Massachusetts General Hospital Reviews

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
86%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Massachusetts General Hospital President Peter L. Slavin
Peter L. Slavin
353 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low salary compensation and lack of upward mobility(in 32 reviews)

  • "long hours and lack of work life balance(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Love my job!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outpatient 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Massachusetts General Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team of people who make everyone feel heard and all care so much about the patients. Some of the best people I have ever worked with.

    Cons

    I haven’t come across any yet, except for the first year of health insurance is pricey but after a year it drops almost $250 per month depending on your plan.

    Massachusetts General Hospital2020-04-14
  2. "Registered Nurse"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Massachusetts General Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good schedule, great resume booster

    Cons

    Pay is least competitive in the boston area

    Continue reading
    Massachusetts General Hospital2020-05-28
  3. "great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Physician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Massachusetts General Hospital full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    collegiality, professionalism, complexity of cases, great city

    Cons

    lots of complex cases, long hours, required research

    Massachusetts General Hospital2020-05-27
  4. "Good place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unit Coordinator 

    I have been working at Massachusetts General Hospital part-time

    Pros

    They were so flexible and came in clutch

    Cons

    Nothing really comes to mind

    Massachusetts General Hospital2020-05-25
  5. "good"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Volunteer in Boston, MA

    I worked at Massachusetts General Hospital part-time

    Pros

    good volunteering for patients there

    Cons

    no cons i can think of

    Massachusetts General Hospital2020-05-08
  6. "MGH Faculty for Scientists"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist/Instructor in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Massachusetts General Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    MGH is a great academic environment with endless opportunities to collaborate and define cutting edge research.

    Cons

    Hierarchy is the biggest problem specially for junior faculties. For non MD faculties, the biggest cons is that you have to bring your own grant to provide for your won salary.

    Continue reading
    Massachusetts General Hospital2020-05-07
  7. "Great workplace but low salaries"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Massachusetts General Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, employees and the opportunity to learn new things.

    Cons

    Low salaries and it look like you need to have a clinical background to get to the top positions.

    Massachusetts General Hospital2020-05-08
  8. "Pay Could Be Better"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Research Associate in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Massachusetts General Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Once you're an employee they look after you for the most part. In terms of medical problems.

    Cons

    Pay was not that good

    Continue reading
    Massachusetts General Hospital2020-05-06
  9. "Easy hiring but low salary"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Clinical Research Coordinator 

    I worked at Massachusetts General Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Easy hiring process and 2-day orientation

    Cons

    Very low pay grade HR is hard to get in touch with

    Massachusetts General Hospital2020-05-20
  10. "Overall positive"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Massachusetts General Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary, good research institution, progressive, friendly

    Cons

    Overall, not too many cons, it's a very well funded institution

    Massachusetts General Hospital2020-05-04
Found 1241 reviews