Mashable Reviews | Glassdoor

Mashable Reviews

Updated Jul 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 75 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Mashable CEO Pete Cashmore
Pete Cashmore
45 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mashable full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people, a lot of place for growth, very collaborative teams. Management values employees individually. Great opportunities to make impact. Very supportive in visa processes.

    Cons

    Not a lot of culture/employee events.

    Mashable2019-07-09
  2. "Great Time at Mashable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mashable

    Pros

    Had a great time at Mashable. Learned a whole lot. Cool people.

    Cons

    Wish I could have had some more money! But I don't think it's their fault you know? It happens. Management was also shaky at times. Direct superiors were solid, but up top I think there was some serious confusion.

    Mashable2018-12-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Positive Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Mashable full-time

    Pros

    fun culture, good people, collaboration

    Cons

    lots of change, hard to be promoted or get a significant raise

    Mashable2017-12-12
  4. "decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mashable full-time

    Pros

    I work with a great team

    Cons

    Some of the ideas are pretty stale

    Mashable2017-12-06
  5. "Top 3"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mashable full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People Unlimited PTO Snacks Happy Hours Mashable offers employees the typical perks of most start ups. Snacks, monthly breakfast, monthly happy hours, unlimited pto. I can only speak to my experience while working here, and I realize everyone's experience may differ. Mashable has done a pretty great job at hiring people that fit into the company culture. You can really work with some great people while... at Mashable. Leadership is surprising. I've come from a background where most leadership teams don't speak to most employees, unless they are at a certain level in the company. That isn't the case here. I have found leadership to be very likable. They will pass by you and say hi, and maybe even strike up a small conversation. Again not typical of most leadership teams. Let's talk diversity. While I believe most companies can do better at hiring more people of color, Mashable definitely is open to doing so, and has done so on numerous occasions. I very rarely feel uncomfortable due to being a woman of color. Now on to HR.... I think HR functions pretty well. I can honestly say I trust the HR team at Mashable more so than any other HR team I've worked with in the past. I can tell the head of HR is not just interested in attracting top notch talent, but in retaining that talent as well. I've seen HR listen and take into consideration employees concerns. I've seen employees leave for positions that pay more money, and they regretted it. They often mention how awful the culture at the new company is. I think that once you work for a company with such an awesome culture, it's hard to find that elsewhere. Overall I am happy so far with my experience at Mashable. While no company will ever be perfect and there is always room for improvement, Mashable is definitely in my top 3 companies I've worked for.

    Show More

    Cons

    Doesn't offer free lunch (this is technically not a con, but it would be a great perk to have) Quarterly evaluations.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to value your employees.

    Mashable2017-11-02
  6. Helpful (3)

    "A lot of change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mashable full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People, work/life balance, happy hours, good name

    Cons

    Revolving door on certain teams/leadership, lack of concrete vision, relatively stagnant career growth

    Advice to Management

    Value your current employees enough to make them stay. People leaving causes undue burden on the remaining employees, so it continues the cycle.

    Mashable2017-05-15
  7. "Creative Strategist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mashable full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Start up feels with more structure ands mall perks

    Cons

    middle management is lacking - the majority of the company are entry level/not so senior talent, so there needs to be better guiding and management of talent and career. I do not see much of this as many employees are disgruntled by the lack of care and attention managers put into their reports.

    Mashable2017-05-01
  8. "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mashable

    Pros

    Young, fun, very friendly people. Nice start-up type perks.

    Cons

    Doesn't pay well, high turnover

    Mashable2016-07-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Cool place to work, communication needs to be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     

    I have been working at Mashable

    Pros

    Awesome place to start out.

    Cons

    Failed to utilize full breadth of skills of employees. Communication isn't as good as it should be.

    Mashable2016-05-23
  10. "Social Media Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Social Media Intern in Hempstead, NY

    I have been working at Mashable for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment; great team; great food; great atmosphere.

    Cons

    No complaints really; everything is going well.

    Mashable2016-02-23
Found 75 reviews