Mastercard "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Mastercard Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Mastercard President and CEO Ajay Banga
Ajay Banga
1,218 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "El work-life balance no es siempre el mejor(in 80 reviews)

  • "Transition pains as we integrate more fully with Mastercard; growing lack of transparency from senior management(in 44 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Awesome Company to work for with Amazing leadership to take the company to new heights"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Lead Business Analyst in O Fallon, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mastercard for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work-life balance. Good exposure to all the business functions Treat even the contractors with respect and equality Open door policy so that escalation of something to senior management can be possible Recognition and appreciation if your work is exceptional which keeps motivated

    Cons

    In my 2-3 years of working here I am unable to find any con and hence I am sticking to it for more years until I do find something substantial.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the good work going and convert all the contractors who have shown their potential and reward all employees for their hard work like you have been doing.

    Mastercard2019-11-21
  2. "MasterCard Advisors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President 

    I worked at Mastercard full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Compensation, benefits, work life balance

    Cons

    Senior Management, unclear vision, constant change

    Mastercard2019-12-05
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Overall Great but Culture in O&T needs improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal in O'Fallon, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mastercard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great compensation & benefits, solid career opportunities and outstanding work/life balance. For culture - read Cons.

    Cons

    The case for gender equality in technology and leadership roles is strong at Mastercard, but the progress on the ground seems to be slow. Our leaders talk about gender inclusion, folks in Diversity & Inclusion office talk about it, and I am pretty sure that my salary is equal to everyone else in my group. Still, the culture, especially in O&T can be discouraging. I have some outstanding male colleagues but other ones are little old fashioned. I was at a meeting where a male coworker told me to 'stop whining' after I asked for further clarifications. In another situation, it was suggested I was 'rude or aggressive' when a male coworker in a similar situation was labeled 'assertive'. I am often asked to complete a 'non-glamourous' type of work like formatting and comparing data in two excel sheets, although I'm a technology SME. And, ironically, women too can contribute to this culture. O&T is a heavily male-dominated organization, and although it's a highly innovative group, it can leave a woman feeling powerless. I don't know if things fair better in the East or West coast offices, but O'Fallon can do better.

    Show More
    Mastercard2019-10-24
  4. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Purchase, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mastercard full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance; excellent perks; love the company

    Cons

    process-oriented; slow paced; Bad cafetaria

    Mastercard2019-10-15
  5. "Interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Senior Technical Program Manager 

    I have been working at Mastercard

    Pros

    Brand Name, Work Life balance, Technical Advancement

    Cons

    Process needs to be streamlined.

    Mastercard2019-10-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Associate Consultant Intern in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mastercard for less than a year

    Pros

    Tons of responsibility early, high pay, great benefits, nice people, great work/life balance

    Cons

    Location strategy limits location flexibility

    Mastercard2019-09-25
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Purchase, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mastercard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance, friendly culture

    Cons

    Highly matrix org, political and slow. Too many acquisitions without strategic direction. The culture is more about who you know than meritocratic. They claim to want to promote female and minority talent but believe this is just talk

    Advice to Management

    Think consciously about an org structure that is leaner and agile. Communicate org changes and direction more consistently. Invest in your people development . Truly embrace diversity across the board, it’s all talk now

    Mastercard2019-09-27
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Business Partner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mastercard full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, amazing benefits

    Cons

    Growing very quickly and can’t always keep up

    Mastercard2019-09-11
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Extremely toxic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mastercard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Higher than average salary packages.

    Cons

    High concentration of workplace psychopaths—especially from the Director level up. These are narcissistic people who have no regard for others, and no moral compunction about destroying the reputation or career of those they view as threats (people with actual talent, for instance). In this, they have the help of an HR system that reinforces the passive-aggressive culture and works like the modern version of a witch trial. No evidence required, no consequences for false reports, anonymous. So no one trusts anyone, and people generally avoid forming friendships. I have known several colleagues, male and female, who have fallen victim to this. One female coworker shared her experience: “This is what MasterCard does—they want to break you, make you compliant, control through fear.” If that sounds cynical, realize that in a true meritocracy, those who achieve power through lies and manipulation can’t compete fairly. And to maintain that control they need lieutenants who play the same game. The annual bonus structure places an undue emphasis on quick wins, at the expense of long term operational health or capability maturity, and this manifests itself in a high level of customer dissatisfaction. It also leads internally to scapegoating of teams that are working on long term improvements, and frequent interference from glory seekers looking to claim any improvements as their own, for sake of a bonus. The glory seeking psychopaths have work-life balance—they spend their days sending emails, demanding meetings, and inventing crises. The producers do not—they get to spend their days in meetings and their nights and weekends working. Because of the company’s wealth, there are also a high percentage of chair-warmers, who do just enough to keep from getting fired, and who sabotage any innovation that would require them to build their skills. If you enjoy your work, and you like to be a hands-on person doing new and exciting things, avoid this place like the Plague.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If MasterCard were a hospital, the only way for a nurse to get ahead would be to become a hospital administrator. Create an incentive culture that rewards professional excellence, not just innovation—not every aspect of a company is going to produce technical innovations. Break up the diseased, internal culture with a lot of turnover—cull the herd. If the only way for people to get ahead is to move into management then you end up with managers who are just seeking to get ahead. Place real value on the people who do their jobs well, as benchmarked by external, professional standards. This requires empowerment, and accountability, not centralized Tayloristic control that went out of style in the 1950s.

    Show More
    Mastercard2019-09-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great compensation, poor morale overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mastercard full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Compensation is some of the best in the industry.

    Cons

    Work/life balance needs improvement.

    Mastercard2019-08-13
Found 377 reviews