Masonite International Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Manager

Masonite International Manager Reviews

Updated 2 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
57%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Masonite International CEO Frederick J. Lynch  (no image)
Frederick J. Lynch
13 Ratings
  1. "Good entry level job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Masonite International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work-life balance Freedom from micromanagement Good boss

    Cons

    Lots of time in the car, but that comes with the Territory Management job

    Advice to Management

    Keep promoting from within. Over the last year there have been a lot of opportunities for growth, please keep this up.

    Masonite International2017-01-05
  2. "Great benefits for all employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Masonite International full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefit package is nice. Three weeks vacation to start and costs are low compared to other like companies.

    Cons

    Key employees are counted on to carry extra work load to keep overhead lower.

    Masonite International2019-10-02
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Confusing Company At Times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Manager in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Masonite International full-time

    Pros

    Big company, pay is decent.

    Cons

    Only speaking from my location (Tampa). In my 24 years in manufacturing, this is the most dysfunctional group of leaders I ever experienced. The plant manager got no respect from no one. I witnessed, the plant manager walked on the floor and one production worker asked him why is he out here, he only gonna mess things up more. I witnessed the value stream leaders (VSL) and plant manager yelling (literally) at... each other about distribution of manpower to satisfy production. I can give more examples but I will stop here. Complete out of control atmosphere.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do a better job screening your leaders. I know no company is perfect but when your peers shows no respect to each other or their boss changes need to be made.

    Masonite International2019-07-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Area Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Masonite International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Freedom to grow your territory as your business. Very little micromanagement. Very nice and helpful people. Some cool travel opportunities.

    Cons

    Customer complaints can be draining at times. Can also feel like you're on an island when you don't see another coworker for months.

    Advice to Management

    Upper management wants this role to be a hunter role. Make the role more of a commission based role and you'll see the results you're looking for. Also, reward ASMs that meet/exceed quota instead of everyone getting their bonus.

    Masonite International2018-01-24
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Area Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Masonite International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Create your own schedule ( when possible) , flexible and free to visit accounts

    Cons

    Pay to stress ratio, lack of leadership and motivation, products that don't pass Quality control, issues..issues and more issues.. Too much micro managment and "projects" to handle

    Advice to Management

    Fix the issues at the plants, more experienced Management.

    Masonite International2017-12-20
  6. "Area Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Masonite International full-time

    Pros

    Not micro-managed and managers are excellent. Good pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Corporate company, so sometimes there is a disconnect between upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Mentor the employees who wish to stay in the company.

    Masonite International2017-11-21
  7. Helpful (6)

    "High Turnover - AVOID -"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Masonite International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The blueprint with values and focus is a good vision of focus for business units to align with. The Masonite Innovation Center in Chicago is a great place to work. You can come and go as you please (hardly anyone works 40 hours). Goals are only set and reviewed once a year and everything changes so you don't have to worry about accountability.

    Cons

    The executive, senior, and middle leadership is great at throwing people under the bus. Goals and focus are constantly changing due to weak leadership. Over 70% turnover (3 yr timeframe) in upper and middle leadership in Tampa and Chicago. Look at LinkedIn time in positions for Masonite leadership and it will be clear. Business units do not get along or work together. Company resources are functional and... each function has separate goals from each of the Business units. Conflicting goals and priorities are everywhere witch leads to low engagement, delays, and poor results.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    1. Business units should have goals / incentives to work together. 2. Functions should only have goals derived from collective business unit needs. Business units should be stakeholders with input on the functional goals. 3. Improve hiring and increase bench leadership bench strength. 4. Listen "again" to the employee focus group with suggestions to leadership. 5. Hold MIC leadership accountable.

    Masonite International2017-11-18
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Good old boys still running things"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Manager in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Masonite International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Compensation package was generous, most people are genuine. Tampa office is well equipped and parking is paid for. Decent health and 401k bennies

    Cons

    Good old boys club runs the show. If you run afoul of them prepare to be forced out!! The inner circle is impossible to enter. They are not interested in improvement plans for performance, love to "press the fire button"

    Advice to Management

    Get real and stop wasting people's time!

    Masonite International2017-08-13
  9. "Very strong growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Masonite International full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Growth benefits pay locations people

    Cons

    Hours, takes to long to get people added

    Advice to Management

    They're to quick to hire outside vs looking at the folks they have. Applying confidentially internal is not possible.

    Masonite International2017-03-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Financial Analyst/Controller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Finance Manager/Controller in Denmark, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Masonite International for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent company, people, benefits, salary, growth opportunities, ability to implement new ideas. Best support and team work within organization. Management cares about the people. Work life balance. Family orriented

    Cons

    Restructure relocated my position. Hated to leave this organization

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. Some of the greatest people I've ever worked with.

    Masonite International2016-06-18
Found 21 reviews