Mary Kay Independent Beauty Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Independent Beauty Consultant

Create your profile to get personalized information

Mary Kay Independent Beauty Consultant Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.8
96%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Mary Kay CEO David B. Holl
David B. Holl
97 Ratings
  1. "Excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Independent Beauty Consultant 

    I have been working at Mary Kay for less than a year

    Pros

    Be your own boss Bonus incentives, vacation, jewelry, prizes, commissions

    Cons

    none to speak of, don't have any

    Mary Kay2019-10-22
  2. "A great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Independent Beauty Consultant in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mary Kay full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to move up in the company. Earning special prizes in addition to money. Flexibility.

    Cons

    Sometimes it takes a little while to see results

    Mary Kay2019-05-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Mary Kay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Independent Beauty Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mary Kay for more than a year

    Pros

    create your own hours, flexible, rewarding

    Cons

    takes significant self control to be successful

    Mary Kay2019-03-14
  4. "Great company for women"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Independent Beauty Consultant in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mary Kay part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You can make as much as you want and work your own set hours. Love meeting new women and adding to my team unit.

    Cons

    No cons at all, I love it!!!

    Mary Kay2018-12-05
  5. "Being an Independent Beauty Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Independent Beauty Consultant in Frankfort, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mary Kay for less than a year

    Pros

    When I started my Mary Kay business, I didn't realize how far I had to go outside of my comfort zone. However, in doing that, I have become a much more positive and social person. Every woman is beautiful, but sometimes they just need a little help to feel it. I love making women feel beautiful. When you feel beautiful, you feel better about yourself and gain confidence. I'm so glad I get to be an essential part of... that! You are your own boss and make your own hours and the environment is the most positive I've ever been in! The other ladies are great and your Sales Director (at least mine) will help you with any questions you have and help grow your business with you!

    Show More

    Cons

    Not always having consistent sales and reorders.

    Mary Kay2018-10-19
  6. "Great flexible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Independent Beauty Consultant in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mary Kay part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexable, supportive, great product, growth potential, positive environment, great support system, training.

    Cons

    Work alone, constantly out at events trying to network. Fronting the cost for inventory to build up your personal store. It’s not required but it is a lot more convenient to be able to have it on hand for your customers.

    Advice to Management

    Fronting the cost for inventory to build up your personal store. It’s not required but it is a lot more convenient to be able to have it on hand for your customers.

    Mary Kay2018-04-30
  7. Helpful (3)

    "I completely love my job. I get to make my own hours and money around my life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Independent Beauty Consultant in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mary Kay full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You're your own boss and you have a great support system every step of the way and a way to get extra money in your pocket. It's also a great way to meet new people.

    Cons

    Not all customers respect your time. Some don't confirm appointments or are no shows. Some customers completely leave without a word. Not every director is a good leader.

    Advice to Management

    Advancement should not rely so much on the team, but the consultant who is doing the work.

    Mary Kay2017-12-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Independent Beauty Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Independent Beauty Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mary Kay part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company provides excellent training and compensation. There is no limit of growth or territories.

    Cons

    Your success is based on your motivation. Therefore, only cons are the limits you set for yourself.

    Mary Kay2017-09-24
  9. "Independent Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Independent Beauty Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mary Kay for more than a year

    Pros

    The great things about being an independent sales rep is your schedule is very flexible, you determine; you're always meeting new people; the training that is given is 2nd to none, excellent in sales and customer service training. Unlimited income potential. Just the benefit of working for yourself with the exceptional help and training provided is beyond wonderful!

    Cons

    There are always a few cons in any line of work, but they can always be overcome.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    Mary Kay2017-08-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Beauty Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Independent Beauty Consultant in Crystal Lake, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mary Kay part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great products! I love the freedom that this company provides its consultants. I love the training opportunities, the products, and the freedom to run my business as I see fit.

    Cons

    None. I love this company. I love the products. I love the training. I love the flexibility. I have no complaints.

    Advice to Management

    Wonderful company!

    Mary Kay2017-07-27
Found 181 reviews