KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Mathnasium

Engaged Employer

Mathnasium

Add a Review

Mathnasium Employee Reviews about "opportunity"

Updated Sep 28, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 of over 2,530 reviews

4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Mathnasium Founder and Chief Executive Officer Peter Markovitz
Peter Markovitz
403 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,930

973 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Mathnasium and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "opportunity"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Gap year employment

    Jul 11, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, friendly owners and management

    Cons

    No opportunity to become full time

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Pros

    Mathnasium is a great place to gain exposure to teaching math to a wide range of students without the intimidation of being in an actual classroom. You have the opportunity to build coaching skills and develop concise explanations for mathematical concepts. The environment is kept focused yet fun. As such, there is always music going on in the background as a room of students work on their math.

    Cons

    The hours are really flexible, but the center is only open 4.5 hours a day, four days a week. Honestly the most stressful thing for me is when the center is full and you are working with students who are distracting others or refusing to do their work. There are ways to handle this that I'm not proficient at yet, but the center director and other instructors are there to help you with these situations.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Mathnasium of Ellicott City/Germantown/Rockville - Instructor and Assistant Director

    Sep 18, 2015 - Assistant Director in Ellicott City, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Flexible part-time scheduling -Full-time available, did not need another job to support myself -Salaried position available with advancement -Great work environment if you like children -Get to sleep in everyday because its afternoon work -Good co-workers -Learned a lot about managing a business, managing an office, managing customers, and supporting education for the students. -Pays better than most other part-time or full time entry level positions. Pays better than most other Mathnasiums also. -Decent job to start from out of college or if your are retired. -Work with many different online databases and software. I worked there for 3 years. It was my first job out of college. You need a college degree to work at this Mathnasium. While in college I worked at a bank. I constantly was hassled by customers who lost money and what-not. Very depressing work with no support. This job not only paid the same as my banking position, but was way more fun and interesting. Few dull moments with kids involved. I taught all grade levels from 1st grade to Calculus. I eventually became the Assistant Director. This gave me an opportunity to handle many of the business related aspects of the job. Definitely a resume booster.

    Cons

    -Must work a weekend day to be full time -Must work six days a week to be full time (its after school hours work, so maximum is a seven hour workday) -No benefits (go get Obama-Care)

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Easy job Good pay

    Nov 13, 2021 - Instructor in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Extremely flexible Good pay Not tiring good holidays

    Cons

    Little opportunity for promotion and development Some students shouldn't really be there

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Loved my experience!

    Mar 1, 2022 - Math Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This position helped me grow as a person and provided me the opportunity to teach math to students in an engaging fashion

    Cons

    I don't have any cons

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great opportunity!

    Jan 7, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great opportunity to impact students! The environment allows instructors to manage many students at a time while maintaining the 1-1 tutoring feel. The owner at my location was also great!

    Cons

    I wish there was more hours!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Mathnasium Instructor

    Aug 21, 2021 - Instructor in Burke, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good opportunity to interact with children and teach them

    Cons

    The pay was not worth the work that you are meant to do

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Worked from Instructor to CD

    Nov 12, 2020 - Center Director in Allentown, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great opportunity to help families by giving kids an education

    Cons

    Low starting pay as an instructor

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0