Mary Kay Independent Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Independent Consultant

Mary Kay Independent Consultant Reviews

Updated 12 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.8
96%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Mary Kay CEO David B. Holl
David B. Holl
103 Ratings
  1. "Skincare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Freelancer - Independent Consultant 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Mary Kay for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You make your own hours and are your own boss. It's a great community to work with. They make donations to help fight against domestic violence and other charitable causes.

    Cons

    I want to be in health care and not sales for my end goal profession.

    Mary Kay2019-10-23
  2. "Waste of Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Independent Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mary Kay for more than a year

    Pros

    Made own hours, could be as creative as you wanted and a great way to meet older women in your community.

    Cons

    Too many quotas, have to attend weekly meetings, feels like a MLM, products are constantly changing and are mostly marketed to older/middle-aged women. Was alot like a cult than a business, used Christian ideologies as a motivation for sales.

    Mary Kay2019-11-13
  3. "Excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Independent Beauty Consultant 

    I have been working at Mary Kay for less than a year

    Pros

    Be your own boss Bonus incentives, vacation, jewelry, prizes, commissions

    Cons

    none to speak of, don't have any

    Mary Kay2019-10-22
  4. "A great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Independent Beauty Consultant in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mary Kay full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to move up in the company. Earning special prizes in addition to money. Flexibility.

    Cons

    Sometimes it takes a little while to see results

    Mary Kay2019-05-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Mary Kay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Independent Beauty Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mary Kay for more than a year

    Pros

    create your own hours, flexible, rewarding

    Cons

    takes significant self control to be successful

    Mary Kay2019-03-14
  6. "Fun!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Independent Consultant in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mary Kay part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pick your own schedule, learn about makeup, go to beauty parties.

    Cons

    It is a pyramid scheme

    Mary Kay2019-02-26
  7. "Great company for women"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Independent Beauty Consultant in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mary Kay part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You can make as much as you want and work your own set hours. Love meeting new women and adding to my team unit.

    Cons

    No cons at all, I love it!!!

    Mary Kay2018-12-05
  8. "Being an Independent Beauty Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Independent Beauty Consultant in Frankfort, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mary Kay for less than a year

    Pros

    When I started my Mary Kay business, I didn't realize how far I had to go outside of my comfort zone. However, in doing that, I have become a much more positive and social person. Every woman is beautiful, but sometimes they just need a little help to feel it. I love making women feel beautiful. When you feel beautiful, you feel better about yourself and gain confidence. I'm so glad I get to be an essential part of... that! You are your own boss and make your own hours and the environment is the most positive I've ever been in! The other ladies are great and your Sales Director (at least mine) will help you with any questions you have and help grow your business with you!

    Show More

    Cons

    Not always having consistent sales and reorders.

    Mary Kay2018-10-19
  9. "Great flexible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Independent Beauty Consultant in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mary Kay part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexable, supportive, great product, growth potential, positive environment, great support system, training.

    Cons

    Work alone, constantly out at events trying to network. Fronting the cost for inventory to build up your personal store. It’s not required but it is a lot more convenient to be able to have it on hand for your customers.

    Advice to Management

    Fronting the cost for inventory to build up your personal store. It’s not required but it is a lot more convenient to be able to have it on hand for your customers.

    Mary Kay2018-04-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "INDEPENDENT BEAUTY CONSULTANT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Independent Consultant in Greer, SC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Mary Kay part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Having To order every months even if you have no customer 250.00 to not to become inactive

    Cons

    Good Income if you love working with Make up, Family time,

    Advice to Management

    Sales Director

    Mary Kay2018-03-19
Found 201 reviews