Massage Envy Reviews

Updated May 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Massage Envy CEO Beth Stiller (no image)
Beth Stiller
54 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible schedule for college students(in 293 reviews)

  • "And we're right by a mall, so we have plenty of traffic and stay totally booked(in 174 reviews)

Cons
  • "No benefits or opportunities for growth(in 141 reviews)

  • "Can become a little stressful with the little time between massages, nothing I can't handle though(in 119 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Easiest job ever!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wellness Consultant in Jacksonville, FL

    I have been working at Massage Envy full-time

    Pros

    Computer work, sales commission, super easy

    Cons

    Closing late hours sucks sometimes

    Massage Envy2020-05-22

    Massage Envy Response

    May 26, 2020

    Massage Envy Franchising thanks you for your positive review!

  2. "Flexibility and Busy Schedule"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Massage Therapist in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Massage Envy part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    If you are a person who likes to stay busy, work hard, and have a big company culture. ME is for you.

    Cons

    You can make more in two hours freelance than you can in one shift at ME

    Massage Envy2020-05-25

    Massage Envy Response

    May 26, 2020

    On behalf of Massage Envy Franchising, thank you for your positive review and sharing this feedback.

  3. "Great Place to a Build Career"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Massage Therapist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Massage Envy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to advance within the company while building a better technique. All coworkers are pleasant and easy to work with

    Cons

    Constant management turnover and delay in necessary products.

    Massage Envy2020-05-15

    Massage Envy Response

    May 18, 2020

    On behalf of Massage Envy Franchising, thank you for your positive review and for sharing this feedback.

  4. "Great job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk in Austin, TX
    Recommends

    I worked at Massage Envy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of growth and opportunity.

    Cons

    Not great pay or bonuses

    Massage Envy2020-05-15
  5. "Best of the best"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Business Manager in Miami, FL

    I have been working at Massage Envy full-time

    Pros

    Good experience to all age groups

    Cons

    Revolving door And turn overs

    Massage Envy2020-05-14

    Massage Envy Response

    May 15, 2020

    On behalf of Massage Envy Franchising, thank you for your positive review and feedback.

  6. "Good first job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Associate in Flower Mound, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Massage Envy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Product discounts and free monthly massage

    Cons

    Entitled customers , greedy owners, little pay with a lot of work.

    Massage Envy2020-05-20

    Massage Envy Response

    May 21, 2020

    On behalf of Massage Envy Franchising, thank you for sharing this feedback.

  7. "Eh"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Massage Therapist in Falls Church, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Massage Envy part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good coworkers and clientele for the most part

    Cons

    poor pay, poor raises, corporate dictates everything, management doesn't understand what they are selling, a lot of sexual harassment from clients.

    Continue reading
    Massage Envy2020-05-20

    Massage Envy Response

    May 27, 2020

    On behalf of Massage Envy Franchising, thank you for sharing this feedback. The brand’s commitment to creating a safe and therapeutic environment at Massage Envy franchised locations is one we take very seriously and we know franchisees do too. If you feel this commitment was not honored in the franchised location where you worked, we urge you to contact us at meemployeebrand@MassageEnvy.com with additional details so this can be addressed with the franchised location to address immediately.

  8. "A job you can use as a step stone"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Massage Therapist in West Hollywood, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Massage Envy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Steady clientele the spa arrange it for you. You get to know different clients and eventually if you are good enough, they would want to be your "private" clients and get all the money in your pocket.

    Cons

    Only 5 minutes break between each client and half hour lunch break. They sometimes would book you 5 hrs and half straight. I ended up had to quit because I injured myself and it hurts too bad to a point that I couldn't work. Also the most important, they pay you super low when you first started (around $17/hr to start.)

    Continue reading
    Massage Envy2020-05-20

    Massage Envy Response

    May 21, 2020

    On behalf of Massage Envy Franchising, our apologies that your experience as an employee in a Massage Envy franchised location left you with a negative impression. Locations are independently owned and operated, so the employment experience varies from one franchised location to another. As a whole, we believe franchisees aim to deliver on the Massage Envy brand promise--we help you take care of you--to their employees and we recognize that you didn't feel that promise delivered. We'll pass your feedback along to the regional leadership.

  9. "All about money"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fda in Sarasota, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Massage Envy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule , our manager was always good about working with everyone, coworkers

    Cons

    Literally they don’t care about anyone they just care about money

    Continue reading
    Massage Envy2020-05-17

    Massage Envy Response

    May 19, 2020

    We at Massage Envy Franchising are sorry that this has been your experience as an employee in a Massage Envy franchised location. Locations are independently owned and operated, so the employment experience that each provides is unique. Nonetheless, as a whole we believe franchisees aim to deliver on the Massage Envy brand promise--we help you take care of you--to their employees. We're disappointed to hear that you haven't felt the brand promise delivered. We'll pass your feedback along to the regional leadership for your area.

  10. "Experience Depends on Franchisee"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Clinic Manager in Gulf Breeze, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Massage Envy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Potential for building relationships with great people.

    Cons

    Poor leadership at the top creates distrust amongst service providers and front desk associates.

    Continue reading
    Massage Envy2020-05-12

    Massage Envy Response

    May 13, 2020

    We at Massage Envy Franchising are sorry that this has been your experience as an employee in a Massage Envy franchised location. As you mentioned, locations are independently owned and operated, so the employment experience varies from one franchised location to another. As a whole, we believe franchisees aim to deliver on the Massage Envy brand promise--we help you take care of you--to their employees and we recognize that you haven't felt that promise delivered. We'll pass your feedback along to the regional leadership for your area.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 3712 Reviews