KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Matrix Group International

Is this your company?

Matrix Group International

Add a Review

Matrix Group International Reviews

Updated Mar 16, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 13 of over 13 reviews
2.8
43% Recommend to a Friend
57% Approve of CEO

Found 13 of over 13 reviews

2.8
43%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Matrix Group International CEO Joanna M. Pineda (no image)
Joanna M. Pineda
9 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

445

62 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
    There are no pros to display at this time.
Cons
  • "You have to be willing to talk to clients when they call with an urgent issue and their Project Manager isn't available.(in 3 reviews)
  • "2 people and no one else knows them.(in 3 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Awesome startup culture with a long time web design agency

    Dec 3, 2019 - Marketing Specialist in Crystal City, Optional[VA]
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly work environment, flexible work hours (ie can take an hour lunch to go to the gym or come in early to leave in an hour early), bosses are open to new ideas and constructive criticism

    Cons

    Hours can ramp up if a program is behind schedule

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Company is failing

    Mar 16, 2022 - Software Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None I can think of

    Cons

    Incompetent management encapsulated in a very small and weird company that continues to loose large-profile clients and bleeds money that will reduce your paycheck.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Crap house

    Jul 29, 2021 - Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None I can think of except if you like waiting your time derailing your career,

    Cons

    Primitive place to work for the CEO lives in the (20 years ago) past. Crummy culture. You should not work here unless you like to have a crap job; so many good people left because of the above. DevOps, Project Managers and Developer have all said bye-bye. This should tell you something. Apply only if you are a crappy developer/PM/DevOps or are desperate for a job.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Meh

    Jan 13, 2021 - Software Developer in Arlington, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some clients are amazing and I loved building things on new Tech stacks for them; outside of that nothing I can think of.

    Cons

    Cheap, money-grubbing outfit with crappy benefits and top-level crappy leadership

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    This company will push you to grow and gives you a say in how things get done

    May 15, 2019 - Marketing Associate in Arlington, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    From new video editing tricks to improving my content writing abilities, I was given ample leeway to invest my work time into developing new skills and advocating for projects based on my interests. I also had the ability to sit in on other departments' meetings and skill building exercises even if they weren't in my department. The company lets you take at least 1 focus day a week where you can work from home. It's also lenient if you're not feeling well but not too sick to work. The CEO is a huge a star wars geek, so all of the conference rooms are named after Star Wars planets and the anniversary parties of the past have involved renting out a movie theater to watch the latest movie.

    Cons

    My primary boss worked remotely, so sometimes there were situations where it would've been easier to work together in person. Slack and google hangouts solved most of our issues, but more in person assistance would've been helpful when starting out.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Think carefully before applying here - positive reviews are most likely management ringers

    Jan 17, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you are new to the industry, just out of college or needed a resume-stuffer I think you might try here as I did. They like to hire cheap help.

    Cons

    Usual small time player woes. Not enough people that can take over a task in a pinch, focus on bilking clients at your expense while promising them everything they can't afford. A core of talent surrounded by a mass confusion of managers.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Well meaning, low morale

    Oct 16, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Access to free online resources to learn how to do anything technical you want ( programming frameworks and languages, website design, social media). If you need to improve your presenting skills, opportunities to do lunch & learns for staff and webinars for clients, presenting deliverables and answering questions about them, doing trainings for clients in Wordpress, Google Analytics etc. Some hands on training from senior staff while you work on projects .

    Cons

    You *might* get basic training but you will spend more time teaching yourself. Almost no feedback from managers. Projects scoped, scheduled, and billed so haphazardly that staff get stressed out. Managers don’t know how to say no to clients. Much of the way things run, is reactive panic at the last minute. Predominately 2 kinds of bad management: micromanagers that dont’ let you do your work or that don’t do any actual managing of people to make sure things don’t slip thru the cracks. Management out of touch on what staff thinks fo them . Paid vacation, sick leave, salaries, and the telecommuting policy leave a lot to be desired. Lack of focus about the company's mission and how to build the business for the future.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Pros

    I've been working at Matrix Group for over a decade and have been through the best and worst of times with the company. After all of these years, I can say that the company continues to evolve, grow and offer new services. The CEO is very engaged in the culture of the company and cares about the employees on a personal level; and makes a lot of effort to involve the entire company in major decisions. Matrix often promotes from within, and invests in training and mentoring so that employees can thrive in their positions. For the most part, I would say people here have each others' backs... on a company, team and individual basis.

    Cons

    It's a fast paced environment, and you have to be self disciplined to work here. You have to be willing to talk to clients when they call with an urgent issue and their Project Manager isn't available. Sometimes, you may be asked to work on a weekend. On the flip side, there is a monthly birthday party, happy hours, and other get togethers and celebrations throughout the year.

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    High potential, recurring mistakes,

    Oct 8, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Not a place for the lazy or the laid-back, high paced, high spirited with good challenging projects, near cutting edge technology.

    Cons

    Usual agency world challenges, tough life work balance, big projects with short promised turnaround time, sometimes too close to cutting edge technology with negative impact on projects, not much focus on staff, flat organizational tree so there's not much room to advance vertically.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Did not have a good experience

    Jan 9, 2016 -  in Alexandria, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The team is small and close knit, it's in a nice location. Team members are competent and smart.

    Cons

    I felt like I wasn't given enough time to get to know the system before having to do complex tasks with it. There are also many tasks that are solely done by 1-2 people and no one else knows them.

    9 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews
</>Embed

Work at Matrix Group International? Share Your Experiences

or

Glassdoor has 13 Matrix Group International reviews submitted anonymously by Matrix Group International employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Matrix Group International is right for you.