Mashable Reviews | Glassdoor

Mashable Reviews

Updated Jul 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 74 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Mashable CEO Pete Cashmore
Pete Cashmore
45 Ratings
  1. "Social Media Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Social Media Intern in Hempstead, NY

      I have been working at Mashable for less than a year

      Pros

      Great environment; great team; great food; great atmosphere.

      Cons

      No complaints really; everything is going well.

      Mashable2016-02-23
    • "Internship Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Ad Ops Intern in Culver City, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Mashable part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great work environment, good direction, learned a lot of skills

      Cons

      too much good food

      Mashable2016-02-18
    • "Ad Operations Intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Mashable part-time

      Pros

      great manager, great summer internship program, good structure, good allocation of responsibilities

      Cons

      working in office that was under renovation

      Mashable2016-01-25
    • Helpful (6)

      "Fun office and good place to develop skills, but interns get ignored"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Mashable

      Pros

      Young, fun work environment. Most people are pretty easy to talk to and willing to help if you ask. Lots of fun events like happy hour, breakfasts, and famous dogs (and sometimes people) come to the office to play! $10/hr pay was really good for an editorial internship.

      Cons

      The first week we were taught how to use all of the programs and about the protocols of writing for Mashable, but after that we were left entirely on our own. There wasn't a lot of reaching out from editors and writers, so it was a little intimidating asking for help. Felt like we were outsiders to the cliques from each department, even the ones we were assigned. There was ZERO communication from HR and the editors about...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Talk to the interns! Don't just drop them off into oblivion after the first week- check in on them once a week or something and talk to them about how to apply for a full-time job. And don't be sketchy when you decide to keep some interns for another section and not others, we're all adults here. Mashable was a great place to work and I learned a lot, but it can be intimidating for someone in college to work at such...

      Show More
      Mashable2015-11-30
    • Helpful (1)

      "Best job I've ever had"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mashable full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Friendly environment Lots of creative freedom Well developed teams across the board Effective collaboration

      Cons

      A lot of people are fairly new, so protocols need some work

      Advice to Management

      Please be sure to keep the creative, thoughtful atmosphere. Continue to stray from an environment that is too corporate.

      Mashable2015-12-01
    • Helpful (3)

      "Best Place I've Ever Worked For"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Mashable

      Pros

      Amazing culture. Beautiful new office. Everyone loves their jobs. Lots of enthusiasm around the office. Interns are treated just like employees. Start-up vibe with solid financial backing since the company is expanding very quickly and receiving lots of venture capital injections. Everyone's always happy to help you. Weekly breakfasts and happy hours. You can easily have a conversation with a C-suite employee over beer...

      Show More

      Cons

      Mashable does tend to hire a lot of its interns, but since it's a growing company, they won't write you an full time offer months/a year in advance like a lot of bigger companies do.

      Mashable2015-11-20
    • Helpful (1)

      "Fun atmosphere with some issues"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Mashable full-time

      Pros

      Good company culture Cool offices Fun people and a very laid back mentality (in certain departments) The company is expanding

      Cons

      Haven't maintained quite the same company culture as they've scaled The pay is not great Senior management sometimes doesn't do the best job communicating company direction down to the rest of the staff

      Advice to Management

      My advice would be to continue keeping the same company culture and level of connection to the staffers as they continue to expand

      Mashable2015-11-15
    • "Overall Good Atmosphere"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Designer in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mashable for more than a year

      Pros

      Good culture and attentive management. Every one is very nice and the management seems to pay attention to employee problems.

      Cons

      I think they could focus more on what they want to be as a culture. It feels like sometimes they try and do too many things at once.

      Advice to Management

      Try and make the mission clearer. People are becoming jaded to advertising and online media. It will be hard to stand out from the pack.

      Mashable2015-11-03
    • Helpful (6)

      "great place for a male employee to get ahead"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mashable full-time

      Pros

      Friendly and approachable CEO. Very nice office. Helpful HR department.

      Cons

      Men are highly favored in this company. It is hard for a female to even get acknowledged sometimes from some upper management, let alone get fairly treated.

      Advice to Management

      Some not all of the C level folks should try to acknowledge female staff. It feels a bit sexist when you walk by female staff without even saying "hi" but you can laugh and exchange stories with all the guys even interns as long as they are guys.

      Mashable2015-10-04
    • Helpful (8)

      "editorial"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mashable

      Pros

      Good place to learn more about digital and social. Mostly awesome staff.

      Cons

      It's appalling and a little disconcerting that Mashable has a race problem. I'll say it again. A race problem. The mostly white staff has a serious lack of diversity and hiring practices. Worse, there's a pattern of retention with its remaining staff who are of color. In the past three months alone 3 staffers of color were either let go or left the company.

      Advice to Management

      Management needs to diversify and do so quickly. It's very alarming that the small number of minorities are being dismissed or jumping ship. Not a good sign for a company who wants to become global and seems to care about diverse issues.

      Mashable2015-10-01
    Found 74 reviews