Mathnasium "part time" Reviews | Glassdoor

Mathnasium Employee Reviews about "part time"

Updated Nov 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
81%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Mathnasium Founder and Chief Executive Officer Peter Markovitz
Peter Markovitz
116 Ratings
Pros
  • "flexible hours with little to no weekend hours(in 107 reviews)

  • "The owners are usually really nice and it’s always fun working with kids(in 77 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay compared to private tutoring(in 62 reviews)

  • "Part time no opportunity for growth(in 43 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "part time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great part time / side job if you like teaching various math topics to students of all ages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Instructor 

    I have been working at Mathnasium part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you like working and communicating with students of all ages and teaching various math topics, this is the place to be. Most students are respectful and cooperative so it is barely hectic compared to a typical classroom setting. As a lead instructor, I got to learn a lot about what it takes to be a responsible leader who takes care of the team and solve problems, not just mathematical toy problems.

    Cons

    There are probably some downsides but nothing outstanding. Just small nuisances that any average job would have but could be dealt with yourself and management. This depends on the branch but ours hire for part time, so don't come looking for full time hours or expect to earn enough to live by. It's a great and relatively calm part time job if you're a student or looking for a side job!

    Mathnasium2019-11-22
  2. "Easy going company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Math Tutor in Hayward, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Mathnasium part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible time and no much pressure.

    Cons

    Part time job, working hours is can not pay for live

    Mathnasium2019-11-02
  3. "Excellent work, limited hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Center Director in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mathnasium full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is a TERRIFIC job for college students wanting part time shifts after classes. I learned so much during my time there. The way they teach math is absolutely exceptional. I loved most of my coworkers; we had a lot of fun working together. Teaching the kids was also extremely rewarding. The average instructor to student ratio is 1:3, which works quite well. Management was incredibly supportive, even when my health was poor and I needed time off. I highly recommend working here, if you're good at math but also teachable and willing to be molded. As Center Director, I was given 2 weeks PTO.

    Cons

    Full time work may not be available. No benefits for part time.

    Continue reading
    Mathnasium2019-10-10
  4. "Great experience- I have a few weeks left after working here for about 15 months"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Instructor in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mathnasium part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's true that the best way to learn is to teach someone else. My math skills definitely improved after working here, because no calculators are permitted except in special circumstances with advanced math! Additionally, it's great that you get to have a closer relationship with students and parents. Customer service is much more personable because you see clients recurringly. Hours are flexible, and great employees who are also students because they are in afternoons. The pay and environment definitely beat other minimum wage jobs, and this is a great addition to a resume.

    Cons

    Starting pay is fairly low for the skill set required for this job. However, with time and experience, promotions can be achieved which offer better pay. Training takes much longer than other part-time jobs, but this is for obvious reasons because you must learn all the methods of teaching required.

    Mathnasium2019-08-10
  5. "Challenging, Interactive, and Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Center Director in San Diego, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Mathnasium part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Smart and charismatic team of instructors, assistants, and directors. Keeps your mathematical background keen while also having a rewarding experienc by teaching.

    Cons

    Work shifts are a little on the low side, but it makes sense being part time.

    Mathnasium2019-02-20
  6. "Great teaching environment with low hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Math Tutor in Houston, TX
    Recommends

    I worked at Mathnasium part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible after school schedule Good teaching techniques Plenty of homework and problem solving Kids are very chatty and love to talk to you about their day. Kids can make you laugh! It's a really good feeling to have someone say to you that they understood the material that was taught in class way more with you than at school. Great boss and co-workers! Good starting pay and there is an opportunity to earn more if you take an additional math test or just by working there longer.

    Cons

    Open few hours so it is great as a part-time school job. Not for full-time employment. Kids can be chatty so it can be challenge to sometimes keep them concentrated. Just depends on the kids personality. The weekends are quite slow but that is a given since many do not want to do math on Saturdays. Sometimes the material can get repetitive and it can be draining on the students.

    Continue reading
    Mathnasium2019-03-01
  7. "Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at Mathnasium part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great to work with kids

    Cons

    Part time no opportunity for growth

    Mathnasium2019-01-01
  8. "Wonderful place to work part time as a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Mathnasium part-time

    Pros

    - working with younger students before they become math-averse - flexible hours that can accommodate a student schedule

    Cons

    - no real cons for a student working part-time

    Mathnasium2018-10-15
  9. "Perfect for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mathnasium part-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule for university students Multiple locations for convenience

    Cons

    Only part-time work is available

    Mathnasium2018-08-20
  10. ""tutor""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Mathnasium part-time

    Pros

    Relaxed environment. Fun to work with kids.

    Cons

    Only a part time job, not a career.

    Mathnasium2018-08-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 43 reviews