MathWorks Reviews | Glassdoor

MathWorks Reviews

Updated Jul 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 869 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
MathWorks CEO Jack Little
Jack Little
660 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "Great company, important work, best people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Manager in Natick, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MathWorks full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    All of the above. People really care about doing the right thing and will work hard to get there. Big focus on users and understanding what’s driving us forward.

    Cons

    Important stuff takes too long. Sometimes for good reasons, but sometimes not. Lots of delays occur simply through confusion due to inadequate communication.

    Advice to Management

    Quality and speed require teamwork and discipline. Expect more out of your people - we can handle it.

    MathWorks2019-04-19
  2. "Great program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Support Engineer in Natick, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MathWorks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    EDG allows you to explore different departments and projects

    Cons

    5 word minimum but nothing really

    MathWorks2019-07-12
  3. "A Company That Walks The Walk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Specialist in Natick, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MathWorks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Incredible benefits - Beautiful workplace - Intelligent colleagues who are genuinely interested in what you have to say - An "education doesn't end" mentality where personal and professional growth is supported, encouraged and invested in

    Cons

    - Challenging to manage annual workplace events (given body count) - A potentially longer wait time to resolve technical issues (on average about 2-3 days)

    Advice to Management

    Continue to actually deliver on promises to employees and invest in their well-being. We genuinely appreciate and utilize all of the benefits provided and work at optimal levels because we appreciate management. (Especially the training). We have a work hard play hard mentality because we genuinely respect and appreciate management and colleagues - this is a huge feat for a large corporation.

    MathWorks2019-06-07
  4. "Amazing place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Natick, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MathWorks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing place to work with a moderate salary, but great Work/Life balance.

    Cons

    MathWorks offers a moderate salary.

    MathWorks2019-05-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A company that really cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Natick, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MathWorks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    GREAT work life balance Great perks - they took ALL of their employees from all over the world to universal studios FL for their 35th anniversary! This happens every 5 years. Other perks include - summer weekend outing to New Hampshire, Beer Tuesdays, Free Breakfast, cookies, fun people to work with, very fancy campus in Natick MA Stable company growth Good quarterly cash bonus Great management Amazing company culture...

    Show More

    Cons

    Not much technical areas to grow Very restricted work from home policy

    MathWorks2019-05-04
  6. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Natick, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MathWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company values its employees

    Cons

    Old-fashioned management that needs improvement

    MathWorks2019-05-02
  7. "stable company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Natick, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MathWorks full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good benefits, decent compensation. very stable company

    Cons

    old school management, needs improvement

    MathWorks2019-04-30
  8. "Great product, great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at MathWorks full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance, interesting problems to solve and a good place to learn and grow.

    Cons

    Private company so don't get all those government holidays.

    MathWorks2019-04-26
  9. Helpful (2)

    "A truly great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MathWorks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance, private work space, a culture that is caring, fun and collaborative. The people are amazing and great to work with. Free food galore!

    Cons

    A flexible work schedule is not available for all departments (it depends on your manager). Slow and/or lack of career growth and if their are plans for growth they aren't communicated. Pay could be better

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees better and communicate career growth opportunities. People love MathWorks and want to stay, make that easier for them.

    MathWorks2019-04-08
  10. "Outstanding leadership and company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Computer Programmer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MathWorks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Mathworks has an exceptional training program for new employees. Strong ethical and rational policies.

    Cons

    Cost of housing in Massachusetts is higher than the midwest.

    MathWorks2019-04-06
Found 869 reviews