KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Marvell Technology

Engaged Employer

Marvell Technology

Add a Review

Marvell Technology Reviews

Updated Sep 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,299 of over 1,420 reviews

4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Marvell Technology President & CEO Matt Murphy
Matt Murphy
428 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working environment is very good(in 76 reviews)

  • "Good work life balance, good colleagues(in 72 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management not willing to listen(in 35 reviews)

  • "lack of work life balance in certain departments(in 24 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Marvell Technology and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years
      Featured Review

      Great Company and flexible hours

      Apr 10, 2021 - Staff Engineer in Irvine, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Focused and goal oriented with flexible hours

      Cons

      Mixed signals regarding career and future

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      lawyer

      Sep 13, 2021 - Lawyer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good place for professional development

      Cons

      Poor management sometime happen there

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Rebooted Marvell is a good place to work, at least in my group

      Aug 13, 2021 - Senior Staff Design Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I joined in 2019. I'm fortunate to be in one of the groups Marvell is betting it's future on. CEO Matt Murphy has rebooted Marvell into a socially responsible place to work. I personally have good managers and in a generally well run group with working processes in place that both increase efficiency and quality. Team mates are smart, effective, yet friendly and respectful. Projects run reasonably smoothly, and this contributes to better work/life balance. Inevitable fires will occasionally flare up and real work is done so it is not only play. Teams are spread throughout the country and world so zoom/slack has been normal life since before covid. I feel fortunate because I know people in other groups of the company where the conditions are not as rosy as mine. Compensation is competitive to non-FANG companies. .

      Cons

      FANG companies pay more. Some groups (some from "old" Marvell) may have working conditions that can range from "ok" to "bad".

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Good company trying to be great (and hopefully becoming so)

      Aug 13, 2021 - Staff Manager in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      CEO, Matt Murphy, has a great vision for the company and sincerely emphasizes integrity and inclusiveness to the team. Company has significant growth potential especially under current leadership. The majority of the technical team is great. Increased focus has been placed on DEI in the past year. Teams have very talented engineers, most of who like mentoring junior team members. Team building activities are encouraged. Site wide events are planned several times a year (pre-pandemic and hopefully post).

      Cons

      There are still a few bad apples in management and technical leadership roles who do not want to help colleagues, especially junior ones. Some middle management does not follow upper management leadership examples. Not enough technical people from underrepresented minority groups (e.g. Blacks, Latinx, Women), but there is focus on improving this. Alpha males sometimes are allowed to overshadow less aggressive colleagues. Attrition is a problem, but no obvious efforts are being made to address it. Numerous acquisitions lead to disparate teams with different cultures. This foster "us" vs. "them" mentality with is not productive.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best place to work

      Aug 12, 2021 - Senior Staff Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Marvell under Matt Murphy is definitely a great place to work. The culture that trickles down from top down is very well thought out and considering. Various steps this company has taken towards employee engagement and building that positive culture is phenomenal. All kudos to Matt Murphy and his executive leadership team. The tone they set definitely matters. Salary is in par with industry standard. Their stock benefits are awesome. HR programs are great. Alot of focus on diversity and inclusion.

      Cons

      None. Glassdoor is making me type atleast 20 words so here you go to only satisfy that criteria alone and nothign else.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great leadership to steer the company towards success

      Aug 12, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The executives & management understand how to create a pleasant & inclusive working environment for everybody. They closely monitor the contemporary world we live in and act upon it. Leadership regularly sends out questionnaires to employees and, most importantly, actually listen to the outcomes. Another important factor that makes me enjoy working at Marvell is that leadership is pushing engineers to develop state of the art technologies, rather than milking out old cash cows.

      Cons

      Many internal administrative processes & flows still involve too many steps and are therefore somewhat cumbersome. And although leadership worked hard in the last couple of years to resolve this, not all processes are cleaned up yet. However, it is hard to find a large, stable company in which this is not the case.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A company built on strong framework

      Jul 14, 2021 - Principal IC Design Engineer in Irvine, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Honestly, I chose Marvell over couple other companies that I got offer from based solely on the Team members who interviewed me. And I don't think I could be any happier with my decision. I also searched Marvell before I join on Glassdoor and I was pretty happy with the 4-star rating. I am sure everybody's perspective can differ but for me it is definitely a 5-star company which are built on right foundations. They give so much emphasis to integrity and respect, I honestly haven't seen in the past 6 companies that I worked for. What the company stands for, and how it likes built a healthy and supporting environment for employees to thrive, etc. are always there on the paper but enforcing them daily and in every opportunity is a whole another thing. And, in my opinion, a cherry on top is the 2-year window SPP. For a company like Marvell with such a vision for future, it sure makes all employees very happy.

      Cons

      Nothing I can think of.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Decent pay, with downsides

      Aug 23, 2021 - Senior Planner in Essex, VT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good pay, compares favorably with others in the same sector. They have ambitious plans for growing the business (although I'm not sure they understand what they need to do to achieve that).

      Cons

      They know best; very closed minded regarding input from those with experience at other companies in the same industry. The company also has a strongly anti work-from-home/work remote culture. I was told by an exec "if we don't see you in the office, we assume you're interviewing at a competitor", which is a really poor way to run a company. Hopefully the pandemic has forced them to see the error of their ways and has softened that attitude.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      No work-life balance.

      Sep 13, 2021 - Senior Staff IC Design Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company is moving in the right direction and transparency from upper management is good.

      Cons

      No work-life balance. You work during the day with colleagues in the US, and you still need to work in the evening to work or to have a meeting with colleagues in Asia. Need to work a lot during weekend too. Upper management gives message about the importance of work-life balance, but most likely your department's work is very demanding.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company, leadership thinks it's great.

      Jul 15, 2021 - Senior Staff Engineer in Irvine, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good salary Great ESPP program - has 2 year lookback for buying stock at lowest price. Makes efforts to be inclusive and diminish bias.

      Cons

      Marvell is an amalgamation of companies acquired in the last 5 years, each with it's own campus culture, operating procedures, and ancestor company hierarchy minus the heads. The Santa Clara (leadership) campus is opulently funded with many benefits. The satellite campuses are in as-acquired condition and benefits. Leadership is long on claiming widespread achievement of company objectives, based on one group's performance and short on the preparation, time, funding and hard work necessary for the entire company to achieve it. Leadership cites turn arounds and growth it achieved at prior companies but is quick to cancel programs and layoff groups based on the current estimated ROI. If you have no magic, don't claim to.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,299 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Marvell Technology Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Marvell Technology? Share Your Experiences

    or