Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center Reviews

Updated Dec 6, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Todd Stevens
8 Ratings
  1. "Development Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center

      Pros

      Great management, great place to work

      Cons

      No complaints. great place to work

      Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center2017-06-28
    • "Great Memories working at MBP"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center full-time

      Pros

      Tight-knit family atmosphere, friendly staff, sense of purpose and meaning even if not working directly with patients

      Cons

      Little room for advancement or professional development, politics between departments

      Advice to Management

      Provide more opportunities for professional development

      Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center2018-02-26
    • "Ok place to work but pay is low"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Patient Access Representative in Baton Rouge, LA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center full-time

      Pros

      Nice, beautiful work enviroment. Wonderful experience with patients

      Cons

      Pay is LOW for the duties required

      Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center2017-11-15
    • Helpful (1)

      "Medical Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Certified Medical Assistant 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Loving working with the patients.

      Cons

      It doesn't matte what you do, how much you bust your butt. Never good enough and you are always wrong.

      Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center2017-10-30
    • "Development Intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center

      Pros

      The atmosphere is great at Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center. Everyone who works in the Development Office is welcoming and it's a fun atmosphere. The work the development office does to fundraise for the cancer center is amazing and I love working here.

      Cons

      I don't see any cons working at Mary Bird Perkins.

      Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center2017-01-23
    • "Development Intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Baton Rouge, LA
        Recommends

        I worked at Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center for less than a year

        Pros

        I was an intern at Mary Bird Perkins and I absolutely loved it for many reasons. I enjoyed going to work because it was such a positive work environment, not once did I hear someone complain or speak ill of anyone or anything. Everyone was so positive and uplifting. It was also very fulfilling to work for a company that aims to help those in need. During my internship I had the opportunity to meet with individuals who...

        Show More

        Cons

        I have no cons for this company.

        Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center2016-01-25
      • "Flaws in Administration"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center

        Pros

        Decent compensation. The organization does a lot of good for others in the community.

        Cons

        Poor value of lower/new staff members. No real chance for advancement. Poor/no training of new employees.

        Advice to Management

        Administration needs to be more mindful of support staff and appreciate them more than they do. There is a major feeling of superiority from the administration. At times, one can feel invisible. In my personal experience I was ingored often.

        Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center2014-10-29
      • "Working for a non-profit Cancer Center is very rewarding! As healthcare continues to change, MBP stays ahead."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Baton Rouge, LA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Visionary CEO who works hard. Career growth has been made. An excellent work environment has been provided. Flexibility is appreciated. Good benefits like 403b match and variable pay.

        Cons

        Multi-Center wide employee engagement activities are non-existent and could help boost moral. Leadership level meetings are missed to help with communications across departments.

        Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center2014-09-11
      • "Fast paced environment, need to be flexible"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Development Intern in Baton Rouge, LA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center for more than a year

        Pros

        Great experience, incredible and dedicated staff, great cause, senior management was very supportive and took time to recognize hard work and accomplishments. A great learning opportunity because you get exposed to many different parts of the company.

        Cons

        Sometimes internships aren't paid - but if you work hard for a couple months they usually try to find you an hourly wage. There isn't a consistent day-to-day list of responsibilities - you have to be flexible because you'll have different projects to work on, different supervisors, and different responsibilities throughout your day.

        Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center2014-08-30
      • "A special place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center

          Pros

          Flexible hours for interns and students - Friendly environment - The work you do is meaningful

          Cons

          The traffic in the surrounding area

          Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center2018-12-07
        Found 11 reviews