Mastercard Reviews | Glassdoor

Mastercard Reviews

Updated May 26, 2017
799 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

799 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Work life balance need to improve (in 34 reviews)

  • Most departments work in silos and senior management does not respond very positively to requests/ suggestions (in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Self-Starters Only Need Apply"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior IT Analyst in O'Fallon, MO
    Former Employee - Senior IT Analyst in O'Fallon, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mastercard full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great Benefits Including Bonus Program
    Casual Dress
    Work From Home (Most Positions)
    Beautiful Campus With Onsite Fitness Center, Full Cafeteria, Game Rooms, etc.

    Cons

    Work Pace Can Be Grinding At Times
    Not Enough People To Meet Expectations/Goals
    Meetings, Meetings, Meetings!
    Separatist Attitude Amongst Management - Too Good For The Trenches

    Advice to Management

    Stay In Touch With What's Really Going On
    Listen More, Meet Less


  2. "Excellent company with a strong vision for the future"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Leader in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Senior Business Leader in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mastercard full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    MasterCard has strong focus on employees and provides excellent opportunities for future growth. MasterCard's continued success in the card payment business will ensure a rewarding environment for new employees.

    Cons

    Many career development opportunities tends to be centered around corporate headquarters as you reach more senior roles. However, MasterCard truly isn't that much different than most major corporations with a centralized headquarters.


  3. "At MasterCard...Everything they told me is true and that's awesome!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    MasterCard is going through incredible change and that makes it a very exciting place to work. Innovation and thinking outside of the box is highly encouraged so all employees can make a difference and contribute to the MasterCard difference.

    Cons

    As with all change there is some resistance.

    Advice to Management

    Continue building a creative and fun culture while retaining the highly valued culture of caring about our employees and customers

    Mastercard Response

    Jun 27, 2014 – VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Great feedback - we are highly focused on doing well while doing good!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mastercard full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Dynamic, interesting work. Solid management team in place and a great outlook for the company

    Cons

    MasterCard could do better hiring straight out of college/grad school. Most employees have significant industry experience that would be complimented by new blood.

    Mastercard Response

    Jul 15, 2014 – VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Thanks for your feedback - especially on hiring emerging professionals!


  6. "Great place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Business Leader in Purchase, NY
    Current Employee - Business Leader in Purchase, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mastercard full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Advancement opportunities exist if you are proactive in finding them and building your network internally. The company has clearly laid out its strategy going forward and has been well received by our customers and shareholders.

    Cons

    None to report at this time


  7. "Excellent company with a dynamic CEO who has led the company thru significant growth and positive cultural change."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Senior Business Leader in Purchase, NY
    Current Employee - Vice President Senior Business Leader in Purchase, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mastercard full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Solid business model with focus on innovation, emerging markets, financial inclusion, merchants, goverments, issuers and consumers.

    Cons

    Overall, excellent place to work, but sometimes organization is hard to navigate despite being relatively small with 8,000 employees.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on innovation, emerging markets, financial inclusion, merchants, goverments, issuers and consumers.

    Mastercard Response

    Jul 22, 2014 – VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Thanks for your comprehensive and positive review - an insider perspective is valuable!


  8. "Good Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in O'Fallon, MO
    Current Employee - Consultant in O'Fallon, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mastercard full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fast Paced, Good work environment, if you work hard you get rewarded. Good tuition reimbursement, pays for certifications and training.

    Cons

    You may have to work overtime, not everyone works hard.

    Mastercard Response

    Jul 22, 2014 – VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Thanks for your review - we are happy that you gave some insight into our culture!


  9. "Admirable Culture"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Consultant in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mastercard full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The companies culture is extremely impressive. I have worked as a contractor for a little over a year and recently became an employee and couldnt be happier. I worked for another company based in St. Louis for 5 years and they are night/day with MasterCard. There is lots of employee appreciation and a also a committement to employee growth.

    Cons

    Any time you are working in IT there will be lots of challenges with the work which can be stressful at times. The only thing is it is very hard to come into this company as an employee without knowing someone first.

    Mastercard Response

    Aug 6, 2014 – VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Culture is a key driver when people consider working for any Brand - thanks for your thoughts!


  10. Helpful (1)

    "wonderful experience"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mastercard full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    So far my thoughts about Mastercard are very positive. The people and the environment is very friendly. The employees really are commited to the organiztion and management sees it. I can say that I am proud to be a part of this company and look forward to seeing the future here. I would for sure tell friends and family that this is a great place to work.

    Cons

    there are no cons that I have seen

    Mastercard Response

    Aug 19, 2014 – VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    So glad that your early experience is so positive! Thanks for sharing....


  11. "Great company to work for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Leader
    Current Employee - Senior Business Leader
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mastercard full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Compensation very competitive, solid management team, loads of career opportunity, company truly cares about its employees

    Cons

    A great deal of lateral opportunity, but can be challenging to find upward opportunity especially at senior management level, at times management is not as transparent as they should be

    Advice to Management

    Become slightly less risk averse, beat Visa to the punch, continue to focus on emerging payment opportunities

    Mastercard Response

    Aug 18, 2014 – VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Thanks for your thoughts - an open, transparent culture is a winning one!


Showing 799 of 885 reviews
Reset Filters