etc. Is this some kind of cult…? What is going on here? It’s run like a sorority, they all expect you to be so “positive and relatable” and talk about how you love coffee and love your kids and being a military spouse blah blah blah. The pay is low for all the work you put in and management doesn’t listen or care about their employees, they just care about making money. My friend actually said to me that it seemed like a pyramid scheme and in a way it kind of is. Worst part of all is how they lie to you about how you’re not gonna be faulted for not hitting your goals, when in reality if you don’t meet them you’re instantly fired. Toxic work environment that they try to cover up with their fake “positivity” and “building rapport”. My advice? Don’t work here, don’t go to school here, not worth the time and trouble.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      MLM minus the commission, tbh. Waste of time.

      Apr 2, 2021 - Admissions Representative in Oceanside, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers are awesome people, you can form new connections with people in your community

      Cons

      They tell you to work 40 hours a week, but expect you to go above and beyond in order to reach “goals”, meaning working 50+ Hours a week and only getting paid for 40. Management REFUSES to listen to their employees when we tell them why we struggle with certain things. They think back to their time in our position (10-30 years ago, not recently at all), and think they know everything about it, as if people and times haven’t changed. They don’t offer any benefits, as they assume you’ll get coverage through your spouse in the military, so when they retire from the service, you’re sh*t out of luck (they mostly only hire military spouses so they don’t have to cover extra costs like that), AND they don’t care about COMPLETELY RUINING your reputation in your area. The job is to recruit people to go to the school, which nobody wants to attend because it’s known all over social media as a scam, and people go around to everyone all over town/base and spread bad things about you in order to get people to avoid you online. Would not recommend.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      I enjoyed my time here and grew a lot

      Jun 8, 2021 - Senior Admissions Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      For any reviews pre-dating this, I can confirm that this college has now started offering benefits to full-time employees. 401k, Life Insurance, college plans, and medical insurance have all been added since these previous reviews were posted. I was hired here after I had been a student several years prior.. My education here helped me land a job after a 1.5 year unemployment streak. I found a lot of value in my program and the education that I received, so I began applying for positions with the college every time I saw them become available. I was eventually hired several years later and I went on to be very successful and highly appreciated. If you love to help people and don’t let the little things distract you from the work you are doing, then it is a wonderful start to your working career. I helped hundreds of people with their education goals, regardless of funding source and/or financial status.. I truly enjoyed being a resource to the community I was serving, and I would recommend the job I was doing to the right person in a heartbeat. The pay had been more than I had ever made previously, and I was set up with regularly scheduled salary increases.. these are the same time frames for everyone, which I found fair. I was able to be promoted within my time, and I valued the additional leadership opportunities that came with this new title. Employees are also offered complimentary programs regularly, and through this I have been able to complete a fair bit of my education without the need to accumulate any debt. Perhaps one of the best things is that this job was the first I have ever had that has been able to travel with me from one side of the US to the other, since all of the positions within the admissions department are fully remote; With my husband having been in the military for 8+ years now, this was a huge relief and a clear bonus for my own personal growth and development within one organization over the PCSs and deployments that we experienced during this time. Overall, I would absolutely recommend you go through the interview process, ask the right questions, and decide from there on your next steps- Working for this college was a decision that I know will help everything that I do in my professional life going forward.

      Cons

      You will have to be a problem solved, critical thinker, and be able to take coaching well to be able to be successful at an admissions capacity. This job requires a lot of discipline on the individual in order to keep up with expectations, and it will take a long time to gain consistency.. You have to be ready and willing to ride out the waves.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee

      This place is absolute trash to work for.

      Sep 30, 2021 - Marketing Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Being able to work from home

      Cons

      Literally everything about this place sucks. From the management structure, to the favoritism, to the targeting of military spouses that don't know any better ...

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Personal and Professional Growth!

      Jul 2, 2021 - Admissions in West Sacramento, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great management, opportunities for career growth, close team bonds, positive virtual work space.

      Cons

      Outsider reviews. Many people are poorly education about the college.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Work from home

      Jul 15, 2021 - DOA 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance, great pay

      Cons

      No benefits, work from home, no upward mobility

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      SALES JOB

      Jun 28, 2021 - Admissions Representative in Vero Beach, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lifelong connections made with fellow team members.

      Cons

      Literally the worst position I have ever had. Sales environment with metrics driven performance evaluations. Predatory recruiting practices. 60+ hour work weeks to be a management-pet that meets/exceeds goals. This is a for profit institution using mostly military spouses to prey on their own community. The recruiting practices and "training" they provide brainwashes the reps to believing the programs actually benefit people. They don't. The career fields these programs are claiming to prepare the student for need MUCH more education and experience that these programs will not provide.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      I am thankful for the opportunity

      Feb 23, 2021 - Admissions Representative in Martinsburg, WV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      So much creative freedom! I always felt encouraged in fine tuning my skills and I used this job as a launching pad for my career. Very thankful for the time and training they invested in me.

      Cons

      I spent many hours on the phone, so you have to enjoy talking to people. It is social media based so having those skills are very helpful. I wish training was longer.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 56 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Martinsburg College Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Martinsburg College? Share Your Experiences

    or