Marvel Entertainment "comic" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Marvel Entertainment Employee Reviews about "comic"

Updated Jan 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
49%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
Marvel Entertainment CEO 	Isaac "Ike" Perlmutter (no image)
Isaac "Ike" Perlmutter
36 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low Pay, top heavy, employees undervalued(in 9 reviews)

  • "My primary aim was to work with an Indian comic company so that I could contribute to Indian(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "comic"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marvel Entertainment

    Pros

    Good company culture + great and passionate employees. Good place to be if you really love the comic and pop culture industry.

    Cons

    Can get repetitive and frustrating being holed in the same spot some days.

    Marvel Entertainment2017-03-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A Fine Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marvel Entertainment full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's fun to constantly surrounded by comics and comics related media. Staff is generally nice and easy to work with

    Cons

    Has more of a corporate atmosphere than you would expect from a comic book company. Very strict on keeping employees within their assigned roles. Not many opportunities to dabble in other departments and see how the rest of the company.

    Marvel Entertainment2018-01-29
  3. Helpful (28)

    "Worst place in the entire world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glendale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marvel Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Disneyland passes and the Disney perks and benefits

    Cons

    The ‘onward and downward’ post is so spot on I laughed at what an almost perfect review it was. 100% true- don’t be fooled by the brand- most employees cry knowing they really aren’t part of the other side - aka real Disney company- Marvel is just a crummy, cheap, depressing division. Revolving door is an UNDERSTATEMENT- I’ve never seen so many people leave voluntarily or good, sweet people canned for no reason,... sometimes those there for a few months. As others said, CHEAP- no Supplies anywhere - you’re literally told to bring your own stuff. Makes sense given how hated the CEO is and talked about internally and in the press (just google him and see how he is viewed in the industry). Donut Friday’s for the whole Office consists of 2 boxes - because they aren’t allowed to spend ONE PENNY over the few bucks they’re given. Cockroach infested nasty office space a block from the beautiful Disney campus- although I think they’re moving them to the lot. No one seems to be happy here and no one seems to ever do anything of real work value. I had no idea what most people Did all day. Meetings for the sake of meetings, where nothing gets accomplished other than executives bashing how much they hate it here and how they wish they were at Disney. I also knew many many people making under 30k which is mind blowing. Everyone has been pissed ever since Disney Studios took over the films which were the heart and soul of the entire brand - now- all marvel entertainment is is publishing (ny) and the bad cartoons on Disney cable. People are either really nice employees just stuck in this crap hole or like others said, comic geek losers who don’t know how to work in tv... but go ahead- keep making those ‘awesome’ YouTube videos. Don’t be fooled - If you want to work for Disney skip this divisiion all together.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You’re all just terrible people- but Disney won’t do anything about any of this so who cares

    Marvel Entertainment2017-12-17
  4. Helpful (36)

    "Onward and Downard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marvel Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - You work for a leading entertainment brand - By association, you work for a company with a much better reputation in Disney - If you like comics, you've reached Nirvana in terms of access - You get Disney-driven benefits like an annual pass to the theme parks

    Cons

    Where to begin? The New York office lacking trash cans at people's desks? The twilight zone that is compensation? I knew several people making less than 30K working full-time jobs where overtime was expected. If you can survive in New York or Los Angeles that way, my hat is off to you. Marvel is managed with an astounding degree of ineptitude. HR is a dead god, there are maybe 2 to 3 people running the... department for the entire company. Much of the day-to-day function is handled by extremely questionable admin level employees who basically wear two hats. Have a problem with your lack of training, questionably livable salary, or with your supervisor who is more platitude than man? Good luck. You will be attacked the moment you raise your hand. We've all seen too many good people forced out the door by vengeful supervisors with a pittance severance. Fine, you're a Spartan and you'll give up anything to work for Marvel because you grew up loving the cartoons and/or comics. Get ready to back that up because you'll arrive at a desk that has at best an older laptop and one working monitor. No mouse, no pens, no staples. Maybe if you're lucky, you'll have access to water. Not in New York though. Then one night you'll realize IT didn't properly scrub your laptop prior to handing it over, and you'll find innumerable personal files, and in my case several folders of pornographic material. If you're like me and you keep your space clean, I fear to tell you what you'll find the first time you try wiping down your equipment or work space. Much of the management structure will astound you with how difficult and petty they can be. Whether that be ignored email, shouting matches on the phone, or just inept and uncaring people who seem to lack all social grace. I pushed for regular sync meetings over coffee, and these immediately devolved into 30 minute lectures and tired rants about everyone we worked with (and of course, myself). Pure hyperbole. We never discussed my work, or how I might improve upon it. We never talked about my career or what my goals were, let alone how I might promote myself. The toxic culture has a slow poison effect. By the time I'd been with Marvel for a year, it felt like I had experienced it in dog years. I was advised to "never invite someone to a 1 on 1 where they have to walk". This sort of vacuous "coaching" is what you can expect in terms of feedback. In short, you're never doing well and you're probably coasting through life on your talent. Does that mean you need to work more hours, build bridges with key people, change your approach to reporting? No one knows! There are no relevant work-related items worthy of feedback, but you will receive a steady stream of negativity regarding life & work from leaders who show up at 10 and are home by 4. Marvel promotes a progressive ideology regarding gender/ethnicity/sexual orientation to the public; but the exact opposite is what you'll find behind the aging doors of their offices. I think half of the slurs I've heard in my life were yelled into mid-air at Marvel. It was all supposed to be funny of course, except that it basically never was. Everyone at Marvel has something to say about everyone else, and if that sounds like High School - well, not a coincidence. As a woman, I would say that it felt like an inhospitable and barely safe place to work. Marvel is something of a misnomer. The films and much of the consumer product suite are governed by Disney. Marvel Entertainment is essentially the leftovers, a fact checking brand assurance company boasting all of the excitement of a small insurance office. While the comics are perhaps best known, the modern quality is embarrassing. Marvel keeps a busy tradeshow calendar, and like clockwork, each show tended to coincide with a public gaffe. With brevity - almost all companies include some folks that can be unpleasant either as supervisors or coworkers. But few of them can match Marvel top to bottom. If hearing a kind and likable co-worker fired, loudly and after about 7 weeks on the job, while being told that the company doesn’t hire “stupid or lazy” people bothers you as much as it did me then you, like me, will likely be better off almost anywhere else. You need only read a few other reviews here, or to Google around to discover the depth at which Marvel is currently residing.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To Disney, take note that Marvel is riding on the coattails of your successful acquisition. The culture is a travesty, and unrepresentative of Disney's in almost every way possible. Much of the work is redundant, and the business could be run a lot more efficiently were it to be consolidated, as the Studio was, into Disney proper. As a licensing business, revenues are essentially what they are. Meaning that this... could be managed equally well or better for much less cost. Look no further than the recent "promotional partnerships" Marvel has embraced via highly questionable processes to see that the brand is progressively being watered down and devalued by a shotgun approach. Question how Marvel will remain profitable under its current management with Netflix content under performing and leadership that believes it is in competition with its Disney partners.

    Show More
    Marvel Entertainment2017-10-26
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marvel Entertainment

    Pros

    established comic company with talented and creative people

    Cons

    NO office perks, very bland ,feels like an insurance company instead of a entertainment company. pay is low and Marvel as a business is VERY cheap especially when it comes to the comic division.

    Advice to Management

    Pay higher salaries to keep talent. IT department could be vastly improved. dont put so many restrictions on employees .

    Marvel Entertainment2017-04-13
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern - Hourly in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marvel Entertainment for less than a year

    Pros

    The internship was paid, the people were great, and I've made a few lasting friendships. Everyone was super helpful and eager to help me learn and grow. I learned a lot of really useful skills while working there and I'm really grateful for the experience. My comic book collection also increased exponentially so that was pretty great.

    Cons

    Nothing really. Sometimes I'd stay a bit later in order to finish projects that had strict deadlines, but I wouldn't be able to clock in my hours because of hourly pay restrictions.

    Marvel Entertainment2017-03-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "V.P., Marvel.com"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marvel Entertainment full-time

    Pros

    Who wouldn't want to work for the premiere comic company in the country

    Cons

    Political nature of management creates stress.

    Advice to Management

    Resist the focus on money and stay true to the creative roots of the company.

    Marvel Entertainment2017-02-05
  8. "Pretty Cool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marvel Entertainment

    Pros

    Working in Manhattan beach everyday was nice, exploring the lot during different productions and working at Comic-Con was pretty amazing.

    Cons

    Very stiff atmosphere, working in the office was very "office" like. Not sure, just expected a better environment for such a legendary company.

    Advice to Management

    Be more alive with your interns and workers. You don't want people to feel let down by their experience.

    Marvel Entertainment2016-03-04
  9. Helpful (29)

    "Don't do it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Marvel Entertainment

    Pros

    How jealous all of your friends will be because they think you have a cool job... except they don't know the cons...

    Cons

    It’s a really sad place to work despite being regarded publicly amongst the most high energy brands in the world. I’ve never met a more dejected, down trodden group in my entire career. Full of underpaid staff who’ve worked there so long I’m convinced they either can’t get another job and/or are obsessed with comics as evidenced by the stampede whenever there’s an internal sale full of leftover product that nobody... wanted to buy at Disney World. Ego’s run really high and boasts of working at Marvel for 30+ years(as if that’s something to be proud of) run rampant. One of the cheapest places I’ve ever worked despite Box office BILLIONS. Toilet paper is a privilege, the kitchen has no coffee, and the microwave belongs in a museum — it doesn’t even spin on the bottom. The noisy industrial water machine, complete with little clear cups like the drug test urine ones, is broken at least twice a month. Get used to seeing “Caution, Slippery floor” cones since they’ve yet to repair the leaky pipe underneath the kitchen sink. Everything is on its last leg. Extremely paranoid work environment. Your computer is handicapped from doing anything except your actual job. They blocked the internet once, in general, for “security reasons”. They also send test spam e-mails to try and trick employees into clicking spam links only to reprimand anyone who may have accidentally fallen for it. Company wide e-mails were sent saying anyone who failed the spam exam would be “targeted”, though thankfully we never found out what that actually meant. Also if a celebrity happens to walk around the office, don’t look them directly in the eye or engage them in any way — people have gotten fired for doing so. When you join, there is no welcome package, there is no on-boarding. Don’t expect to have a clean desk or a supply closet with a pen. You’re given the rules of the land and left to fend for yourself. I went without a computer monitor for the first few days because they were “looking for one”. I guess they didn’t stumble upon a Best Buy during the hunt. It’s a publishing company through and through — archaic. You may love the movies, and the comics, and the characters but quite frankly… avoid this place like the plague. It’s a terrible place to call work and a dark cloud over the Disney portfolio. The simple truth is that since the films do well, nobody cares… but if you decide to be an employee here, it’ll be amongst the saddest years of your career. I’m telling you… don’t do it. #YOUREWELCOME

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get over yourselves. You have no idea what you're doing and all of your staff is miserable because of it. Stop resting on the strength of the brand and actually do something interesting for a change. Also, there is NO REASON for a company with Billion dollar films can't have paper towels, or a decent water cooler.

    Marvel Entertainment2015-07-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Fun environment; everyone was super friendly and passionate about whatever they were working on."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Editorial Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marvel Entertainment for less than a year

    Pros

    The work was always interesting and it was great learning about the industry and the way comics are made. Everyone was nice, inviting, and friendly, as well as interested and invested in their work.

    Cons

    Unfortunately as an unpaid intern, I didn't get to do as much actual work as I would've liked. Most of my days were spent reading the backlog of comics to pass the time while my supervisor tried to find stuff for me to do.

    Marvel Entertainment2014-10-18
Found 13 reviews