Maryland Energy Administration Reviews | Glassdoor

Maryland Energy Administration Reviews

Updated May 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Maryland Energy Administration full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    MEA is a great place to begin, continue, or complete one's career. There are many opportunities to learn and apply your knowledge and skills to create effective energy programs and policies for the State. The agency has many individuals from a diverse set of industries and as a result a valuable knowledge base. Great for professionals who desire independent work and the freedom to self-manage. Pay is excellent... for government work and the benefits are very desirable. Generous time off, flexible work schedules, and good health plans through the State. Retirement is nice too. I have and will continue to recommend MEA to interested energy professionals.

    Show More

    Cons

    Other than some generic office drama and occasional loud and distracting work environment, no cons. Nothing that wouldn't be present in other office environments.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to allow individuals to design and implement their own programs based on their experience, skills, and vetted perceptions of their grant recipient base. Encourage openness and candor.

    Maryland Energy Administration2018-08-18
  2. "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Maryland Energy Administration full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some people in the office are nice and helpful.

    Cons

    Management is directly tied to politics and most are poorly trained in the areas energy issues. They definitely have zero experience effectively managing people. They frown on new ideas and shoot down innovation. The building is awful, rundown, full of rodents and bedbugs. Toxic work culture.

    Advice to Management

    Try to get some training in people skills.

    Maryland Energy Administration2019-05-08
  3. "Interesting internship, but often no work to do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Policy and Planning in Annapolis, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Maryland Energy Administration for less than a year

    Pros

    I was lucky enough to get a pretty engaged supervisor who provided great exposure and involved me in projects and meetings. Interesting to experience state government policy and program management for a forward thinking agency.

    Cons

    Some of the employees are a lot less engaged and do not provide support. Often times there was no work available to complete.

    Advice to Management

    Set goals for interns and define deliverables to maximize what the MEA and the intern gets from the experience.

    Maryland Energy Administration2018-10-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "UNPROFESSIONAL AND POOR LEADERSHIP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Program Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Maryland Energy Administration for more than a year

    Pros

    When MEA is able to work at being effective Energy Innovators, it is a great place to work.

    Cons

    Racism, Sexism, Ageism, No communication from Leadership, No respect for the people who run the programs and keep the office functioning, and Lacks of integrity from leadership

    Maryland Energy Administration2017-07-30
  5. "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
     

    I have been working at Maryland Energy Administration

    Pros

    Good Culture and people to work with

    Cons

    Low pay for state government

    Maryland Energy Administration2016-03-16
  6. "Awesome Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern - Hourly in Annapolis, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Maryland Energy Administration

    Pros

    Everyone in the office was very friendly and helpful. I never felt uncomfortable asking for help when needed. The environment was very inviting and welcoming to all, including interns. An eye opening experience for anyone considering government work.

    Cons

    I was there during the busiest time of the year as well as a shift in management, so the office was fairly hectic during that time. Not necessarily a con because I was always busy and never subject to boredom.

    Maryland Energy Administration2015-12-17
  7. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Maryland Energy Administration

    Pros

    Opportunity to work on a variety of issues/technologies/etc. Great division directors.

    Cons

    Upheaval due to administration changes.

    Maryland Energy Administration2015-09-16
  8. "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Annapolis, MD

    I worked at Maryland Energy Administration for more than a year

    Pros

    Provided a lot of work life balance and gave full project management trust to anyone who could prove their competence

    Cons

    No opportunity for upward movement as it is a small office and the management can be difficult to communicate with

    Maryland Energy Administration2015-05-04
  9. "Exceptional work environment. Great staff that have strong passion for their work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Annapolis, MD
    Recommends

    I worked at Maryland Energy Administration for less than a year

    Pros

    Good hours, management exemplifies trust in employees. The office is in a beautiful location in downtown Annapolis, Maryland. Supportive co-workers, all around excellent experience.

    Cons

    I did not recognize any cons when working here. The environment and people allowed me to leave the internship with a great impression of the agency.

    Maryland Energy Administration2014-09-30
  10. "fiscal account"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fiscal Specialist in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Maryland Energy Administration full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great skills to use at another company

    Cons

    short time it was only temoprary

    Advice to Management

    keep on running things

    Maryland Energy Administration2014-02-20
Found 12 reviews