Mashable Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Mashable Intern Reviews

Updated Jan 15, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Mashable CEO Pete Cashmore
Pete Cashmore
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing internship experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mashable

    Pros

    -Fun and generally relaxed work environment -Friendly employees -Managers and coworkers take the time to get to know you -Very learning oriented -Overall an amazing place to intern, the office environment is never dull and all the people that work there are full of creative energy

    Cons

    -The workplace can be a little cliquey, be prepared to be social and outgoing if you want to have a a worthwhile experience -Although they are making efforts to improve this, a lack of diversity is still an issue

    Advice to Management

    -While having an organized internship project is a great wait to foster connections and camaraderie among interns, it becomes too much of a hassle as interns take on more responsibilities later on in the program

    Mashable2016-03-28
  2. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mashable for more than a year

    Pros

    collaborative work environment, kitchen, video production. After some time people were very nice but it definitely took some time as an intern to have anyone look at you twice.

    Cons

    management, lack of transparency, lack of direction - I just think so many people don't know what they're doing or even supposed to be doing. There is also a huge disconnect between editorial and anything having to do with sales- but I think you'll find that at most media publishers unfortunately.

    Mashable2018-01-15
  3. "Great opportunities, mediocre management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at Mashable for more than a year

    Pros

    A great way to get amazing bylines read by millions and really start to gain a following. You get to go to fancy parties and media events all the time and work with quite accomplished writers.

    Cons

    The managers are slow and often take a really long time to edit yrur stuff. You have to be super proactive or you won't get any feedback on your work.

    Advice to Management

    Stop sugarcoating advice to interns. Tell them what they are doing wrong so they can grow.

    Mashable2017-12-15
  4. "Social Media Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Social Media Intern in Hempstead, NY

      I have been working at Mashable for less than a year

      Pros

      Great environment; great team; great food; great atmosphere.

      Cons

      No complaints really; everything is going well.

      Mashable2016-02-23
    • Helpful (3)

      "Best Place I've Ever Worked For"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Mashable

      Pros

      Amazing culture. Beautiful new office. Everyone loves their jobs. Lots of enthusiasm around the office. Interns are treated just like employees. Start-up vibe with solid financial backing since the company is expanding very quickly and receiving lots of venture capital injections. Everyone's always happy to help you. Weekly breakfasts and happy hours. You can easily have a conversation with a C-suite employee over beer...

      Show More

      Cons

      Mashable does tend to hire a lot of its interns, but since it's a growing company, they won't write you an full time offer months/a year in advance like a lot of bigger companies do.

      Mashable2015-11-20
    • "Not for everyone"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Intern in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mashable for less than a year

      Pros

      Tons of freedom and flexibility Biweekly happy hours and team breakfasts Laid back office culture

      Cons

      If you want to transition from intern to full-time, you're going to have to take it into your own hands

      Advice to Management

      Be more upfront with whether or not you plan to keep your interns rather than giving them the "budget costs" runaround

      Mashable2015-06-03
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Intern in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mashable part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The company culture is amazing, the employees are great and friendly and very welcoming. Endless opportunity to move up. The company is moving in the right direction.

      Cons

      Nothing to say here really.

      Mashable2014-05-15
    • "Best internship I've ever had!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Editorial Intern in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Mashable for less than a year

      Pros

      Everyone here loves what they do, and you can feel it. The young staff is very motivated to mentor interns, because they were in your shoes not too long ago. And the very fast-growing company frequently hires people after their internships. Very comfortable offices with a lounge-like area if you're more productive on the couch than in a cubicle. Friday afternoons=happy hour. Need I say more?

      Cons

      At least when I was there (not sure if it's changed since but I doubt it), interns needed to bring in their own computers to work on. Not a huge deal, just a logistical concern. Honestly, can't really think of any cons! Amazing place to intern.

      Mashable2014-03-26
    Found 8 reviews