Massage Envy Reviews | Glassdoor

Massage Envy Reviews

Updated August 13, 2018
2,977 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Massage Envy CEO Joe Magnacca
Joe Magnacca
698 Ratings

2,977 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Takes getting used to (back to back clients)" (in 46 reviews)

  • "No benefits wish I had more vacation" (in 118 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Get to know your local frachise owner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Knoxville, TN
    Current Employee - Management in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Massage Envy full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Exceptional customer service, great culture, positive working environment

    Cons

    misunderstanding of customers who don't understand each franchise may run differently based on owners

    Massage Envy Response

    Jun 11, 2018

    Massage Envy Franchising thanks you for your positive review. We'll pass it along to the regional leadership for your area. Thanks again!


  2. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Massage Envy full-time

    Pros

    there was opportunity for growth in my position and being able to get bonuses for sales was great

    Cons

    It can be consuming at times. They are open 7 days a week for long hours and the demand of that can become taxing.

    Massage Envy Response

    Aug 14, 2018

    On behalf of Massage Envy Franchising, thank you for sharing this feedback. We'll pass it along to the regional leadership for your area. Thanks again!

  3. "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Massage Envy full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Products and Services offered at affordable prices.

    Cons

    Salary and benefits offered not competitive.

    Massage Envy Response

    Aug 14, 2018

    On behalf of Massage Envy Franchising, thank you for sharing this feedback.


  4. "LMT with Flexible, Consistent Schedule, and Involved Owners"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Massage Therapist in Downers Grove, IL
    Former Employee - Licensed Massage Therapist in Downers Grove, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Massage Envy full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Consistent and reliable schedule with large opportunity to build up repeat clientele and be rewarded for it, predictable pay increases, schedule flexibility, Disability Insurance along with health insurance that is offered, Owners listened and implemented ideas from meetings as well as very proactive in the clinics, upper-management that cares about not only the clients but employees too, great quality of the building (from the break room to the tranquility room), smaller sized location so more cozy and welcoming

    Cons

    The only constructive thing I could say is that it could use a couples room (but I’m not a huge fan of giving couples massages so I guess that depends on your preference)

    Massage Envy Response

    Aug 7, 2018

    On behalf of Massage Envy Franchising, thank you for sharing your positive review! We'll pass it along to the regional leadership for your area. Thanks again!


  5. "Licensed massage therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Massage Therapist in Miami, FL
    Current Employee - Licensed Massage Therapist in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Massage Envy part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Family oriented, great clientele , great management now..

    Cons

    Communication with front desk can be misguided. It works itself out though

    Massage Envy Response

    Aug 7, 2018

    On behalf of Massage Envy Franchising, thank you for sharing your positive review! We're thrilled to hear that your experience as an employee in a Massage Envy franchised location is a positive one... More


  6. "Fun Job, Excellent Launching Point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Associate
    Current Employee - Front Desk Associate
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Massage Envy part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -Hours are flexible
    -you are always busy during the day, but never stressed out
    -fun and comfortable work environment
    -lots of opportunity to get to know the staff you work with
    -build relationships with regular customers
    -lots of opportunity for commission and bonuses

    Cons

    -LOW hourly rate
    -commission from selling memberships is really where you make $$$ -- but it's very hard to get people to sign up for them
    -rude customers or impatient people who complain that there isn't space for them on that day's schedule
    -ME is franchise run, so the difference between how certain locations handle the same situations can lead to having to deal with frustrated and sometimes incredibly rude customers
    -ME locations can sometimes care more about making money than actually helping customers when they have complaints

    Advice to Management

    make sure you don't complain when people have complaints about your location. Seek to accommodate them instead of trying to assert your power over them.

    Don't focus on simply getting $$ out of people. Care for them...truly

    Massage Envy Response

    Aug 6, 2018

    On behalf of Massage Envy Franchising, thank you for sharing this feedback. Locations are independently owned and operated, so the employment experience that each provides is unique. As a whole, we... More


  7. "Stretch therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Commack, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Commack, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Massage Envy part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Amazing manager and work environment! Friendly staff, very clean.

    Cons

    There is no down time pay

    Massage Envy Response

    Jul 31, 2018

    Massage Envy Franchising thanks you for your positive review. We'll pass it along to the regional leadership for the Commack area. Thanks again!

  8. "stretch service provider"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stretch Service Provider
    Current Employee - Stretch Service Provider
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Massage Envy part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    work around your schedule, if the front desk staff likes you you can have a relatively booked schedule. free massage and facial for signing on with company.

    Cons

    can only change your availability every 6 months, training to be a stretch service provider was not very helpful and If i didn't have a background in the health/science field I would not have felt ready to do what they expected me to do.

    Massage Envy Response

    Aug 14, 2018

    On behalf of Massage Envy Franchising, thank you for sharing this feedback. We'd be happy to pass your review along to the regional leadership in your area. If you'd like to provide some additional... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "I <3 my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Massage Therapist in Bel Air, MD
    Current Employee - Licensed Massage Therapist in Bel Air, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Massage Envy full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    I began my journey as a massage therapist right out of massage school in 2010. ME is a fantastic place to start right out of school; you definitely see a wide range of problems clients have and you build your techniques skills very quickly. ME is so much more than this. ME is a place where you can build your relationships with your clients and your clientele base; I have clients I have been working with for 7+ years. We have so many talented MTs at this location and there is always something that an MT can learn from another. We have a wonderful management team in place. They truly want everyone to succeed and will help you in any way that they can. ME also invests in their MTs by offering free CEUs, and our franchise owners usually offers a free CEU course during the year as well. There are even opportunities for CEU reimbursement. Full and Part time MTs can earn a reimbursement for their MD license renewal and ABMP insurance. Benefits are offered and we can earn paid time off. Our franchise owner also allows all team members to receive a free 1 hour service (massage/facial/stretch) per month, anything over the 1 hour is at a discounted rate. Not all franchisees offer this job perk! My background going into massage therapy was in the restaurant industry. Being a MT is completely different. I love that I only have to focus on 1 person during their session, and I am able to give my clients my full attention during their session. I have to come in , set my room up, take care of my clients, complete my notes and clean up at the end of my shift. ME takes care of everything else-marketing, scheduling, building maintenance and we use a linen service.

    Cons

    I really love my job and everything that I do at ME! I really don't like not being fully booked, but it is really rare that I come to work and have an opening. In general, my schedule is fully booked at least 2 weeks out, so if there is an opening its because a client had to cancel or reschedule their appt. Life happens and sometimes appts have to be moved.

    Advice to Management

    I believe that we currently have the best management team at our location that we have ever had! Our clinic runs so smoothly because of the leadership we have from our general manager. spa director and the rest of our management team. Keep up the great work ladies!

    Massage Envy Response

    Jul 26, 2018

    On behalf of Massage Envy Franchising, thank you for sharing your positive review! As a whole, franchisees aim to deliver on the Massage Envy brand promise--we help you take care of you--to their... More


  10. "Good Place to Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk in Coral Springs, FL
    Former Employee - Front Desk in Coral Springs, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Massage Envy (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great Team
    Friendly Manager
    Easy to request time off

    Cons

    Low hourly Rate
    Really strict on membership sales

    Massage Envy Response

    Jul 30, 2018

    Thank you for your review. We'll pass it along to the regional leadership for the Coral Springs area. Thanks again!


Showing 2,977 of 2,990 reviews
Reset Filters