Masonite International "boys club" Reviews | Glassdoor

Masonite International Employee Reviews about "boys club"

Updated Jul 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
52%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Masonite International CEO         Frederick J. Lynch  (no image)
Frederick J. Lynch
120 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay affordable health insurance(in 10 reviews)

  • "This company has some decent benefits, and a decent matching for 401k(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "At the end of the day Masonite's is a boys club, really starting at Director and above it's almost all white males(in 11 reviews)

  • "Corporate company, so sometimes there is a disconnect between upper management(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "boys club"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Boys Club"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Office in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Masonite International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Steady job, some really good people around my peer level or below

    Cons

    At the end of the day Masonite's is a boys club, really starting at Director and above it's almost all white males. So many meetings start by talking about recent score to whatever sport is on, fishing, golfing, hunting etc. It's hard as a female to fit in, find a mentor, or really to be taken seriously. Also, they talk so much about employee development, and investing in their employees, it's been a major talking point with the re-branding, however, bonuses have been significantly underfunded for years, raises hardly cover cost of living increases, and there seemingly is no other benefits that they introduced with the new push for employee engagement. Masonite is constantly over budget and the Company demands so much from the employees without properly funding what they want done, however, there seems to be plenty of money for expensive training for executives, offsite retreats for executives, etc.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I would provide training or coaching to current leadership on how to mentor and promote females, also, think about real actions that can be done to engage employees. Also if employees aren't receive their bonuses, it sends a bad message when executives can seemingly spend what they want on their own development, travel, etc.

    Masonite International2019-07-08
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Avoid like the plague"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Masonite International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Downtown location and parking pass

    Cons

    Gross incompetence from management across all levels. A serious lack of awareness and communication between them and teams. Nothing is streamlined or communicated well. Benefits are poor. Promotions are not based on merit but favorites. First year pay increase is pro-rated, regardless of how great your contributions may have been. Bonuses are only given to middle management and above, despite poor company performance, which is ridiculous given how much work employees do, along with pressure. Layoffs took place while C-suite walked away with fat bonuses. Refusal to increase staffing in areas that desperately need it. Money is spent poorly. Budgets are cut every year but somehow there's always room for management to get a brand new $1200 Mac but not computers for employees running on old and slow hardware. Boys club. Very conservative, so don't expect your voice to be heard or progress if you're a woman. Career development? Forget about it. Not even part of the culture.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You know what needs to change, but nothing will happen, year after year. New culture document, some buzzwords, and that's a wrap.

    Masonite International2019-07-15
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Dead end for non management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Masonite International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paycheck, some health insurance and occasional free food.

    Cons

    Old boys club for upper management, some seems to have endless vacation time. "Business trips" with five star accommodations with little office time. No money for promotions, most goes to the top three. HR is horrible, the whole place is a revolving door.

    Advice to Management

    Why bother they won't listen.

    Masonite International2019-02-17
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Thankfully CEO is leaving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Masonite International

    Pros

    None that I can think of.

    Cons

    CEO perpetuates the old boys club adage and plays favorites. The workload is high and the rewards are low. There is little to no thanks for a job well-done. HR is basically useless and is pretty much a revolving door of poor performance. Thankfully CEO announced his retirement”.

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent while doing a better job communicating. Stop playing favorites. Your employees have good ideas - listen to them.

    Masonite International2018-12-20
  5. Helpful (5)

    "It’s a Man’s World"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Accounting in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Masonite International full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits and great co-workers and dedicated employees.

    Cons

    Big talk about employee development - if you’re a man. Women are not promoted. Still a good old boys club. Nothing has changed.

    Advice to Management

    Take a look around at your loyal long term employees and start recognizing those who are really doing the work - not the “popular kids” who spend their time brown nosing. Give women the same opportunities you give your “friends”. Time to really start walking the talk!!!

    Masonite International2018-07-28
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Good old boys still running things"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Manager in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Masonite International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Compensation package was generous, most people are genuine. Tampa office is well equipped and parking is paid for. Decent health and 401k bennies

    Cons

    Good old boys club runs the show. If you run afoul of them prepare to be forced out!! The inner circle is impossible to enter. They are not interested in improvement plans for performance, love to "press the fire button"

    Advice to Management

    Get real and stop wasting people's time!

    Masonite International2017-08-13
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Financial Analyst-Global Business Services in Tampa, FL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Masonite International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people at the corporate office, a lot of camaraderie, involvement in community events and activities and an overall pleasant vibe.

    Cons

    GBS management is a joke, definitely a good old boys club. GBS Directors and Managers (most, but not all) regularly throw temper tantrums and like to throw everyone under the bus, particularly other employees in the same division. If you can work in another division, you'll be fine, come to work in GBS and you'll be miserable. They are hiring a lot of people as a result of an exodus of experienced personnel tired of the constant drama and favoritism. On that same note, avoid HR at all costs, they are especially useless and extremely unethical. Everything you say to them in "confidence" will be taken back to your manager in no time and used against you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start terminating the petty Directors and Managers in the GBS division, they are only making things unbearable for the employees and people are starting to leave the company as a result. You can do a lot better than what you currently have in place and in fact, if you put individuals in those roles with any kind of leadership skills, GBS could be something that is actually effective for the company. You also need to clean house in HR, the reputation they are garnering is both poisonous to morale and the brand and most employees avoid speaking with them as a result.

    Show More
    Masonite International2016-04-19
  8. Helpful (3)

    "machine operator/lift"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machine Operator in Kirkwood, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Masonite International full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great pay for the area.

    Cons

    Poor management Lack of employee moral Good ol boys club

    Advice to Management

    Was threatened to be fired if i went to grandmother's funeral. That is wrong. I was fired because i got hurt by a faulty "Safety" knife issued by company. Also wrong and illegal which is why i assume you didn't deny my unemployment. Been there eight years. I would go back if under different management.

    Masonite International2015-08-30
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Masonite International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay decent, hours are great. If you are with the "in" group you have it made.

    Cons

    Good ole boys club, insurance outrageous. Don't rock the boat and go with the flow no matter how wrong it is.

    Advice to Management

    Wake up, see what's going on when information from management meetings make it to the floor you have a problem and it creates a hostile work environment. You know where the leak is but you allow it to continue because this person handles everything for you which makes your life easy. Be careful things like this make for great lawsuits,

    Masonite International2015-04-08
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Should have gotten out before I got my 4th boss in four years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Masonite International full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent money. Decent benefits.

    Cons

    Upper management is good old boys club. Couldn't lead. Didn't have an innovative bone in their body. No project management skills. Quick to blame subordinates for their own ineptness. Didn't listen. Their motto should have been "Do what I say. Not what I do." If they did listen they never gave you credit. They never admitted once that they were wrong or made mistakes. Their mismanagement of the company cost many good people their jobs. I should have gotten out of there much sooner.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Since upper management is to blame I have no advice for them. I hope they take their options and get out before it's too late.

    Masonite International2014-08-31
Found 11 reviews