Marvel Entertainment "low pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

Marvel Entertainment Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Jul 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
49%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
Marvel Entertainment CEO 	Isaac "Ike" Perlmutter (no image)
Isaac "Ike" Perlmutter
36 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low Pay, top heavy, employees undervalued(in 9 reviews)

  • "My primary aim was to work with an Indian comic company so that I could contribute to Indian(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great people, great atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern - Hourly in Burbank, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marvel Entertainment

    Pros

    great experience and management, people are so friendly, great atmosphere. really recommend this to other people! fun timems

    Cons

    low pay, huge campus making it difficult to communicate with others in the departments and too spread out

    Advice to Management

    keep up the great work!

    Marvel Entertainment2016-08-13
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Been there too long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Designer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Marvel Entertainment full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fun Projects, Nice People, Like NYC. Disney Benefits.

    Cons

    Low Pay, top heavy, employees undervalued.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more/

    Marvel Entertainment2019-07-08
  3. "Not the best Disney brand to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marvel Entertainment

    Pros

    Learn about the artists, procedures, and industry. Good leaders. Free Disney entrance pass. Good name on your resume

    Cons

    Isolating, anti-social environment, boring repetitive work, you benefit the office more than the actual company, low pay, a Disney brand without the Disney culture

    Advice to Management

    Put more effort into the internship program so that we’re actually learning skills and not just doing administrative tasks. It would also be nice to have social events like a communal lunch for all interns or something. The whole time I was there I only ever interacted with my boss and had too much work to mingle with other interns or network with other departments.

    Marvel Entertainment2018-08-14
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Don't stay too long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Designer & Brand Logo Development Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Marvel Entertainment full-time

    Pros

    You work on some interesting projects

    Cons

    Low pay & not a lot of upward movement available.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees better.

    Marvel Entertainment2018-06-10
  5. "Great People, Great IP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Marvel Entertainment full-time

    Pros

    Amazing properties to work on, fantastic movies, never a dull moment, amazing people to work with, awe inspiring work ethics that will make you better at what you do

    Cons

    Low pay, sometimes too much expected from too few people, can have high turnover

    Advice to Management

    Not much to say, I never felt like a manager was holding me back

    Marvel Entertainment2016-05-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great starting company, no growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BA Coordinator in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marvel Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly work environment, generous bonus, steady work flow, great location, great for entry level positions

    Cons

    Low pay across the company, employees are not happy with salary, no promotions, high turnover

    Advice to Management

    Empower your employees to want to grow within the company, though everyone is replaceable that shouldnt be taken so literal.

    Marvel Entertainment2014-12-11
  7. Helpful (2)

    "It's what you make of it, but it's really tough to make it something great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editorial in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marvel Entertainment full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Creative freedom, opportunity to meet interesting people and build connections to further your own career.

    Cons

    Low pay, less than stellar benefits plan, confused and weak leadership.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your employees. They love your product and do an amazing job considering the financial limitations you place upon them. Imagine how much better they'd do if you took the time to invest in them.

    Marvel Entertainment2014-09-03
  8. Helpful (5)

    "A demoralizing and frustrating experience that has crushed my passion for the characters."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Marvel Entertainment

    Pros

    They hand VP titles out like candy and you get a discount on the licensed products they sell to their employees.

    Cons

    Low pay, lousy benefits, politics, management encourages an environment of fear, mistrust and inappropriate demeaning behavior. Heavy turnover.

    Advice to Management

    A PR nightmare for Disney waiting to happen.

    Marvel Entertainment2011-04-22
  9. "IT Helpdesk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Marvel Entertainment part-time

    Pros

    Meet lots of great people, learn alot real fast in an agile dynamic team

    Cons

    low pay, upper management not always appreciative

    Advice to Management

    Take care of ALL your staff not just the faces you know

    Marvel Entertainment2016-09-23
Found 9 reviews