Marywood University Reviews | Glassdoor

Marywood University Reviews

Updated Jan 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Marywood University CEO Mary Persico
Mary Persico
2 Ratings
  1. "Graduate Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Marywood University part-time

      Pros

      Very flexible and welcoming environment. Great job for a student

      Cons

      My experience has been nothing but good

      Marywood University2017-02-05
    • "Marywood is under great leadership"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Graduate Assistant 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Marywood University full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Sister Mary is great, The university pays for half of my tuition

      Cons

      The University used to pay for full tuition for full time GA's, now they only pay for half. The pay could be a little bit better, but it's not the worst.

      Marywood University2019-01-15
    • Helpful (2)

      "Still a rocky road ahead for MW"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Marywood University full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      - Above average benefits despite poor salaries (Lots of PTO, decent health care plans, 401k matching, full tuition). - Beautiful campus with a small community like feel. - Seems to be on the rebound thanks to the new administration, but problems are still plenty. (See cons)

      Cons

      - Terribly low salaries across the board (except for upper level management). Good talent is harder to attract because of the insulting salaries. - Very high attrition rate, which isn't only because of the restructuring related terminations. Very few new hires stay long. - Originally new leadership seemed to care about staffing issues, but it's still trying to trim further to cut costs. Transparency was promised...

      Show More
      Marywood University2018-08-27
    • Helpful (2)

      "Year to Year Instructor of Business"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Marywood University full-time

      Pros

      I thought the university was very welcoming and opened themselves up to me on my campus visit. I did not take the job I went for but all the faculty and support staff were very helpful.

      Cons

      Salary was switched at the last minute and came in just too low. I accepted the offer (verbally) said I would come but I could not come in that low with the pay.

      Advice to Management

      If you want talent from industry with a doctorate you have to pay the market value.

      Marywood University2018-06-11
    • "Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Marywood University full-time

      Pros

      Family friendly community-driven work environment. Great benefits.

      Cons

      Lower wages compensatory with above average benefits.

      Advice to Management

      Keep working hard and have an open ear!

      Marywood University2017-09-01
    • Helpful (3)

      "Great Facilities, Poor Leadership"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Instructor in Scranton, PA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Marywood University full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Some great new facilities: Library / "Learning Commons," School of Architecture, and Fine Arts building.

      Cons

      Experienced poor leadership and management at the department level. Individuals in leadership positions repeatedly disregard concerns brought forth by students and faculty regarding the quality of instruction in some courses. Poor morale among the students and faculty routinely ignored by leadership. I have seen competent and knowledgeable instructors forced out by politically ambitious colleagues and superiors...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Establish a (better) system by which faculty members can be held accountable for their actions. A structured peer review process might be helpful.

      Marywood University2017-08-07
    • "Art Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Student Worker in Scranton, PA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Marywood University part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Very friendly environment; great people to work with

      Cons

      I've never had any problems.

      Marywood University2017-03-21
    • Helpful (1)

      "Former worker"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Marywood University full-time

      Pros

      Hours are good when you have kids.

      Cons

      Very poor pay and no morale

      Advice to Management

      Treat employees kinder and better.

      Marywood University2017-02-23
    • "Work Study assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Work Study Assistanr in Dunmore, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Marywood University part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      - flexible hours - ability to easily communicate with staff - enjoyable coworkers - fun atmosphere - understanding of the changing schedule every college student faces

      Cons

      Inability to do "study" during "work study". Although I do understand the need to be present in times of work, typically during downtime on the job you are afforded the opportunity to study or do homework when appropriate. It was my experience with the athletic department that this was not the case, and outside work for school was not permitted

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work

      Marywood University2017-01-16
    • "oveall"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Marywood University

        Pros

        Commitiment to diversity and friendly community

        Cons

        I have no cons, I like the place

        Marywood University2016-11-18
      Found 32 reviews