Maryland SECU Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
52%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Maryland SECU President/CEO David Sweiderk  (no image)
David Sweiderk
6 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Its a great place to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Relationship Banker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maryland SECU full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits Great Co workers Great social Events with in the company

    Cons

    Management To many tranings not valuing your employees

    Continue reading
    Maryland SECU2019-04-18

    Maryland SECU Response

    August 20, 2019AVP, Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your SECU experience - your voice matters and we welcome your thoughts on how we can make your experience better. The value you find in the relationships built with your peers, organically or through company-sponsored activities and events, supports our culture of belonging and inclusion. We have been working with our leaders to deepen connections with team members as it's important to us that everyone feels valued and that their contributions matter. In support of this, we have made significant investments in our learning and development activities to ensure all team members have the skills and proficiency to be successful in their roles, while paving the way for growth opportunities. Our intention is not to have learning activities be overwhelming; rather, it's our intention to commit to the development of our team members so they feel fulfilled, both personally and professionally.

  2. "Culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller 
    Recommends

    I worked at Maryland SECU part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to learn & grow. They are committed to assist their employees career development Thro their Secu university.

    Cons

    Pay could be better & more competitive

    Maryland SECU2019-08-06

    Maryland SECU Response

    August 20, 2019AVP, Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your SECU experience - without the feedback, we cannot make strides to improve on our team members' experiences. We are happy to hear you found SECU as a great place to learn and grow as that reinforces our commitment to learning and development. Over time, we have made significant investments into our learning programs to ensure all team members are positioned to be successful in their current role, while honing skills to prepare them for growth opportunities. We have a robust and balanced total rewards program that offers both monetary and non-monetary benefits that center around overall wellness (physical, mental and financial). Understanding the importance of our team members feeling recognized and valued, we are launching additional efforts to ensure our compensation is market competitive while revisiting our overall rewards and recognition programs.

  3. "Great Opportunity! Amazing if you put in the work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Banker in Annapolis, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maryland SECU full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing team atmosphere! Large corporation with a very close knit brick and mortar feel. Decent pay. Consistent training and coaching. Hands on and invested management/upper management team Generous benefits and personal leave. Great opportunity and room for growth if you put in the work.

    Cons

    Sales goals with tight cap on commission :(

    Continue reading
    Maryland SECU2019-07-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "I care about the place, and want to see change."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Linthicum, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maryland SECU full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The new CEO has an interesting vision, and seems committed to making some large - and definitely needed - cultural changes. So far the changes have been fairly minimal in our area, but the pace of change will need to continue to accelerate to remain competitive. - The mission of a credit union and the people it tends to attract. Many of the people working in upper management at SECU likely could move to more lucrative roles outside the credit union space, but choose not to. This seems to filter out the greedy/grifter types of personalities that are common in the financial world. - In our department, if we can prove something would be a benefit to members (without a concrete dollar value attached) then it is prioritized. - Benefits, 401k reimbursement (although a long vesting time), and putting serious cash towards training, education, and development.

    Cons

    - Disorganization and lack of expertise at the upper levels. It's become clear that there are disconnects/changes at the highest levels that existed before the CEO change, but there are still odd things happening now. Projects get mismanaged, old processes get followed simply because "that's the way it is", and proposed changes to processes are ignored or shut-down. - The last decade of knowledge in terms of product design and user experience is lost on the people making decisions relating to those things. Rather than hiring people outside the financial space with experience in those fields, expertise is outsourced and overpriced + less effective solutions are used instead. - They're behind the times in many ways, and lack the intestinal fortitude to make big changes quickly. If you're looking for an institution that is looking for people that will help transform the organization/processes/etc, you will find very few teams that are prioritizing that. This is a common problem in old financial institutions, but will soon become a bigger and bigger issue as it becomes a competitive disadvantage. The slower they act now, the faster they will have to act in the future - not a good sign. - Politics. This will vary depending on what team you are in, but there is a spiderweb of processes and procedures maintained by long-time individuals in the company. This kills a lot of the spirit and drive of some of the more ambitious and caring employees. It also seems to create a culture of people being afraid to be outside the norm. There are some changes happening with culture, but the formality and knowing whose back to scratch is still an absolute innovation killer.

    Continue reading
    Maryland SECU2019-07-31
  5. "Nothing"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Teller 

    I have been working at Maryland SECU part-time

    Pros

    Ok place to work for a while

    Cons

    slow pace of advancement with

    Maryland SECU2019-07-29

    Maryland SECU Response

    August 20, 2019AVP, Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your SECU experience - we are committed to creating an environment where all team members feel SECU is a great place to work. Understanding growth opportunity is a motivator for you, we are happy to share that significant investments have been made in our learning programs to include Linked In Learning where everyone has access to thousands of on-demand learning assets. It's important to us that team members feel they receive development opportunities that hone skills to ensure success in their current role while creating a path for advancement. In addition to new learning programs, our leaders are working with team members to build actionable development plans that support role proficiency and on-going career aspirations. The result of this partnership has yielded several promotional opportunities for our team members in all areas of the organization. Albeit a great outcome, our overall goal is to create established career paths that provide visibility to potential opportunities across the organization that align with our team members' desired growth.

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Heavy workload and Under Compensated."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Maryland SECU full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They promote a nice culture and offer a lot of trainings to help educate you.

    Cons

    Salaries are under what the market offers for a similar position. A Member Advisor is considered a sales job, however there is no commission. The only way to make money beyond your salary is to get a bonus at the end of the quarter. But the bonus is only paid to the top 30 advisors out of the entire company, which is around 22 branches. Even if you lead your branch in production, you still may not make a bonus because the bonus is not just determined by your production, but also the production of your branch. So, you can knock it out of the park each quarter but if your branch doesn't meet its goals you may not get a bonus. The top bonus is $1,000, which only goes to the top 5 advisors, then it slides down to $250 depending on where you land in the top 30. And that's quarterly! SECU is notorious for system issues, daily. If you work there or patron there you are guaranteed to here, " I am having a problem with my system." Guaranteed. The workload is exorbitant to say the lease, and it becomes a lot heavier when having to deal with system delays and crashes, and not to mention managers that very rarely can offer solutions to issues, whether its a system issue, question about policy, or how to navigate their own data management software. They are not eager to give promotions, at least in the Member Advisor role. The only promotion you may receive is promotion to Member Advisor II or III. But, during my time there, I often saw a lot of excuses given from management to their top advisors as to why they wouldn't promote them to MA II or III, even though they exceeded their production goals . One of my colleagues was more knowledgeable than my manager, and he had been waiting for a promotion to MA III for three years. When I left he still hadn't been promoted. High employee turnover.

    Continue reading
    Maryland SECU2019-07-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good company, lots of changes"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Advisor in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maryland SECU full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Paid time off, benefits package, company events, friendly staff,

    Cons

    Work-Life Balance, lots of changes in upper management, bad pay scale

    Maryland SECU2019-06-10
  8. "GREAT PLACE"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Banker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maryland SECU full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Real family oriented and room to develop your skills

    Cons

    pay structure, and the pay

    Maryland SECU2019-04-16
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Do not work here"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Advisor in Crofton, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Maryland SECU full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros to working at SECU

    Cons

    Everything at SECU is mess. The incentive program has terrible limits in which out of 100+ Member Advisors only the top 30-35 get paid. So I could surpass all of my goals and still get nothing. There is also too much busy work and a level of distrust when it comes to how management treats the employees. You are pushed to sell products that the member doesn't need because they are all about hitting goals and management doesnt seem to care about the employees. Every time I voiced a concern I was dismissed and I am not the only one who feels this way in fact I believe that the only positive reviews on this page are written by HR or management themselves. SECU also seems to dislike the idea of promoting within opting to hire externally rather than internally so growth is very limited. This was the worst experience I have ever had and there is definitely a reason why all of their branches are understaffed with most new employees lasting less than 1 year. My branch felt like prison and we were not allowed to speak to one another even to ask questions. My experience here left me feeling less than and that is a feeling that no employee should feel especially when they have successfully achieved all their goals.

    Continue reading
    Maryland SECU2019-01-16
  10. "analyst"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Maryland SECU full-time

    Pros

    The people for the most part are freindly

    Cons

    No room for growth within the Organization and pay

    Maryland SECU2018-08-10

    Maryland SECU Response

    October 18, 2018AVP, Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your SECU experience - we appreciate your candid feedback as your employee experience is important to us! We agree with your sentiment on our people, as our values-driven organizational culture commands respect and appreciation for one another. Vince Lombardi, former Head Coach of the Green Bay Packers, said it best..."The challenge of every team is to build a feeling of oneness, of dependence on one another because the question is usually not how well each person performs, but how well they work together." Collaboration, teamwork and trust is at the heart of our success! As you may know, we have a pay-for-performance compensation philosophy at SECU, which is reviewed regularly, and we’re proud to say that our salary structure is market competitive to like-sized organizations. With "Education" as one of our Core Values, we are committed to further enhancing and nurturing a learning environment to help our employees grow in their careers. As SECU continues to evolve through growth and innovation, we recognize the opportunity to better create and communicate career paths for our employees as well as partnering with our leaders on how to have more impactful career planning conversations - this is work in progress. In the meantime, we are focused on further building upon our variety of learning assets that best support the skills and competencies needed for future opportunities. Thank you for your commitment to SECU and our members - we cannot deliver on our vision and purpose without you!

Found 71 reviews