Marx|Okubo Associates Reviews

Updated Jun 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
78%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Marx|Okubo Associates President and CEO Parrish Boren (no image)
Parrish Boren
12 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marx|Okubo Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been with Marx Okubo for a little over a year and half. Its a great place to work. They dont offer alot of work functions as far as like a summer party but thats okay since there are a few team building events throughout the year.

    Cons

    No big issues really. I believe new team members that start as associates could have better training. Many come in believing they could push their work on to others and do not realize this is a team effort.

    Continue reading

    Marx|Okubo Associates Response

    August 16, 2019Director of Human Resources

    Marx|Okubo thanks you for the 5 star review.

  2. "High performance"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marx|Okubo Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Challenging high performance work environment

    Cons

    Project specific roles can often be assumed and not necessarily stated

    Marx|Okubo Associates Response

    June 24, 2020Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for the 4 star review.


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Firm, Fantastic Co-Workers, Lots of Opportunity for Growth and Experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marx|Okubo Associates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Marx|Okubo is a unique firm in a fast-paced industry and is constantly growing and adapting with the market. Leadership is extremely understanding, flexible, and supportive of their teams, and encourages/provides countless opportunities for employees to gain new experiences and continued education credits. I feel like there is room to grow within the firm and even though I have only been with M|O for about a year, I see my career path and leadership is open to discussing and exploring options that interest me. The benefit packages are above average, and day-to-day perks include catered meals, company sponsored events, laid back work environment, dog-friendly offices (select offices), and a team-driven culture.

    Cons

    Project Coordinators are described as upcoming professionals/associates but, in my opinion, are treated more as Senior Administrators in the southeastern office. Opportunity for growth and experience is there if you're persistent and really ask for it, but PCs could be given a lot more responsibility from the beginning.

    Continue reading

    Marx|Okubo Associates Response

    June 7, 2019Director of Human Resources

    Marx|Okubo thanks you for the 5 star review.

  4. "Good Company, Unsure About Room for Growth"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marx|Okubo Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employees will gain a lot of knowledge throughout the field and experience with many different types of project. Time off is easy to request. Your time management and multitasking skills will strengthen throughout the job. Teams work well together to an extent, and the company as a whole is beginning to emphasize a team feeling within.

    Cons

    The amount of room for growth is not made obvious, nor is a timeline for any available growth laid out or planned. It seems as if your current position might be your only option for a long time. Management micromanages many employees, making it seem as if they don’t have 100% faith in their team.

    Continue reading

    Marx|Okubo Associates Response

    June 28, 2019Director of Human Resources

    Marx|Okubo thanks you for the 4 star review.

  5. "Good Learning Environment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marx|Okubo Associates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good co-workers Decent benefits Supports continuing education Fun company events

    Cons

    Low salary for San Francisco Difficult to advance Very particular about timesheets and overtime is expected for advancement Unclear definition of duties

    Continue reading

    Marx|Okubo Associates Response

    May 16, 2019Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for your suggestions. As always, Marx|Okubo welcomes all feedback.

  6. "Great Place to Learn"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marx|Okubo Associates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of licensed professionals to work with. Office culture is great.

    Cons

    Upward mobility is somewhat limited.

    Marx|Okubo Associates Response

    April 30, 2019Director of Human Resources

    Marx|Okubo thanks you for the 5 star review.

  7. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marx|Okubo Associates full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Great employee benefits.

    Cons

    Need a better understand of what the different roles within the company do, so that each role can be of more assistance to the company as a whole.

    Marx|Okubo Associates Response

    October 16, 2018Director of Human Resources

    Marx|Okubo thanks you for the 5 star review.

  8. "Values Its Employees"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marx|Okubo Associates full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Marx|Okubo understands that the company's value lies in its employees. While busy periods can be hectic, managers try to provide flexibility to allow employees to balance work with the other priorities in their lives. Among employees, there is a culture of sharing information and showing appreciation. Entry-level staff are encouraged to take on new challenges, and Marx|Okubo supports continuous learning for all staff. The quality of benefits such as health insurance is above average.

    Cons

    Individual regions operate somewhat independently, with corporate providing limited (but growing) oversight and resources.

    Continue reading

    Marx|Okubo Associates Response

    May 9, 2018Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for the 5 star review of Mark Okubo.

  9. "Enjoyed my time"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marx|Okubo Associates full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Retired from Marx Okubo. Worked here for 10 years. People were great and good work environment. I recommend this company.

    Cons

    Nothing stands out that future employees should know about.

    Marx|Okubo Associates Response

    April 12, 2018Director of Human Resources

    Marx Okubo thanks you for the 5 star review.

  10. "Good Place To Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marx|Okubo Associates full-time

    Pros

    Marx Okubo is a great place to work. Lots of great people to work with.

    Cons

    Some offices do not have enough team building activities.

    Continue reading

    Marx|Okubo Associates Response

    April 9, 2018Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for the 5 star review of Marx Okubo.

Found 30 reviews