Matalan Retail Reviews | Glassdoor

Matalan Retail Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 463 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Matalan Retail CEO Jason Hargreaves
Jason Hargreaves
160 Ratings
Pros
  • "20% discount from day you start(in 36 reviews)

  • "Friendly atmosphere, salary above minimum wage, staff discount(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "Do so much work but only get paid minimum wage(in 64 reviews)

  • "No notice when they update the rota last minute either(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Matalan Retail part-time

    Pros

    Really good company to work for, managers are friendly and the job is varied. Lots of chance for promotion and the work is extremely interesting. I would recommend matalan.

    Cons

    Sometimes the work was a little repetitive and customers could be quite difficult. the main issue is the milton keynes store is unbelievably hot because the air conditioning is broken!

    Advice to Management

    Fix the air conditioning in the milton keynes store, especially in the stock room. also rotate GSA around fitting room duty and make sure people are not left on fitting rooms too long.

    Matalan Retail2016-02-21
  2. "Awful company and getting worse! 13 years and I’m only sticking it out as it pays the bills."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Scotland, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Matalan Retail full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The store teams are friendly, above that is driven by fear and inflated egos. The salary is competitive on the surface - not reflective of the expectations though.

    Cons

    Poor communication, weak leadership and unsupportive senior managers. Getting increasingly worse as the years pass. It’s not fun anymore, it’s awful.

    Advice to Management

    Look at who you have in key roles and really look at their ability to perform effectively.

    Matalan Retail2018-03-14
  3. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Buyer in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Matalan Retail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Open to new ways of working, friendly people, great facilities, free onsite car parking, fast paced,

    Cons

    Not much near to head office eg restaurants/shops/gyms

    Advice to Management

    Keep encouraging cross functional, new ways of working.

    Matalan Retail2019-07-16
  4. "Really good company to work got"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant/Keyholder/Department Manager in Mansfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Matalan Retail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing colleagues great managers good job

    Cons

    Minimjm wage which is rubbish

    Matalan Retail2019-07-10
  5. "GREAT FOR LEARNING"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee Assistant Buyer in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Matalan Retail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great for learning development nice office lovely people to work alongside 3pm finish on a Friday

    Cons

    hard to progress low salaries

    Matalan Retail2019-07-21
  6. "Good Work/Life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - VM/Sales Assistant in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Matalan Retail part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Can progress through company if wanted, can have a good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Visual Merchandisers are not an officially recognised position in stores. Although I am working the role of a VM Manager in store and just getting basic wage.

    Matalan Retail2019-07-05
  7. "Not an amazing place to work (might have been specific to my branch)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Matalan Retail part-time

    Pros

    Easy to get a job there

    Cons

    Management of rotas is poor - updated at last minute with no warning, sometimes not put out until 3 days before the next week started Not sure about other stores, but the one I worked in, the manager wasn't very nice to anyone. Was never enough staff either, and we were constantly running to get things finished, and were often late out on closing shifts. Very hectic and stressful

    Advice to Management

    Please don't punish staff if customers do not have matalan cards, it is not their fault

    Matalan Retail2019-07-17
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - L&D Advisor in Knowsley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Matalan Retail full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Team spirit, values, development and progression opportunities

    Cons

    Limited flex working in most areas

    Matalan Retail2019-06-27
  9. "Unfair environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Stafford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Matalan Retail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly people to work with.

    Cons

    They pick family members over actual hard working staff. They pick who they want for a job before any interviews have taken place. It can be very clicky with management. They always refuse to up contracts. I worked there for 4 years and never had my contract increased from 4 hours even though I was running a department and sometimes doing ridiculous hours! Many false promises which after so long I couldn’t do it any more...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take better care of hard working staff and actually interview before putting the name of the new team leader on rota before interview day so it at least looks like you aren’t picking favourites.

    Matalan Retail2019-07-12
  10. "Matalan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Gateshead, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Matalan Retail part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, good fun, not too strict about stuff

    Cons

    Low pay and just quite boring

    Matalan Retail2019-06-19
Found 463 reviews